We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Alebrijes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 71 Guadalajara B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My friends and I travel a fair amount and found Casa Alebrijes to be one of our best experiences ever!

I greatly enjoyed staying in this boutique hotel (it is a former residence that the owner has done a great job converting to a very nice gay hotel). There was a nice comfort level (the dining room is wonderful and a nice place to share/learn about the city during morning breakfast and hear about other people's travels) while there is also have a great deal of privacy (visitors are welcome but it is not a cruisy hotel). It really was a treat to stay in this beautiful hotel and it has wonderful old-mexican rooms that are clean and private. I also enjoyed being in the center of old town, which made me feel very comfortable.

The owner is a great host and a great resource. The staff are also very helpful and do a great job - not to mention being adorable!

Casa Alebrijes is a clean, safe and well-run hotel with wonderful rooms, a friendly owner and helpful staff. I recommend you stay here for a great experience!

David and friends.

Room Tip: The two rooms in the back are noisy, but otherwise every other room is a unique treasure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAlebrijesHotel, Owner at Casa Alebrijes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Regarding the Room Tip, Rooms 5 and 6 are the back patio rooms in a separate building. You can hear noise from the discoteques in these rooms on the weekends; however, if you are at the discoteques, you won't mind! The rooms listed in the hotel reservation sites and the other rooms in my website are in the main house and you will hear the sound of the fountain in them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 142 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

Walk in from the street by way of a secure metal door - and it's almost like taking a step back in time. Details subscribed to old world colonial charm is obvious, coupled with all the modern amenities one expects sets this hotel apart from many others.The gracious and welcoming greeting by the host/owner John is equally refreshing. Great location, safe, comfortable, very clean, a morning breakfast, attentative staff and owner is exceptional. I highly recommend this hotel. Jerry

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

In the middle of a 3-week vacation, I decided I wanted to go to Guadalajara. With less than 48 hours warning, I emailed the hotel to ask about availability. Luckily for me, there was a vacancy. I was pleasantly surprised. Behind the terra cotta colored, exterior door exists a well-decorated, safe, clean, and friendly hotel. John, the owner/manager spent a lot of time to map out all possible needs in El Centro, from food, dancing, bars, points of interest, gyms, and nearby locations outside of El Centro. The area is very alive with all types of bars and restaurants and the hotel's proximity allowed me to enjoy so much of it. For nine days, I felt like I lived in Guadalajara. By the way, for those that are not familiar with Mexico, Guadalajara is NOT Tijuana. Come to Guadalajara, stay in this hotel and see as much of the city as you are able - you won't regret it!
Breakfast is served everyday, unending purified water, computer access, the staff is friendly, the sound of the fountain is soothing, and don't forget to check out the alebrijes!
I wouldn't hesitate to return to this hotel.
Thank you, John, David, and Henry!

Room Tip: I recommend a room that allows you to hear the fountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abnorcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAlebrijesHotel, Owner at Casa Alebrijes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

You are welcome and it was fun having you here. I am glad that you liked the alebrijes and were able to add some new ones to your collection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We were there for three nights. Everything was perfect! Great Location near the bars and lots of great restaurants and central to everything! Sounds of the fountains at night were lovely; the rooms were beautiful, great attention to detail. Thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barmerinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great hotel and even better staff! Owner is great at providing insightful information, great recommendations and goes the extra mile for his guests.

Rooms are comfortable and the hotel location is very central to various sights and activities.

We recommend this hotel to everyone!

Room Tip: If you like the sound of water, ask for a room near the courtyard. Helps you sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DON_SCOTT2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Spent the Labor Day Weekend here tagging along with a younger couple who had already done their due diligence re: selection and booking. Any concerns I might have had were allayed when we were greeted by the manager who is also the owner (always a good omen, I think) and "lives above the shop". John was happy to show us around the grounds and offer suggestions on things to do and places to visit around the hotel and Guadalajara in general (the city welcomes a different festival virtually every month -- Sept. was Mariachi and Oct. will be Octoberfest) . . . John also directed the final stages of the building's renovation and has a well earned pride about the result. The rooms (I believe there are 11, each distinct) seem all the larger thanks to the 15' ceilings and come with cable TV, a safe, a desk and a side chair, along with interesting decorations. The beds are top grade (but the pullout I used was a little lumpy). For those concerned about drinking tap water in Mexico, each unit has its own set of glasses and bottles that can be refilled with filtered water in the courtyard. Yes, given its location in the center of town, the sometime cacophony outside can filter into parts of the hotel, but you won't notice it if your room is near the fountain. Breakfast is served from 9 - 12 and is eaten around a long table reminding me of what you might find in a college or prep school i.e. guests are deftly encouraged to make new acquaintances over coffee, cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt, and juice. I repeat: John has invested more than his money here and works hard to see that your visit is a good one from beginning to end -- when he happily arranged transportation for us back to the airport.

Room Tip: There are ceiling fans in each room, but no A.C. which doesn't seem to make a difference in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAlebrijesHotel, Owner at Casa Alebrijes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

These three guys were part of a group of six and it was fun hosting them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I spent a few nights at Casa Alibrijes this weekend. I would highly recommomend it for anyone wanting to be in the downtown and close to the colonial area and the dozens of night clubs. Everything is close by and withing easy walking distance. I went to San Juan de Dios, the largest market in Latin America where they sell clothes and everything else from the common to the exotic. You'll be suprised what you can find there. Being tall I also loved the super high ceilings in the rooms and throughout the two floors of the casa. The morning serve yourself breakfast included fruit, yoghurt, cereal, toast, juice, tea and coffee and was more than adequate to get you going. The wireless internet worked well but if you didn't happen to bring a computer no problem, there were also computers available on the main floor for use by guests. There is also covered and secure parking available in the casa for one extra vehicle, which I did use for my Jeep Grand Cherokee. It was a tight squeeze but it did fit. I really only have one minor suggestion that would have improved my stay: extra pillows on the bed, so you can work on your computer (there was also a desk) or watch tv from the bed with the pillows for support.

Room Tip: From what I saw of the rooms they were all very well appointed. As their web site says those who are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMAX5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAlebrijesHotel, Owner at Casa Alebrijes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review, it was a pleasure to host you. The king beds have four pillows, the queen beds have two pillows, and I have extra pillows that I provide upon request. All rooms have desks and at least two chairs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
0.3 mi away
Hotel Real Maestranza
Hotel Real Maestranza
#5 of 130 in Guadalajara
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Francisco Plaza
Hotel San Francisco Plaza
#92 of 130 in Guadalajara
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Portobelo Hotel
Portobelo Hotel
#21 of 130 in Guadalajara
227 reviews
1.4 mi away
LA FE Hotel and Arts
LA FE Hotel and Arts
#34 of 130 in Guadalajara
162 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Ganz
Villa Ganz
#4 of 130 in Guadalajara
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Alebrijes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Alebrijes Hotel

Address: Calle Libertad 1016 | Centro Historico, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Guadalajara
Price Range: $63 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Alebrijes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Alebrijes is a boutique hotel for gay men and women and friends located in the Historic Center and just two blocks from the center of the gay nightlife area that has some twenty-five gay bars and discotheques within walking distance – Guadalajara is known as the San Francisco of Mexico.The hotel has two floors with 2 suites for 1-4 persons and 7 rooms for 1 or 2 persons. The first floor has a garden patio with a fabulous fountain. The second floor has a balcony overlooking the garden patio and fountain. This late 19th century home was carefully and beautifully restored in a traditional style to provide modern conveniences while respecting the existing architecture. The 15 foot high ceilings and 2 foot thick adobe walls provide a unique hospitality experience. Relax on the balcony or garden patio and enjoy the sight and sound of the Mexican style fountain. Eat your continental breakfast in the dining room while sharing experiences with other guests or at private tables on the balcony. Guadalajara has a wonderful climate all year and you will enjoy the open air areas of the hotel. Internet, luxury mattress, laptop size safe, continental breakfast, and parking included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Alebrijes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing