We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Ganz - A Spectacular Oasis!”
Review of Villa Ganz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Ganz
Ranked #5 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Villa Ganz - A Spectacular Oasis!”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Villa Ganz is a spectacular oasis in the middle of Guadalajara, a city of wonder with visual treats around every corner. From the sublime hospitality of Director Sally, and Managers Armando and Manuel, to the superb service, Villa Ganz is a true gem. We highly recommend Villa Ganz for anyone who wants a home away from home. Our room was quiet and comfortable with beautifully appointed antiques. Every thought was considered by the hotel, from welcoming us with wine and fruit, to organizing a spa visit, to a Christmas meal prepared especially by Armando’s Mother, to a special gift of Villa Ganz tequila when we departed. And, Villa Ganz offered an amazing culinary class (not to be missed!) with the very special Chef José Vázquez Aquino who took us shopping at an outdoor market then instructed us on the fine art of the cooking specialties of Guadalajara. Our wonderful private driver and guide, organized by Villa Ganz, was Melchor (“Mel”) Jiménez Ornelas who made our trip extra memorable. (http://tequilasource.com/guadalajaratours.htm)

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of Villa Ganz overlook a beautiful garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMRCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    30
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
33
181
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Amidst the bustling city of Guadalajara...a must see city for sure...is a quiet place that feels like home. Villa Ganz is a beautifully appointed boutique hotel in an area with a lot of good walkable restaurants and just minutes from the historic area. My room...number 12...was very large and had glass French doors that opened onto a lovely garden. All the amenities that you would expect of a property like this plus a fabulous breakfast al fresco in a covered area in the garden. I loved the city from this vantage point and will definitely return to see more...Guadalajara is a very cosmopolitan sophisticated city with a lot to offer.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

I've stayed here at least 4 times and this is by far my favorite little boutique hotel in all of Mexico.
The rooms have a really neat decor, old style architecture, and all well integrated into a great gestalt. All 10 are different and have their own charm. No item is left undone.

I love having breakfast in the terrace, and you really feel like you are at home being pampered vs at some hotel. Same terrace is very romantic in the evening.

The staff is incredibly attentive, great you personally.

It is located in the best restaraunt zone in all of Guadalajara (lots of fun places along Lopez Cotilla).


I would recommend this for either an escape, or for business if you want to skip the chains.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KireMex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Great location, very friendly staff, lovely breakfast and fantastic service!! The rooms are big and each of them has a special character. If you like being spoiled at a very cosy place, this is it!! You won´t find a better deal in town. I have been staying at the hotel for the last 5 years every two weeks and I´m not planing to change that.

Room Tip: Rooms 14 and 15 are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valente M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2011

loved staying here. the garden in the back, candle lit, is perfect. The owner and all staff went above and beyond to take care of us. The whole place is so beautiful, like you're staying in a beautiful family estate.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Incredible hotel in the heart of the best neighborhood in Guadalajara. We stayed for 6 nights and did not want to leave. The staff and the owner put the icing on the cake of this exquisite hotel which is convenient to the centro and to Zapopan and within walking distance to dozens of top restaurants, shops and nightlife. Will stay here every time I'm back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank socko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

From the second you walk in to the moment you leave, you are pampered without feeling pressured, from a staff that is incomparable. Fresh juice on arrival, fruit and wine in the room, margaritas on the terrace before venturing out to dinner, turn-down service with chocolates when we returned, and a delicious continental breakfast with optional egg and hearty breakfast options to add made this a perfect stay. The ever-present but never seen staff provides excellent care whenever you need anything, from ice at 3 am to a cab or assistance with directions. Not to mention the villa is beautifully maintained after being restored to it's original luster. Antiques and art bring a warmth and beauty to this property, but where a hammock hanging in a suite is not unusual or unexpected. The gardens are beautiful and provide for a nice quiet reprieve from the hustle of Guadalajara sightseeing and shopping (and partying). And to say this property is romantic is an understatement! Attention to detail is not lost on such bathroom simplicities as shower curtain tie-backs and bathrobes you could live in, even slippers waiting bedside when the beds are turned in the evening. For those who want the ultimate in boutique hotel treatment this is the place to visit, for a second honeymoon in the city or a fun weekend away, you can't go wrong. Plus the owners manage several other properties in the immediate area for weekly and monthly stays in Guadalajara.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyOwnConcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
1.6 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
2.0 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Providencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Demetria
Hotel Demetria
#28 of 128 in Guadalajara
171 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
#7 of 128 in Guadalajara
889 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Guadalajara Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ganz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ganz

Property: Villa Ganz
Address: Calle Lopez Cotilla 1739 | Col. Lafayette, Guadalajara 44160, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Guadalajara
#2 Family Hotel in Guadalajara
#3 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Ganz 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old World elegance meets New World charm in the beautiful restored Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel, one of Guafalajara finest accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Ganz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Ganz Hotel Guadalajara
Ganz Hotel Guadalajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing