We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““very good atmosphere””

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Tequila Backpacker
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
““very good atmosphere””
Reviewed October 12, 2011

a very nice hostel, with nice little pool, very spacious rooms, Courteous staff, the loacation is ok, close to the bars area, a little far from the central so it depends on what you are looking for

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    24
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
3
9
62
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

The room we stayed in (double room with "garden view") was very clean and spacious. The staff were very helpful and each day there is some activity planned. We went to the lucha libre night (laughed so hard i cried) then the on a full day tequila tour - definitely recommend it.

The only bad points:
- no safe/lockable cupboard in the private room
- a lot of noise comes from the garden area so make sure you bring your earplugs
- 25 minute walk from centro historico (not sure if this a bad thing though)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelli131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

The place was great to stay in about 15 min to the centre. Filled mainly with students studying there
The room I was in the bathroom was in a pretty bad way toilet not flushing and shower needed a good clean.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuyuyub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

The GOOD: location near Chaputepec, moderate price for private room (not as good as a value as Hotel Isabel in Mexico City). Friendly staff.

The BAD: lumpy springy mattress, no sufficient blankets for winter nights, many guests stay up late nights chatting loudly and smoking. If you need sleep over community building, perhaps need to look elsewhere. If your room has "garden view" that also means you'll get stinky cigarette smoke till wee hours in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Metaweb20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

I moved to the Tequila Hostel after a day at the HI Hostel Centro, which wasn't great. I knew straight away that this was a good place to stay.

Good: Cool staff, clean and spacious rooms, close to Chapultepec Avenue which has lots of restaurants and bars, really nice showers, fairly large and secure lockers, Sky TV, guitars, a small pool (which is unfortunately in the shade a lot, so only worth using if you're there in summer!), decent kitchen and breakfast provided!

Bad: The lounge area is open to the elements, so can get cold at night, the rooms can also get a bit chilly although extra blankets can be provided, the internet connection is ok but the computers are old and slow, I think they should buy some new ones!

Overall, an excellent week in Guadalajara thanks to my stay in this hostel!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrFahaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
1.0 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
1.1 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casino Plaza
Hotel Casino Plaza
#14 of 128 in Guadalajara
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Ganz
Villa Ganz
#5 of 128 in Guadalajara
333 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostel Guadalajara Hospedarte
Hostel Guadalajara Hospedarte
#1 of 85 in Guadalajara
234 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hostel Guadalajara Centro
Hostel Guadalajara Centro
#6 of 85 in Guadalajara
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Tequila Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Tequila Backpacker

Property: Hostel Tequila Backpacker
Address: Avenida Hidalgo 1160 | Col. Centro, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico (Formerly Hostel Tequila Guadalajara)
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Tequila Backpacker 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOSTEL TEQUILA. Hostel Guadalajara | Hostel Tequila Backpackers Guadalajara.Tequila Hostel Backbackers Guadalajara is a place to lodging, built and remodeled in a big residence of Guadalajara, with columns of quarry worked, patios, pool and terrace, just in the center of the city of Guadalajara.The concept of hostel is not very know in Mexico, but in Europe and other countries of the World are places of lodging, chiefly sought by youths and students, that prefer not to pay the price of another type of hotels, and they seek to be harbored in a way that live together with other travelers and to travel through the city so they do their stopover amusing and economic, and more practical.The Hostel Tequila Guadalajara, with its new installations and recent restructuring, has managed to position as one of the best hostels and boarding houses in the city, thanks to its installations and friendly staff is recognized like one of the preferred by the customers, visited by foreigners and national.Its location, between the center of the city and the Chapultepec avenue, permits to move easily on foot or in the numerous routes of public transportation.Its installations includes two extensive shared rooms, one for men and another for women, with comfortable bunk beds, but principaly, with a notorious cleaning, besides other private rooms, all with bath, common area of entertainments, bar, pool and garden, with services of t.v. and Internet.It is worth while to recognize the creation of this business, by enterprising youths, that have an idea and they work to carry out, even in these epochs of crisis. The personal attention of their associates: Germán and Juan Carlos, besides their staff of work, they will permit to consolidate their business.For the students, chiefly young, that travel in groups, is a good option of economic lodging, with breakfast included in the price, well located, in a residential construction and with the first class services and attention. Our friendly staff will try to make you feel the best way in our hostel and will provide you with the latest news that is happening at the moment in Guadalajara and that is worth while to know. Inside the hostel you will find a great restaurant that offers traditional and international food Mexican to very good prices. Also our bar in the area of the pool or our bar on the outskirts of the Hostel in the which you can you enjoy the best Tequila of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hostel Tequila Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing