We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location - Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Alebrijes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 61 Guadalajara B&B and Inns
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Location - Nice Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We were there for three nights. Everything was perfect! Great Location near the bars and lots of great restaurants and central to everything! Sounds of the fountains at night were lovely; the rooms were beautiful, great attention to detail. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barmerinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    16
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
47
50
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great hotel and even better staff! Owner is great at providing insightful information, great recommendations and goes the extra mile for his guests.

Rooms are comfortable and the hotel location is very central to various sights and activities.

We recommend this hotel to everyone!

Room Tip: If you like the sound of water, ask for a room near the courtyard. Helps you sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DON_SCOTT2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Spent the Labor Day Weekend here tagging along with a younger couple who had already done their due diligence re: selection and booking. Any concerns I might have had were allayed when we were greeted by the manager who is also the owner (always a good omen, I think) and "lives above the shop". John was happy to show us around the grounds and offer suggestions on things to do and places to visit around the hotel and Guadalajara in general (the city welcomes a different festival virtually every month -- Sept. was Mariachi and Oct. will be Octoberfest) . . . John also directed the final stages of the building's renovation and has a well earned pride about the result. The rooms (I believe there are 11, each distinct) seem all the larger thanks to the 15' ceilings and come with cable TV, a safe, a desk and a side chair, along with interesting decorations. The beds are top grade (but the pullout I used was a little lumpy). For those concerned about drinking tap water in Mexico, each unit has its own set of glasses and bottles that can be refilled with filtered water in the courtyard. Yes, given its location in the center of town, the sometime cacophony outside can filter into parts of the hotel, but you won't notice it if your room is near the fountain. Breakfast is served from 9 - 12 and is eaten around a long table reminding me of what you might find in a college or prep school i.e. guests are deftly encouraged to make new acquaintances over coffee, cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt, and juice. I repeat: John has invested more than his money here and works hard to see that your visit is a good one from beginning to end -- when he happily arranged transportation for us back to the airport.

Room Tip: There are ceiling fans in each room, but no A.C. which doesn't seem to make a difference in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAlebrijesHotel, Owner at Casa Alebrijes Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
These three guys were part of a group of six and it was fun hosting them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDMONTON, ALBERTA, CANADA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I spent a few nights at Casa Alibrijes this weekend. I would highly recommomend it for anyone wanting to be in the downtown and close to the colonial area and the dozens of night clubs. Everything is close by and withing easy walking distance. I went to San Juan de Dios, the largest market in Latin America where they sell clothes and everything else from the common to the exotic. You'll be suprised what you can find there. Being tall I also loved the super high ceilings in the rooms and throughout the two floors of the casa. The morning serve yourself breakfast included fruit, yoghurt, cereal, toast, juice, tea and coffee and was more than adequate to get you going. The wireless internet worked well but if you didn't happen to bring a computer no problem, there were also computers available on the main floor for use by guests. There is also covered and secure parking available in the casa for one extra vehicle, which I did use for my Jeep Grand Cherokee. It was a tight squeeze but it did fit. I really only have one minor suggestion that would have improved my stay: extra pillows on the bed, so you can work on your computer (there was also a desk) or watch tv from the bed with the pillows for support.

Room Tip: From what I saw of the rooms they were all very well appointed. As their web site says those who are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMAX5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAlebrijesHotel, Owner at Casa Alebrijes Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review, it was a pleasure to host you. The king beds have four pillows, the queen beds have two pillows, and I have extra pillows that I provide upon request. All rooms have desks and at least two chairs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

I was at first apprehensive about booking here after reading one of the reviews but came to the conclusion that there are some people that wouldn't be happy in heaven. The only complaint is there is a little noise from a near by club but the water fall does a good job muffling it and come on, we're in Mexico!!
This hotel is immaculate! The staff is beyond helpful, friendly and informative. We were given personalized maps made by the proprietor about what to do, where to go, where to eat all in accordance to what our preference was. He even told us to take a snack with us before the Jose Cuervo tour as there are tequila tastings and lunch is only available after the tour.
Overall the information we received was stop on..Thank you so much, we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask to get a room by the water fall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cameron k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAlebrijesHotel, Owner at Casa Alebrijes Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
I am pleased that these guests enjoyed their stay and found the information that I provide helpful. In all my travels for business and pleasure only one hotel sat down with me and and gave me maps and information to orient me to the tourist sites, restaurants, bars, and discoteques. This experience was so welcoming that I adopted it in my hotel for all my guests. My map and guide to the many gay bars and discoteques is especially helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Great value in the center of all the attractions. Second time staying and was as enjoyable as the first. Take some earplugs with you and you will not be bothered by the sounds of a nearby bar. I slept very well. Host John will help you in any way possible and make your stay enjoyable. Can't go wrong here. Rick D.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickyardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAlebrijesHotel, Owner at Casa Alebrijes Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
It was a pleasure hosting Rick and Mark again, and I am pleased that many guests return. This trip they rented Room 5 that is with Room 6 in a building separate from the main house, and you will hear music from the clubs. The rest of the rooms are in the main house, more protected from outside sounds, and where you will hear the fountain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I had a wonderful three night stay at what is one of the most delightful boutique Hotels/Inns I've ever visited. The owner, John, has thought of everything. The rooms are well appointed and super comfortable (especially the beds), the decor and ambiance is total tranquility and the service is super. I visited with John each morning at breakfast and he has his act together, really! He is very well traveled, professional and full of great information on the areas attractions and restaurants. Take his advice. The fountain in the courtyard lulled me into such a trance each day, I kept extending my stay. Loved it. Attention to detail is off the scale here. If you don't like staying here, you're not going to like any place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
1.4 mi away
Villa Ganz
Villa Ganz
#5 of 128 in Guadalajara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel de Mendoza
Hotel de Mendoza
#28 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casino Plaza
Hotel Casino Plaza
#11 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portobelo Hotel
Portobelo Hotel
#20 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Alebrijes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Alebrijes Hotel

Property: Casa Alebrijes Hotel
Address: Calle Libertad 1016 | Centro Historico, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Alebrijes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Alebrijes is a boutique hotel for gay men and women and friends located in the Historic Center and just two blocks from the center of the gay nightlife area that has some twenty-five gay bars and discotheques within walking distance – Guadalajara is known as the San Francisco of Mexico.The hotel has two floors with 2 suites for 1-4 persons and 7 rooms for 1 or 2 persons. The first floor has a garden patio with a fabulous fountain. The second floor has a balcony overlooking the garden patio and fountain. This late 19th century home was carefully and beautifully restored in a traditional style to provide modern conveniences while respecting the existing architecture. The 15 foot high ceilings and 2 foot thick adobe walls provide a unique hospitality experience. Relax on the balcony or garden patio and enjoy the sight and sound of the Mexican style fountain. Eat your continental breakfast in the dining room while sharing experiences with other guests or at private tables on the balcony. Guadalajara has a wonderful climate all year and you will enjoy the open air areas of the hotel. Internet, luxury mattress, laptop size safe, continental breakfast, and parking included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Alebrijes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing