We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute Treasure in Guadalajara” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Demetria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Demetria
Ranked #30 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Absolute Treasure in Guadalajara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

My partner and I just spent 3 nights in Hotel Demetria and had a really wonderful experience. The sparse, modern design of the building is stunning (if you like contemporary design). Black slate floors, exposed concrete walls, grey and black walls, gorgeous artifacts and art abound. We ate at the restaurant 3 times and found the food to be the best dining experience we had in GDL (recommend the carnitas with peppers and watermelon salad as starters, grilled fish and pasta dishes for main courses). We also visited the heated pool each day, which was nice. Large chaise lounges and no one to bother us. There is a small gym onsite, which we did not use. We also found the staff to be very, very pleasant. Only 2 small complaints about the hotel: the rooms are dark and its important that all lights work. Our room (Master Suite) had 2 bulbs out. The other complaint is that you can hear street noise at busy times (after rush hour, the noise declines). Interestingly, there is virtually no internal noise. The hotel is solid concrete and glass construction. Saw someone else mention the nice, strong showers in the bath. This is true: wow, great shower and excellent water pressure. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. Had a really enjoyable experience...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelLovinMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
demetriahotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Demetria, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Google Translation
Agradecemos sus comentarios y observaciones con el tema de la luz en las habitaciones que ya estamos solucionando con nuevas lamparas para las mesas de luz. Con referencia al ruido, lo cual hasta la fecha no sido mencionado, lo estamos verificando y buscando las soluciones posibles, para asegurar la tranquilidad durnate toda la noche
Atte.
Oscar Luna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    38
    7
    8
    9
See reviews for
17
45
12
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I heard about this hotel and wanted to check it out while visiting Guadalajara, so my wife and I and another couple decided to have lunch in the hotel restuarant which was expensive but very good and what you would expect from this type of a hotel.
We decided to ask if we could see a room as we travel to Guadalajara often and would like to see it for a future stay. While at the reception desk, 2 of the hotel staff looked directly at us and never even acknowledged our presence until we had to ask for help. I said we had just had lunch in their restuarant and would it be possible to see a room. The girl at the desk said that they couldn't because of privacy of the hotel guest but they could show me pictures. I mentioned I've seen pictures online and ask if the hotel was fully booked? She said no and she couldn't show me a room. Wow! I have stayed in some great hotels around the world but never received this kind of an attitude from a hotel. Maybe they don't need the business. Would advise not to stay here and would recommend the Villa Ganz in the same neighborhood without the rude and arrogant staff. Thanks

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank Coleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel from the moment you enter has you intrigued by it's decor. The rooms are so unique and amazingly quaint. Oscar the "Experience Director" went out of his way to make the experience memorable. Very "chic" and luxury hotel, one I highly recommend if you are on a business trip or as a romantic get-a-way. The chef, Rodrigo Diaz Clouthie made some unforgettable dishes. The fifth floor skybar you won't want to miss. Kudos to all the staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, Mexico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Where do I begin...... It was a great experience beginning to end. Upon arrival we were greeted by the friendly staff. The place is phenomenal, the architectural design, the concept. Everything is just breath taking. It's definitely not something you expect in Mexico. I am from Los Angeles and personally love the modern and minimalist design, not to mention artistic touches in every space. Upon check in we received a free upgrade, We originally reserved a premium suite with a king size bed but due to availability we were upgraded to a Master suite with 2 queens which was definitely a plus. Our room was on the 3rd floor and I can't say enough about it. Amazing views of the city and a lofty open space and a Giant stone jacuzzi, definitely great after a long night out in town. I read a couple bad reviews about the service at this place and I have to disagree. I fou d the staff to be very attentive and polite. Maybe some people are used to the kind of staff that follows your every move and asks how you are doing followed by your last name every 5 mins. Which from previous travel experiences gets annoying. The staff here is great, I would like to mention the reception staff is great, unfortunately I do not recall the name of the young lady who assisted us with our check in and showed us to our room but she was great. Also at the sky bar we met the Manager I believe his name is Oscar Luna, very polite and made us feel at home. Laslty I would like to comment on the restaurant services. The breakfast and evening staff were great, attentive and polite. Overall a great experience and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Last week I was on a business trip for the “Expo Starcraft Guadalajara Qualifers” at Expo Guadalajara and someone referred me to Demetria Hotel.

I can’t be more delighted with the whole experience. Can’t believe a Hotel like this could be in a city like Guadalajara. It’s architectural design breathless. The staff was very attentive about my needs, gorgeous food, the comfort of their heavenly beds, everything was according to what I’ve heard about the place and to be fare it fell short. At the restaurant Antonio De Livier presented himself as the Executive Chef, who gave us an unforgettable gourmet experience with delicacies rescued from ancient Mexican recipes. Our last day at the pool area was divine, incredible scenery and ambiance thought the weather was a bit cloudy.

An issue to improve may be the lighting of their rooms. Everything else was above in comparison to other hotels here in the US and Europe. It surpassed my expectations by far according to the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbGanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

Hotel Demetria is the best hotel in Guadalajara for business travel. You have all the amenities you might need, with a great atmosphere for you to enjoy and relax. I loved the photos that are displayed in each room. The graphic library has some exquiste books and you can just sit down and look thru them.
Great restaurant with great crowd. Sky Loung has the best view while drinking a Margarita!

I´ll be back everytime I come back to Guadalajara, loved it!!

Room Tip: Master Suite rules!! You like to travel and get the best room, master suite is spacious and so conft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norman2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

If your on business or a trvaeling internationl artist or pop star this is the only hotel fror you in Guadalajara ! This architectural wonder is is one of the few boutique hotels where the staf is always around the corner to make sure all you needs are met. The resturant boasts a modern galss floor ro celieng enviorment with an antique wodden bar with a great menu ( love the rollitos de pato). Once you enter your room ( pick any) you speand about 5 mintues studying the brilliant design unique to each room. There are little distractions in these rooms, which makes it wonderful for either relaxing or working. Dont forget to visit the chill out roof deck, you wont leave with its breath taking views. If your one of means ask for the penthouse suite ( or at least to see it) it will make you think twice with about changing your room and your impression of what a hotel suite :"should be". The owener/and architect of the hotel is always in present to make sure your stay is perfect. That in itself speaks volumes about the hotel. When was the last time you had that hands on with staff and building. Viva Demetria. My new favorite hotel !

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ericsweden_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Ganz
Villa Ganz
#5 of 128 in Guadalajara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Fayette
Casa Fayette
#32 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quinta Real Guadalajara
Quinta Real Guadalajara
#21 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Providencia
0.2 mi away
LA FE Hotel and Arts
LA FE Hotel and Arts
#27 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.2 mi away
Square Small Luxury Hotel
Square Small Luxury Hotel
#39 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Demetria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Demetria

Property: Hotel Demetria
Address: Avenida La Paz 2219 | Lafayette, Guadalajara 44160, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Demetria 4.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Demetria main objective is to change the image of Guadalajara City as well as positioning Lafayette as one of the most exclusive areas in terms of architecture, real estate, cultural and art related developments. This project presents a vision on a new lifestyle, its essence presents the opportunity to attract the most demanding and select clientele to experience a world of highly exclusive service y benefits, as the result of great design and sophistication. This space is created by an atmosphere and meeting points accordingly in order to satisfy the highest standards when it comes to quality and service. An avant-garde concept becomes a clearly remarkable aspect of the personality of the hotel and its surroundings, making it a very unique place from the other city hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Demetria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing