We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice pool. Misleading signage.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
Ranked #6 of 125 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Nice pool. Misleading signage.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

The service was good by the pool. The front desk was helpful at check in and Esteban at the concierge offered to help us at every turn. However the phone service for information was less than satisfactory. Promised call backs and no reply. The breakfast restaurant "Decapolis" had a sign that said "breakfast for guests included in the room rate." Turns out that is not the case. Our bill was 1151.89 pesos for six (6) breakfast buffets. There was no offers from management to honor the notice..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruebensunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    253
    55
    16
    46
See reviews for
130
116
21
373
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I was there for just 1 night, when we arrived at check in they tell you the first stock of the mini fridge is included and they sell it to you in such a way that you expect a fridge filled with drinks, candy, sodas, beer, etc... When you arrive and open it, it has 4 sodas and 2 beers, bummer, haha. its the tallest building in Guadalajara, I got 16 floor with a nice view of the city, nice beds, comfortable, the bath however was not working but it was fixed.
The restaurant is very big, went down for lunch for a very average sandwich, the next morning buffet breakfast with a lot of options it is nicely setup, but food is not that tasty, it looks like it’s the place to be because it was full of families for Saturday breakfast.
The location is very good, everything is close by.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freaxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

first time staying at the Riu what a great hotel. the room where big and clean and the mini bar was free. the pool bar was a great place to hang out doing the day and at night the lounge had great entertainment on Friday night and Sat. the buffet breakfast was great way to start your morning. the only problem was the wi-fi it kept droping. but it wsa free too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharks2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

The hotel is very well decorated. We upgraded to a suite which was really worth it, it gives you access to the Crown Level Lounge where the is always cold soda, beer hot coffee white and red wine all day. There are snacks like fruit, sandwiches pastries all day. We enjoyed it very much.Also in the morning the breakfast buffet is spectacular! The suite is very spacious. It has
a comfortable living room with a TV couches and table to eat at. There is a fridge with water beer and soda. Also a coffee maker only problem is you have to purchase the coffee and drinks after the first day.

Room Tip: The suites are on the top floors above the 33rd floor and the views along with very large room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diane o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I'll start by saying that the hotel looks real nice, the rooms are large, bed is good, bar is fine, and on the surface, it looks like a great hotel. Generally, the hotel let's itself down by some failures in service. My first visit my reservation was not honored, even though I had a guaranteed reservation (they sent me to another hotel for 3 nights!) - that should have been enough for me never to return and give the hotel a terrible rating. But, my company planned another stay here, and since other amenities are average, I will give it an average rating. On several occasions either myself of my colleagues had issues with the water in the rooms - some had no cold water, and some had no water at all for a number of hours - no toilet flushing! Again, writing this I feel I should have given it a 'poor' rating. On a couple of occasions, room service either took a ridiculous amount of time (>1 hour), or delivered the wrong food, or missing items.
Staff are generally very professional and polite.
So, in summary, could be a 5-star hotel if only the services were 5-star, and other issues are resolved.

Room Tip: In my experience, all the rooms were nice. A sunset view is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jollyroger007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel has recently opened in Guadalajara, may be that's why is yet not among the top-ten and its no disappointing at all. The location couldnt be better, right in the heart of Guadalajara where 2 main streets meet (Lopez Mateos and Lazaro Cadenas) which let you go basicly everywhere in no time. First look from the ouside is simply WOW, a 40 floor tall building with stunning architecture. Service unbeatable from the moment you arrive, staff helpful and kind in every way looking to satisfy your every need.Valet parking available and is 65 pesos per day, you can also park your car by yourself by the price of 55 pesos per day,but saving you from going to the basement its definitely worth the extra 10 pesos. Lobby is big and modernly decorated and perfumed with Lily's scent which makes you feel as in a beach resort. Check in was fast, less than 5 min. I stayed at a senior suite at floor 33rd, views couldnt get any better. When you get an executive room or a suite you can use the crown level lounge where you can have (as much as you want) beer, red wine, softdrinks, juices, milk, coffee, tea, snacks, fruit, internet station, meeting room and relax in a very comfortable room with nice couches from 8 am to 8 pm. you will also get the highest rooms. My suite was beautiful, huge and beautifully decorated in lights purple colours. one and a half bathroom, a dining room with minibar which offers courtesy beers, softdrinks, water, juices and tea. if you want it to be replenished it will cost you, only first one is included. Great living room, two 50 in flat tv's and the quietest location ever. Main bedroom is simply great and at first bed looks so comfortable but was fooled having the worst sleep quality ever, mattress was so deformed, watery, impossible to rest on it and gaining a terrible lower back pain the first night, neck pain the second and relieved the third better sleeping on the floor instead. Excepting the mattress the suite was stunning. Main bathroom is enormous, has 2 sinks, great rain shower, a bath tube separated from shower, a bide and toilet separated as well from the rest of the bathroom, you cant ask for more space. They offer Lavarino Cosso amenities. Pool and gym are functionally, i did not use the spa so cant say anything about it. There is a nice pool bar with great service and the lobby bar offers live music on friday and saturdays turning it into a club crowded with locals. I did not eat at any of the restaurants at the hotel though they look great, breakfast buffete is included on the rate from 6:30 to 10:30 after that time it will cost you, i missed it everyday. There is a fusion cousine restaurant called Chardonay, pricey for what they offer but cant say if it was worth it. I really recommend this place for location, spectacular views, excellent service, huge rooms and pretty helpful staff (though they couldnt do anything about the mattress). If you happen to get a mattress as mine, dont forget some advil pills. and sleep on the floor better. I would first check the mattress before considering staying here again.

Room Tip: Get an executive room, it's worth every peso, access to crown level lounge and highest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussieboy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel is luxurious and the rooms are really comfortable. The prices are fare and the brunch is so diverse and delicious. Also the restaurant has a beautiful view to the street and to the pool as well. If coming to Guadalajara this hotel is a great option.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the higher floors preferably with view to the "Matute Remos" bridge, its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco Adolfo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
2.8 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Providencia
0.9 mi away
The Westin Guadalajara
The Westin Guadalajara
#9 of 125 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fiesta Americana Guadalajara
Fiesta Americana Guadalajara
#11 of 125 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Guadalajara Country Club
0.9 mi away
Hilton Guadalajara
Hilton Guadalajara
#12 of 125 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
3.1 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara

Property: Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
Address: Av. Lopez Mateos, 830 - Fracc. Chapalita | Guadalajara - Jalisco, Guadalajara, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 125 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing