We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Location. Location. Location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
Ranked #4 of 122 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location. Location. Location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

That's the only thing this place has. The color of the rooms it's quite bold. Attention at the front desk it's crap, and seems like they are doing you a favor by letting you. The pool it's quite spectacular. Quiet rooms, although there's is not a smoking room in the whole hotel, minding we are in Mexico you would have thought there would be any. Amenities in the room are basic, but they give you the first load of mini bar for free. Think twice before staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariomsnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    221
    52
    13
    39
See reviews for
114
100
17
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I think that the decoration of this hotel is simply terrible. And that's it, that is the only bad thing I have to say about it. The rest is great, the price is fair, the location is great, is confortable, it has a great service, and the best view of the city. Really, the best view, as is the biggest building in Guadalajara.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kvillarreal11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed a few times here, definitely a great hotel. Rooms have good views over the town (a 10 minutes cab ride will get you downtown). Very good large breakfast, one of the best I have had in Mexico. The swimming pool is small but great with lots of loungers considering this is a city hotel. Very nice and friendly staff at the lobby, namely Sandra and Sonja!

However maintenance (considering this is a brand new hotel) is lacking, with small details (like broken sinks in the room and broken tiling in the swimming pool) needs to work harder! The beds aren't the most comfortable either (don't expect Starwood group kind of beds, you will be disappointed!) and the temperature control in my room didn't seem to work as it was freezing all night!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkytravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Maybe there are better places to stay in GDL but this place was exactly what I needed for a one night business stay. Comfortable, luxurious and safe. Great staff and a terrific breakfast. Will certainly stay here again next time. Recommended for those visiting from out of town. Excellent value too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinusThirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great hotel, accommodations and service. The breakfast is excellent, rooms are spacious and clean, everything you expect from a Riu. The only negative side is location, which is not the best. Each floor is a different color and rooms have a beautiful theme.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andreawwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapeer, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed here while on a business trip. The lobby is gorgeous. The rooms are exceptional!
I had a King Bed Deluxe Room.
Set up like Euro style. Pocket doors, euro and u.s.standard plugs everywhere. Door Key/Card is used to power on room.
--Bathroom: Shower you could fit 8 people in. Double sink in the bathroom If there were two people you could share this bathroom with ease.
--Bed area: Beautiful flower painting above bed, lights make it look like it belongs in a museum. Bed was comfy for me but I like a little more firmness. (They did have the foam topper on the bed before I arrived, I didn't even ask for it)
--Mini Bar/Fridge: First items in the fridge were complimentary. Water/Soda/Beer. Nice little welcome gift.
--Desk/Work Area: PERFECT for working in your room. Ample work space and fairly comfy.
--Sitting Area: Didn't use but looked nice and matched the decor and style of the room.
--WiFi: worked great in my room never had a problem connecting
--Breakfast Buffet: Great! Huge! Lots of selection. They did have some "authentic" Mexican food on the buffet but most was "Americanized" which is okay because you can get a little of both. Service was great.
Overall this place gets a 10 out of 10 from me. I don't say this very often but everyone was very pleasant and helpful and the place was immaculately clean and well taken care of.

Room Tip: All rooms have a nice view, want to see the whole city ask for a higher room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DomVDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The Hotel is basically located in the city's main streets, as another review stated, everybody in Guadalajara knows where the hotel is.
The staff was always friendly and ready to help in any way. The rooms are spacious and bathrooms are pristine! All details are taken care of in this hotel. I would definitely recommend this to the most demanding travelers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrianasaldana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
2.8 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Providencia
3.1 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
0.9 mi away
The Westin Guadalajara
The Westin Guadalajara
#12 of 122 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 stars 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
2.8 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Guadalajara Country Club
0.6 mi away
Fiesta Americana Guadalajara
Fiesta Americana Guadalajara
#10 of 122 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 stars 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara

Property: Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
Address: Av. Lopez Mateos, 830 - Fracc. Chapalita | Guadalajara - Jalisco, Guadalajara, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 122 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing