We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old, ugly Hotel, no internet, dont get there!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laffayette Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Laffayette Hotel
Ranked #110 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Aguascalientes, Mexico
1 review
“Old, ugly Hotel, no internet, dont get there!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

I stay there because is the closest place to get de VISA, but since first minute I had to wait around 30 minutes in line to get a room, there was just 1 person in the reception.

The rooms are old and the sheets, are even more old, the air contidion did not work, IT HAS NO INTERNET!!!! .

This hotel needs to have a refresh I wont recomend to get there!.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotelcriticanalitic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    25
    37
    33
    31
See reviews for
33
21
5
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2009

I'll be honest, this hotel is not the Mandarin Oriental, but it was a great place for us to stay. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable, off street parking is free in their garage, and the price was great. The room and facility are in need of maintenance in general (broken chair, damage here or there,) but everything was clean and the shower was awesome. You can't beat the location for restaurants, shopping and nightlife. If you want to pay more in GDL you can, you can stay in a more fancy hotel. For me, I will choose the Laffayette for my next stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scout99Seattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morelia, Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2009

I looked for a medium priced hotel al Guadalajara and selected this one. Many years ago (more thn fifteen) it was my prefred choice at Guadalajara, but it grew older quicly and without grace. The neighborhood is still one of the coziest at Guadalajara but the hotel has a very poor maintenance, the so-called pool is a joke, the staff looks cheap and the sexual activity of my neighbors sounded as if they were at my bed, that by the way, was and felt terrible old. That was my last stay at this in other times remarkable hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YV24122015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guadalajara hotels

Région grenobloise
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

I booked this hotel because I was told on the phone that I would have an Internet connection in my room. On arrival, I was told that Internet was available only in the lobby. But this was not the only bad surprise on arrival. The hotel staff hardly spoke English, sometimes even none at all and all communication throughout my stay was therefore extremely difficult. As I arrived after 11 PM, the bar was already closed, there was no mini bar in my room (which normally is standard in 4 star hotels) and so I had to leave the hotel and go to a supermarket to get something else as water to drink. When I wanted to call home, the staff was unable to tell me what code I need to dial for international calls. Next morning the negatives continued as my TV switched itself on at 7 AM, probably as some kind of wake up call that of course I hadn't ordered. Although I had Spanish speaking colleagues ask at reception to switch this wake up TV off, the next morning the TV woke me up again at the same time. Eventually, I had to pull the plug every evening to wake up at a time of my own choosing. I only tried the breakfast the first morning (poor quality, slow service, waiters wearing unclean clothes) and then preferred to have it somewhere else. The positive thing you can say is that the rooms and the lobby are clean, but you can clearly see that the owners are milking a cash cow here: metal surfaces are severely scratched, towels frequently are completely worn out on the edges, etc. If this hotel had been advertised as 2 star, I would have given a better evaluation, but rating it as 4 star is just a joke.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seidelbast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2008

I read the reviews on this site before I booked the hotel. I saw the review from Khelm dated September 2006 and thought that this was just an unhappy person but to my surprise Khelm had the rating right on the money

If you goal is to save a few pesos and if you don't care about your health or comfort this might be the place for you.

I travel the world for Business and have been in many hotels, 3 star, 4 star and 5 star and at best this is a 3 star hotel. I have no idea how this place could be rated as a 4 star.

There are many negative things I can tell you about this place starting with the Staff's bad attitude, fountain as a pool, lack of cleanliness, hard beds, poor internet, paint peel from walls, no chain locks on doors, mold on bath mat, nasty smell in room, dirty carpet and much more . Since khelm"s review in 2006, this place has only got worse. Needless to say, I check out and found a better place because I value my health and comfort. http://www.laffayette.com.mx/ The photos on thier web site are much better then in real life and must have been taken many years ago.

JLS

  • Liked — !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Disliked — !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JLSWorldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
175 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2008

I stayed here during a business trip earlier this month. No one in our party plans to stay here again.

On a positive note, we enjoyed the neighborhood and the staff was friendly even if they were not knowledgeable about the area (they are only a few blocks from some of the nicest restaurants in Guadalajara, but no one at the front desk could recommend anywhere to eat or anything to do in the area) or about the hotel (the member of our party who had reserved a room with a king-size bed, was given the room with two doubles and those who needed two beds were given the king).

The carpets were so dirty and smelly that I couldn't bring myself to walk on the floor barefoot. Also, the sewage gas smell in the rooms was unbearable during the night. Mattresses were not very comfortable. And the service in the hotel restaurant was so slow and indifferent that I walked out after being seated and then being ignored for more than ten minutes -- and they probably still haven't noticed.

We had a meeting room off the lobby (El Salón Petite). No windows and no ventilation. Close to unbearable.

There are lots of nice places to stay in Guadalajara. This isn't one of them.

  • Liked — Staff was friendly
  • Disliked — Staff was not knowledgeable; rooms were dirty.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PoblanoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2006

Where to begin. I can tell the story of this hotel in 5 facts

1. Lets start with the pool. We entered the lobby of the hotel, check in, and did what we always do; look for the pool. we saw a little pond in the center of the hotel, with a fountain and thought nothting of it. after 15 minutes of searching, we found out, that was to pool. About 15 feet at its widest spot, and 3 feet deep at most; it was dirty, cold, and had a nasty slime on the pools surface.

2. Next comes the staff. Yes, they spoke English, but they were rude, and mean. A girl in our travel group was walking into the lobby when a worker asked if she thought he was ugly, she said no, but he thought she said yes, yelled at her, and made her cry.

3. Next comes the elevator. It felt like a plane landing at the end, because you drop like 4 feet at the end. They feel like they're going to fall when they creak and groan as the climb SLOWLY to the top. Oh, don't bother looking at the floor gauge, its messed up and always read 8 or 9 or 1.

4. The floor was soft in spots, and wet with something, it smelled and wasn't clean.

5. The windows. Now no matter how much I research it, I cannot find out why there was a 5 inch gap on every window between the wall and the window frame. I could stick my hand out into the air. This helped explain the bubbling carpet and wet floors.

Over all, this hotel royally stunk. Do not go there ever!!!!!!

  • Liked — Absolutley Nothing
  • Disliked — Everthing
  • Tips/Secrets — !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Don't Go!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed August 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank khelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.2 mi away
LA FE Hotel and Arts
LA FE Hotel and Arts
#26 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Monraz Hotel Boutique & Galeria
1.0 mi away
Portobelo Hotel
Portobelo Hotel
#18 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Krystal Urban Guadalajara
Krystal Urban Guadalajara
#19 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Madonna
Casa Madonna
#73 of 128 in Guadalajara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
1.0 mi away
Plaza Diana
Plaza Diana
#27 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laffayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laffayette Hotel

Property: Laffayette Hotel
Address: Avenida La Paz # 2055, Guadalajara 44160, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Laffayette Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Laffayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laffayette Hotel Guadalajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing