We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice just outside the centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Demetria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Demetria
Ranked #31 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
114 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Excellent choice just outside the centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is a great place, just a short taxi drive (or easy walk) away from the very centre of Guadalajara.

Great service, excellent food (both the breakfast that was included there, and we had dinner there too). Lovely large rooms with fantastic showers & comfy beds, and a nice rooftop pool area. Definitely recommended for couples, and anyone who doesn't mind being a bit out of the centre of town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mango212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    39
    7
    8
    9
See reviews for
17
48
12
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Anselmo, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

The Hotel Demetria is a design conscious newer hotel that emphasizes a connection to architecture, design and the arts. Besides my own room I was able to see two other rooms, all were very stylish, and well appointed. As far as I could tell no two rooms could possibly be the same, as the actual spaces varied widely. The exterior walls are all solid glass so be careful when walking around with no clothes on.

The Library was incredible, don't miss it. The pool and the spa are both roof-top,and are very nice. The location could not be better for walking, dining or bar-hopping. Located in the Lafayette district, there are tons of sights to see.

The staff was efficient, professional and very pleasant. I will definately go back

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latham w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Potosi, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Beautiful Design, although not very practical. the hotel is only 3 years old yet it already shows "over-aging". Service is good, although you would expect much more for the price. Overall, the Stay was good, the room was great, a good one time experience, but don´t know if I would return... perhaps just to stop by for a drink, public areas are awesome...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have stayed in 8 hotels in Guadalajara, and the Hotel Demetria is our best experience yet. We were impressed by the unique architectural features but the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff was what really made the experience special. We were greeted with drinks on arrival and offered an upgrade on our two rooms. Each room was spacious with a large shower and huge tub. One room had a king and one two queens which were at the top of list for comfort in Mexico (we have stayed in many other cities as well). The pool area is lovely, though it might be a bit small if the hotel were full. I agree with the reviewer who criticized the 8 pm closing hour. Since no supervision is on duty, it seems as though that could be pushed back. We enjoyed delicious full breakfasts (included in room charge) each morning and had a wonderful dinner there one evening. The food was of gourmet standards with lovely presentation and service was excellent. I recommend Hotel Demetria without reservation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeRoanoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
959 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Demetria is the classic example of what can go wrong with a boutique hotel... is nothing else but the lack of standards and real comfort and convenience.
Sorry if I offend someone but his is place is great only for the unexperienced ones. At glance everything looks great but in deep the mistakes arises:
1. The door to the terrace was not soundproof and lacked the lock... I felt unsafe and spend the most noisiest nights at any hotel.
2. AC never worked, only cooling but the weather was cold enough, I needed heat!.
3. The maid service is totally inconsistent, some days they leave bath amenities and some not.
4. The service seems to be polite and professional but when a problem emerge they lack of solving skills.
5. Of course the fare is totally out of what you get back.

The restaurant is good but pricey for the city standards but that deserves another review.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank draghignazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

The staff is amazingly nice and they'll try to accomodate you as much as they can (except chilling at their beautiful pool after 8pm) the hotel is absolutely beautiful, for both the restaurant, the pool and the sauna's/gym. However, be warned, each room is different and unique, if you can get a room facing the pool side, the better; I'd suggest asking the staff to let you see a few options.

I've stayed by booking through hoteltonight for business and pleasure. It is my favorite boutique hotel in Mexico so far.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool area are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andresbarreto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

At first glance this place is very interesting. Minimalist and modern lobby, lots of glass and open space and interesting art work. The novelty ends there. We had an Urban Suite, supposedly. According to the website the Urban Suite has a Bath Tub and a King size bed. The first room we were taken too had neither, a double bed at best. The room was an interesting concept; however not very functional, especially for one who may appreciate a bit of privacy. The Bathroom had a whole wall that was frosted glass, the other side of that wall is elevator lobby where EVERYONE walks by. Though the glass was frosted it's still pretty easy to see anything on the other side. The "headboard" for the bed is a glass box which has a toilet in onside and shower in the other, not much for bathroom privacy, especially in the toilet area. The large window by the bed look directly out onto another rooms large terrace, again not much for privacy.

In addition to the odd design elements which are not very functional, there is no closet, a double bed, and the room was a mixture of many patch work maintenance jobs with mismatched paint everywhere. I include pictures in my review. We called reception and they found a room with a King size bed available, still no tub but at least it was a larger bed. This room was better; however, still highly lacking in the details that make a hotel luxury like this is supposed to be. The pillows (With no pillow protectors) were so cheap that you put you hand on then and it literally goes right through tot he bottom. There were lots of random loose wires and cables about (The wall sconces had the wiring running up the outside of the wall, absolutely no windows in the room, which is painted dark blue with black carpet and the TV stopped working halfway though the night. It got to the point where is was actually farcical.

The design at first glance is very interesting and is a great show piece; however, it is not at all comfortable or functional and no where near worth what the prices are.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first, they are all different and I can only assume some are better than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Ganz
Villa Ganz
#5 of 128 in Guadalajara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Fayette
Casa Fayette
#33 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quinta Real Guadalajara
Quinta Real Guadalajara
#25 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Providencia
2.1 mi away
Aloft Guadalajara
Aloft Guadalajara
#34 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.2 mi away
LA FE Hotel and Arts
LA FE Hotel and Arts
#29 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Demetria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Demetria

Property: Hotel Demetria
Address: Avenida La Paz 2219 | Lafayette, Guadalajara 44160, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Demetria 4.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Demetria main objective is to change the image of Guadalajara City as well as positioning Lafayette as one of the most exclusive areas in terms of architecture, real estate, cultural and art related developments. This project presents a vision on a new lifestyle, its essence presents the opportunity to attract the most demanding and select clientele to experience a world of highly exclusive service y benefits, as the result of great design and sophistication. This space is created by an atmosphere and meeting points accordingly in order to satisfy the highest standards when it comes to quality and service. An avant-garde concept becomes a clearly remarkable aspect of the personality of the hotel and its surroundings, making it a very unique place from the other city hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Demetria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing