We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada San Pablo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Posada San Pablo
Ranked #76 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice enough!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2009

I stayed here my first few days in country, and the last few, which were during Santa Semana when Guadalajara has parades and festivities,

The hotel is very clean and bright, and has obviously been remodeled--the kitchen is new, with laminate countertops, a big new refri and glass-top table, gas range and oven, microwave, and pots/pans/utensils & dishes to cook for a small family. Guests are expected to please clean-up after using the kitchen, and try to provide your own dish soap, etc. Cold beverages for sale in lobby. I stayed on ground floor by the door to the guest courtyard, and it was mostly clean, quiet, and generally fine with private bath, oscilating fan, TV with remote control, telephone, dresser w/drawers. Less expensive rooms with shared bathroom are available. Sometimes travelers and students hang out in the courtyard after dark--lots of students in the TOEFL school stay here .

The lobby, has a strong wireless internet signal (bandwidth is low, but email and a little web browsing are doable), and lobby furniture is comfortable, Several guest rooms open onto lobby. Laundry service is available but they let me scrub out my own clothes in the stone laundry basin (look for it in the kitchen courtyard) since the lavandera had the holiday off. Sun dry yer clean laundry on roof clothesline. On-street parking was available when I was there, possibly because some local streets were closed and traffic went elsewhere. The sidewalk and street (and water mains and sewer) were under construction outside the hotel (and all over town) in early 2009. All told I thought this hotel was just fine, a good value, and the staff exceptionally hospitable. Speaking Spanish is the norm at the front desk.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nbedinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    7
    7
    7
See reviews for
3
12
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2009

This place was a welcome surprise for me. Location is good, about a 15 minute walk to the main cathedral - mixed use, fairly decent neighborhood. Great little bakery about 2 blocks away. The staff is very quiet (no english for the most part) but nice to deal with.
My room was on the second level, across from the roof/courtyard. Room was very big! with two double beds, color TV, nice sized bathroom, dresser, closet, etc.
To be honest, my budget is very tight on my trips. This place had a great price (350 pesos?..maybe less) and for the money this place was GREAT. I highly reccommend.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bartolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2009

The hostel seemed newly renovated, with good taste and very cozy.
Kitchen for guests with a big fridge and tools to cook your own Mexican delicacies, and friendly service. I'm glad it was in the lonely planet guide, otherwise we would have ended up almost next door, in the crappy-looking hostel the taxi driver wanted to recommend us.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAUI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2008

I stayed at the Posada San Pablo for 6 weeks! During the 6 weeks I was attending ITTO to earn my TEFL certificate and attended IMAC for some Spanish classes. The convenient part was that both ITTO and IMAC were less than 2 blocks away from the posada. However, there are a few complaints and warnings I have for others who want to stay at the Posada San Pablo.

1) When told that I would have a shared bathroom, I never thought that it would be a shared bathroom with 10 other bedrooms. The bathroom toilet leaked and had difficulty flushing. The shower was fortunately warm, but had low water pressure and squirted everywhere. There were several mornings that I walked in to the bathroom to find the floor flooded with water. Also, the hotel only provides you with 1 roll of Toilet paper. Neither toilet paper nor soap is provided in the bathroom for the guests.
2) The kitchen provided for long-term guests is barely workable. No soap, towels, nor washcloths are provided by the posada. There are very minimal utensils and cookware. Also, each night the kitchen is locked at 10pm and the small sized refrigerator is unplugged. Therefore, food becomes spoiled very easily.
3) All guests must ring a bell to be BOTH let in and out of the posada. All guests are required to return to the posada by 11pm every Sunday. Staying at the posada and having a curfew made me feel as though I was a captive to the posada.
4) The Posada San Pablo is in the center of the “red light” and “Gay” section of the city. This didn’t really bother me, but may cause discomfort to others. It was not uncommon to see prostitutes outside of the posada once the sun went down.
5) When it comes time to check out of the posada, extra charges are added to your bill. For example, I had an extra 100 pesos charge added to my bill supposedly because I put a dent in the kitchen table. I did not put the dent in the table, the table was not worth 100 pesos, and there was no merit to the charge. After a good 30 minute discussion, the manager calling me irresponsible, and me crying I ended up not paying the extra 100 pesos.
6) Be weary when you are told there is laundry service offered by the posada. You are charged 70 pesos PER load which only includes washing and hang drying the clothes. Fortunately, there is a lavanderia (Laundromat) within walking distance to the posada. At the lavaderia it only costs 22 pesos per load with includes your clothes being dried in a dryer.

My recommendation for any person traveling to Guadalajara, Mexico for the ITTO/IMAC program is that you stay at the Casa Villasanta which is located about 6 blocks from ITTO/IMAC in the opposite direction of the Posada San Pablo. For a little bit more money the Casa Villasanta offers a bathroom in EACH room, no curfew, a key to get in and out, a fully equipped kitchen, a common sitting area with a TV, a laundry facility, a flat screen TV in EACH room, and a computer for the guests to use. I would NOT recommend the Posada San Pablo.

  • Liked — The close proximity to where I needed to be each day.
  • Disliked — The kitchen, bathroom, and management staff.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank spaceyg02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guadalajara hotels

Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2007

This place was convenient to the language school I was attending; that is all I could say about it. The beds are full of FLEAS. My three colleagues and I were forced to sleep on top of the beds to cut down on the bites. The manager said they were mosquito bites, but side by side the two types of bite look very different.

The kitchen for the use of long term guests is a joke. The only equipment there is what has been left by other residents when they left. For instance, there is only one spoon.The refrigerator is tiny, and is frequently disconnected to defrost it. There is no hot water in the kitchen, no sponge, no soap, but there is great insistance on residents keeping the area clean.

The rooms themselves are not very clean because the staff just moves the dirt around with a wet mop. No effort is made to actually clean the floors.

If you like large roaches, you will love this place.

If you don't pay for a private bath, you will have to share a bath with six or seven other rooms. You can wait over an hour to urinate on a busy day. The bath does not have a single hook to hang your towel or robe on (surely not a big expense) and there are no bath mats so the floor is a swamp after a few people have taken showers.

The management is, with one exception, sour and unaccommodating.

SKIP THIS ONE

  • Liked — Leaving it
  • Disliked — Fleas in the beds. I was eaten alive.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bagz-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2007

Myself and my friend stayed at San Pablo for 6 weeks. The building is nice and so are the rooms but thats about all it has going for it.
The ladies that run the Posada are rude, unhelpfull and make you feel very unwelcome.
I know I sound like a hypocrite for saying this as I stayed for so long, but I was only staying here to be near my friend.
The most annoying thing about this place is the entry system. They dont give u a key to the front door so u have to ring everytime u leave or come. This can be very annoying and unsafe. I was followed one night by a gang and only just got inside in time after i had to wait over 2 minutes for them to let me in.
I would recommend paying a little extra and staying at the Hotel Cervantes which is around the corner and alot nicer.

  • Liked — when i left
  • Disliked — the rude staff
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kingneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2006

I would only recommand this hostel to backpackers and still, I think their should be other ho(s)tels in Guadalajara proposing a nicer ambience and service. The Lonely Planet desciption as hostel-like is to my opinion not appropiate for this place. The staff could be a little friendlier

Another rather annoying thing was that you need to ring to come in and out(!) of the building. I imagine that this is a security measure but twice we had to wait a couple of minutes before we were allowed to go out.

  • Liked — Big rooms
  • Disliked — atmosphere
  • Tips/Secrets — try another budget hotel
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Abastos
Hotel Abastos
#78 of 128 in Guadalajara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dali Plaza Hotel
Dali Plaza Hotel
#50 of 128 in Guadalajara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel la Rotonda
Hotel la Rotonda
#66 of 128 in Guadalajara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Paz
Hotel La Paz
#88 of 128 in Guadalajara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santiago De Compostela
Santiago De Compostela
#70 of 128 in Guadalajara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casino Plaza
Hotel Casino Plaza
#10 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada San Pablo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada San Pablo

Property: Posada San Pablo
Address: Calle Francisco Indelecio Madero 429 | btwn Donato Guerra and Ocampo, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada San Pablo 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada San Pablo has a new management, we invite you to come and visit us. Enjoy our excellent services, beautiful installations and great location. We are waiting for you, in Hotel Posada San Pablo you will have a vacation full of great moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Posada San Pablo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada San Pablo Guadalajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing