We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Holiday Inn Guatalajara” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Centro Historico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Centro Historico
Ranked #46 of 125 Hotels in Guadalajara
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn Guatalajara”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

This hotel is perfectly situated near the central plazas of the city. We had a reasonably priced jacuzzi room. It was very spacious and elegant. The staff were superb and the restaurant and bar were very much first class. The concierge was very helpful. We were even driven to the airport in the hotel shuttle. Over all, we enjoyed the experience tremendously.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmanagerGuadalajara, Gerente at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Centro Historico, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all we want to thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent stay at the beautiful city of Guadalajara. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit. As you mentioned our location is perfect for business or leisure travelers. We apreciatte your description of your suite as spacious and elegant and we are very proud to hear you said our staff service is superb. Thank you again for your kind comments, we hope to see you soon at Holiday Inn & Suites Guadalajara Centro Historico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    86
    40
    16
    13
See reviews for
56
74
24
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Bernardino, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel twice now. It is very central to many things. It is within walking distance to shops, food, money exchange, and sights. We were very satisfied with our service and the room we had was a "smart" one. Your TV remote controls the air, lights, curtains, etc, etc. Free wi-fi is also included which was very helpful to keep in touch while being away from home. Because it is in the centre there can be a lot of traffic, but the noise did not affect us sleeping at night. There is also a cafe and restaurant located within the hotel, but there are so many eating places just around the corner.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Licha_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmanagerGuadalajara, Gerente at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Centro Historico, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable time to share your opinion, we're glad to hear you have came back to our hotel for the second time and that you appreciate the improvments we made to the room such as the smart desk wich is also a personal computer for guests and controls tv, air conditioning, lights, music, etc. We hope to have the oportunity to see you soon in this beautiful city of Guadalajara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Stayed there for 4 nights on a business trip. A very good overall experience for a reasonable price. Though with some strange moments, maybe normal for Mexico:
Ordered in the Internet. For some reason, the reservation site could not commit for a non-smoking room, but the hotel followed my request, and I have got a non-smoking room.
Though our arrival was expected, the check-in process was a bit clumsy. The breakfast vouchers had to be manually issued for each morning, and for some reason, we had to pay for the room in advance. When tried to argue, was offered to pay each day for the next night. Strange.
The room was very spacious and clean. A bit oldish, though noticeably renovated, elegant and well-maintainted. Everyting controlled from a "smart room" TV (air condition, lights, curtains, etc). Large and comfortable bed with lots of pillows. Bathrobe.
Got free usage of the minibar, buts its contents were funny - 2 soft drinks, 2 beers and a snack, renewed every 3 days.
Free Internet, reasonably fast.
The most strange experience was breakfast. A very minimalistic buffet. Instead, the hot meal stand cooking omlets upon request. Very friendly staff, offering coffee. But if you don't want fied eggs, you will probably stay hungry.
Unfortunateky, did not have time to wander around, but the hotel seemed to be situated right in the middle of a touristic area in the old city centrer. Taxis immediately available to go anywhere in the city.
Bottom line - recommended.

Room Tip: Some rooms seem to face patio, ask for an external window room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G9508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmanagerGuadalajara, Gerente at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Centro Historico, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments, the way you described your experience is very important for us to meet your expectations and for other travelers to decide. We hope next time you have more time to enjoy our beautiful city and we'll be glad if you choose us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte- Brazil
Level Contributor
219 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel is centrally located, rooms confortable with safe,fair price, friendly staff.Breakfast was not included, so I did´t try.So, you will find eveything you need in a hotel, but not exceptional.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FRANCISCO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmanagerGuadalajara, Gerente at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Centro Historico, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear Francisco,

Thank you for your preference, we appreciate that you took the time to share your opinion about your recent stay with us, we hope to welcome you again on your next visit to our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

This charming old-world, extensively renovated hotel greets you with a long narrow entrance flanked with rich hardwoods, giant paintings, and huge mirrors reflecting soft light from a chandelier which (the concierge told us proudly) has over two thousand pieces of hand-cut glass. Add to all this the smartly dressed staff, rich red carpet and gleaming brass, and you feel like you stepped into a venue somewhere in an elegant section of a European city.

That pampered feeling is immediately reinforced by the staff. From the doorman to reception to bellboys (do we still call them "bellboys"?) to maids to waiters, we felt like welcome family throughout our three-day stay. Anything we wanted was provided cheerfully, immediately, and with good grace. When we told the front desk that we wanted to go to the Folk Ballet, they arranged for our tickets, a taxi (the driver met us on the steps of the theatre after the show and escorted us to his car! How good is THAT?), and even advised us on the best seats in the house. We paid the hotel a very reasonable package price for all this. Just one example of the way we were treated.

Our room was a little small, but well-appointed and comfortable. Very clean. The bathroom was also a little small, but the fixtures were new and, as is often the case in Mexico, the shower (no tub) was large, the tiles in excellent repair. When you pre-book, if you want a tub you should ask for it. Also, while I'm talking about the room, note that Avenida Juarez is one of the busiest streets in downtown Guadalajara and a lot of Mexican drivers are in love with their horns. If you're a light sleeper, try for a room away from the street. And, while I'm at it, away from the service elevator--it runs all the time and it's noisy..

The restaurant offers a good range of Mexican dishes, as well as standard Canadian/American fare. Reasonably priced and well-prepared. The restaurant is on the second floor, right above Avenida Juarez. A table right at the railing is a great place to enjoy the hustle of the street below. After dark, it's a little cool; you'll want a sweater.

Within two blocks of the hotel are the 300-year-old major cathedrals, old government buildings, palaces, theatres, and public squares. Restaurants, shops, malls. public markets--all within comfortable walking distance.

R|oom charges are competitive--I think we paid a little over $100 in November 2010; it's more like $115 now. Interestingly, Guadalajara is NOT a tourist city, so you don't get the crazy roller-coaster prices between high and low seasons: you'll pay within a few dollars of the same price, regardless of time of year.

My advice?--book it.! It's charming, clean, comfortable, well-managed, and conveniently located. We'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moonfroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmanagerGuadalajara, Gerente at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Centro Historico, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Thank you for sharing your comments with other travelers, we appreciate it very much, let me express our gratitude for the way you describe our hotel and staff, Holiday Inn & Suites Guadalajara Centro Histórico is commited with guest satisfaction and we make all possible efforts to reach our purpose. Once again thank you for your preference hoping to see you back in Guadalajara in a short time,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for business on July 27th and 28th, along with a group from my Company. After reading the reviews I decided to give this hotel a shot vs Hilton. I arrived at 11PM after a bumpy flight, and have made my reservations 2 weeks in advance , with a credit card guarantee. I specifically asked for a non smoking room (I have a health condition), but when I arrived, the front desk clerk told me that the room wasnt ready for me, further more, they were completely sold out, and another room was not available. Sure enough, the clerk apologized, and a fellow worker that knows about my health condition, compassionately yielded his non smoking room to me. I felt terribly bad about it but I had no choice. The clerk offered to move my belongings the very next day, but I guess they did not care since I arrived to the same room, and found a letter asking me to leave that very same day, since they did not have rooms available. To complete the icing on the cake, at check out , they asked me how was everything and if my stay was enyojable, I felt offended since they did not care all over my stay. So I simply told them I will keep my comments to myself, and that I will not plan to get to any holiday inn hotels in the near future but try the Hilton instead. Sorry folks, but this is the plain truth, its probably a nice hotel for families and leisure, but for the business travelers, please look elswere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank remrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmanagerGuadalajara, Gerente at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Centro Historico, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Thank you for sharing your comments with us, I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Our goal is guest satisfaction, we're very sorry we didn't meet your expectations this time. I hope you give us another opportunity to serve at Holiday Inn & Suites Guadalajara Centro Hsistorico to show you we can do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

I stayed with my husband and parents las week, everything was excellent!!!
Beautiful rooms, very confortable bed and pillows, super modern TV, clean, quiet, everything was perfect! Excellent client service! Excellent location
Breakfast is great and the food at he restaurant is very good too.
I highly recommend it to everyone!!

Room Tip: Largest rooms are the ones in the corners.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank macodi82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmanagerGuadalajara, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Centro Historico, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Thank you for your review, we appreciate you took the time to share your experience, we hope to see you on your next visit to our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
0.1 mi away
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
#25 of 125 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roma, Suites & Business Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Mendoza
Hotel de Mendoza
#27 of 125 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Frances
Hotel Frances
#74 of 125 in Guadalajara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Centro Historico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Centro Historico

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Centro Historico
Address: Av. Juarez 211-103 Centro | Colonia Centro, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 125 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Centro Historico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the heart, near the historical and cultural area, of the city are the only five star and International prestige brand in this area. Featuring all the comfort that business men and tourists require, our guests will be able to experience the combination of modern services and history of this beautiful city. Enjoy our recent remodelated rooms or junior suite with the best standards by Holiday Inn and more: the best beds to rest, pillow menu, wireless Internet access, use your own computer in room, alarm clock radio with iPod dock, and free parking. Entertainment, shopping, culture, business, all you are looking for, just steps away. Easy access to anywhere in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Centro Historico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Centro Historico
Holiday Inn Guadalajara
Guadalajara Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing