We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable hotel with fabulous staff!”
Review of La Mansion del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Mansion del Sol
Ranked #24 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable hotel with fabulous staff!”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We have been staying at La Mansion Del Sol for the past three years, and have always had a great experience. The restaurant has great food, rooms are clean and comfortable but the best part is, and always has been, the staff. They are bilingual, friendly and professional! If you are looking for a nice boutique hotel in Guadalajara, this would be a great choice!

Room Tip: All rooms are large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaMarny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    38
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
32
63
14
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sechelt
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights after arriving feeling somewhat ill from a 5 hour bus trip from San Miguel. We were greeted with a wonderful reception, and the bell boy who took our bags upstairs, brought us fresh juice and water. We also had fresh fruit in our room, complimentary wine at dinner, and wonderful service from all the waiters in the dining room. Can you imagine being brought (without asking) fresh hot popcorn while sitting outside in a peaceful beautiful garden having a drink! In addition, the decor of the hotel was lovely...lots of wood and Mexican artwork..and beautifully maintained. Our room was larger than most hotel rooms, especially the bathroom and very quiet. The area surrounding the hotel was also very nice and we would have walked around had we felt better. I can't say enough about this hotel and the staff. It was one of the best hotel experiences, if not the best, I have ever had. Thanks to Oscar and all his staff for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 520normi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMansiondelSol, Manager at La Mansion del Sol, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Dear Guest Thank you for your kind words! All your commnets are more than welcome and help us to keep improving.
We hope to see you soon again At La Mansion del Sol.

Best Regards!

Oscar and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed in this wonderful boutique hotel for 5 nights in January. Room was lovely, with windows on a little inner "courtyard" with lovely plantings. There was a sitting area that included a desk AND a computer, there's free wifi! Use their's or bring your own. Breakfast buffet (hot and cold) in included and offers more than adequate variety. Eat it in the cheerful dinning room or better yet, outside in the lovely garden with foutain and hummingbird feeder! Room was clean, comfortable and well appointed. Walking distance (if you like to walk) to a big, modern mall. I would definitely stay there again when in Guadalajara.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleeplessinajijic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMansiondelSol, Manager at La Mansion del Sol, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Dear Guest. Thank you very much for you comment on TripAdvisor. Look Forward to have you here again in your next trip to Guadalajara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapala, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

When you drive up to the La Mansion Del Sol, get ready for a pleasant surprise awaiting you inside. We were first greeted by Nancy at the front desk. She spoke perfect English and was very helpfull. I wish the bellhop had been as helpfull. We didn't find the bathrobe, coffee maker, snacks, safe, ironing board, and iron until later that evening when we decided to look through the closets.

The hotel has a dry sauna and a steam room. The terry cloth robe would have been nice to use when we went to use the sauna but we didn't find it until after we went there.

A large shopping center, the Plaza del Sol, is very nearby. The shopping center provides a free shuttle that picks up and drops off guests at this hotel.

Our main purpose for the trip was to see Carlos Santana in concert at the Auditorio Telmex. It was one of the best concerts that I've ever seen in my life.

Oh -- I must mention the breakfast, which is one of the tastiest I´ve ever had at a morning buffet. And, oh yes, it is included in the hotel price.

Bottom line -- stay at this hotel. It is one of the best.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilgrim45900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I normally don't write reviews even though I have traveled worldwide and stayed at many very nice small hotels. I am writing this one because this hotel has been my home away from home for many years. I have been staying at La Mansion del Sol for almost 8 years. I visit Guadalajara often for business and my wife accompanies me. The hotel is in a great location near Plaza del Sol which has good shopping and a Starbucks. We both love the rooms which are roomy with very comfortable beds. The garden is great to sit and enjoy the flowers and fountains. We also eat at the restaurant and have enjoyed the cuisine prepared by Jose and Chuy. The wait staff makes us feel special, both the morning staff of Salvador and Rodrigo and the evening staff Raul and Christian. Christina the evening receptionists always makes us feel as though we have come back home. Oscar Lopez the hotel manager makes certain that we feel appreciated. I always recommend La Mansion del Sol to my friends for business or pleasure when coming to Guadalajara. You can't go wrong staying here!

Dean Mitchell
Denver Colorado

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMansiondelSol, Manager at La Mansion del Sol, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Thank you so much for you kind words

We hope to see you soon down here and greet you persoanlly

The Staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

My fiancee and I have stayed at La Mansion del Sol at least five times, and for us it's always like coming home (she is Mexican and I am American). It's a very special place. I work in the hotel industry, and I think the value you get for your money is outstanding. You could pay two to three times their rates in the US and not find as nice a place. It's a large, converted private house and has the feeling of a luxurious home. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, well-maintained, and beautifully furnished in what I think of as Mexican colonial style. The service is gracious and attentive - first class all around. The front of the house staff is fluent in Englsih, as well. We see the same people every time we're there, which is a good indication that the employees are happy and the place is well managed. The location is about a 10-15 minute cab ride into central Guadalajara, and about the same distance in the other direction to Tlaquepaque, which is very much worth visiting. The neighborhood is safe, and we often walk to dinner at night at the nearby Plaza del Sol. However, I recommend staying on property and trying their restaurant, which is beautiful and offers a nice mix of Mexican and European cuisine. Be sure to take time to relax in the lush garden to enjoy the humming birds and the fountain, or to enjoy a book in the wood-panelled sitting room off the lobby. La Mansion is an oasis of peace and quiet, best for adults and beautifully romanitc for couples.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FourthBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMansiondelSol, Manager at La Mansion del Sol, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear Mr [--],

Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor. All comments from our Guests Good or Bad, really help us to improve our hotel and service avery day.
I hope to see you soon at La Mansion del sol. Gracias!

Oscar López A
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I have stayed and dined here many times, mostly for business.

This is a very small hotel that almost borders on the B&B feeling. As I understand it, it is a converted mansion where every room is a bit different, and sometimes the bathrooms are a bit of an add-on, but still I think most of the rooms I have stayed in are excellent, albeit a little odd, and some are gigantic.

Beds seem uniformly hard, I have to check if they are concrete.

The dining facilities are a bit of a gem. And the staff is especially accommodating and become sort of a family if you stay for more than a few days. The hotel and dining area are set behind a standard mansion concrete wall but the gardens therein are wonderful.

In short, I like this place a lot.

Room Tip: Very small hotel, so sometimes the best rooms are taken. Ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redeye4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMansiondelSol, Manager at La Mansion del Sol, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Dear Guest!

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. All comments good or bad, help us to improve our instalations and service.
We would like to see you soon in your next trip to Guadalajara.
Thank you!
Sicerely
All the Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel de Mendoza
Hotel de Mendoza
#27 of 128 in Guadalajara
369 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
2.8 mi away
Villa Ganz
Villa Ganz
#4 of 128 in Guadalajara
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
European Life Style Suites
European Life Style Suites
#19 of 128 in Guadalajara
303 reviews
1.0 mi away
Guadalajara Plaza Expo
Guadalajara Plaza Expo
#11 of 128 in Guadalajara
997 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aurea Hotel and Suites
Aurea Hotel and Suites
#31 of 128 in Guadalajara
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mansion del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mansion del Sol

Property: La Mansion del Sol
Address: Avenida Moctezuma 1596 | Ciudad del Sol, Guadalajara 45050, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
#10 Family Hotel in Guadalajara
#10 Romantic Hotel in Guadalajara
#12 Best Value Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mansion del Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mansión del Sol, is a small Boutique Hotel with 22 rooms with Fine Mexican Style. Located in an exclusive residential area, it’s also within the hotel area, 3 blocks from Plaza del Sol Mall and 10 blocks from Plaza Ciudadela Mall. In the heart of one of the best areas in Guadalajara. Surrounded by stores, hotels, restaurants, bars, discotec´s, coffee shops, theatres and movie theatres etc. Only 5 minutes from the Expo Guadalajara Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your La Mansion del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mansion Del Sol Hotel Guadalajara
La Mansion Del Sol Guadalajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing