We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT HOTEL, WE'LL BE BACK FOR SURE!”
Review of Hotel de Mendoza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de Mendoza
Ranked #26 of 131 Hotels in Guadalajara
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We travelled to México from Canada this past September 2013 since hadn't been back in many years, along with our 3 children, this is an awesome family hotel(you also spot many singles and couples), very colonial, it leaves you with a feeling of old México, surrounded by this historical buildings. It was such a beautiful experience! We stayed at the junior suite and loved it, is huge and comfortable, desk, dinette table, couch, flat tv, wifi included, bottled water, fast laundry, very clean, helpful staff, delicious meals at the restaurant, whatever issue you come up with they resolve it very quickly and all at a very affordable price. There is no noisy street close by, so it is not like other hotels in the area that people complain of noise from clubs close by or cars, this one is quiet and calm. We took the tours that they suggested and were extremely please with them, had lots of fun. Everything is walking distance from this hotel, you don't need to rent a car nor to expend a lot in taxis, plus taxis are very cheap in México, they have a chart with fees for you to have an idea how much you are going to expend. We went originally for 4 days, we liked it so much that we extended our stay 6 more days and enjoyed every single one, we went to the Teatro Degollado just across the street to see the folklore ballet and the noche de gala, went on the double decker tour bus to Tlaquepaque, watched the voladores de Papantla and had lunch there, is very easy to find restaurants with live mariachi, don't hesitate to ask the staff, we liked the sombrillas restaurant, which is a walking distance in front of the cathedral, we order a bottle of wine for like 13 dollars, go to the santo coyote restaurant, they have a nice buffet with local folklore dancers, you can't miss the Bariachi with live music and show and excellent food, go to the chata restaurant for lunch is also whiting walking distance as well as many cafes and ice-cream shops, there are pharmacies in the area and all kinds of stores plus the San Juan de Dios market for all your souvenirs. The boys even attended a national soccer match, there are many malls in Guadalajara and many, many places to go and have fun and not breaking the bank either, you can have lots of fun with a big family like us, couples or singles(you'll sure find someone) as well. We ate a lot at the Hotel and really liked it(ambience mexican music was missing, algo de música mexicana de ambiente en el restaurant estaría super), one of our kids have a special diet free of gluten and dairy and the staff at the restaurant was very helpful and prepared his meals accordingly, they always knew to bring him lime sherbet at the end of his meal (yummy), we didn't use the pool as much but my husband use the gym everyday, our older son used the office room for some homework and don't miss taking some pictures on the roof, I wouldn't mind if they add some kind of splash pool on the roof(un chapoteadero o Jacuzzi en el techo estaria muy bien). I'm pretty sure there are more good things that I'm missing at this moment, but the bottom line is that we really enjoyed our vacations there, we recommend it to others and we'll sure go back again and again! Muchas gracias por sus servicios a todo el staff! Nos vemos el proximo año!

Room Tip: Junior suites have no balcony but are very spacious, there are other ones with balcony and are big r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SashafromtheGTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 375 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

The hotel is old and charming and well maintained. The service is excellent. The staff is friendly and helpful. The location is fabulous if you want the downtown historical district. Parking is
free........which is a great asset.We booked a "superior double room". It is rather average and plain, but immaculate. There were only queen size beds available for that room. Our package came with "breakfast". What was offered was a continental breakfast. We opted to upgrade to eggs and bacon for a small additional fee. The food is only adequate and none of the wait-staff spoke english. They were very cordial and understood our poor Spanish. We would return to the hotel again..but would eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chachaandsalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Practically next door to Teatro Degollado and Plaza Liberacion with sparkling clean rooms, with outside terrazas, great bar and restaurant, Jacuzzi, pool, fitness center, underground valet parking included and the friendliest most helpful bilingual staff I have ever encountered. And all of this for about 65 USD per night including all taxes. Can't beat the value at this wonderful, updated historic hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lakesideterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika188, Gerente at Hotel de Mendoza, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for your comments about the service of the hotel.
Your comments are important for us.
I thank your preference and I expect to see you again in your next visit to Guadalajara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I spent three nights at "Hotel de Mendoza" in early August. The hotel is in the heart of the historical district. You can walk to many historical landmarks: churches, Teatro Degollado, squares, etc. The Tapatio tour bus leaves 3 blocks from the hotel and takes you on different circuits around Guadaljara, Zapopan, Tonalá and Tlaquepaque, which I found worth taking. The area is pretty safe during the day. At night, as in any other city, you need to be more careful. As far as the hotel, it is an old hotel, decently maintained, the rooms are spacious and they have everything you need. Yes, the mattress was hard but after touring Mexico for 17 days, I realized it is the norm. My room did not have a great view, although I paid for what they call a "superior" room. I am not sure if I regret it or not, cause the pool area gets noisy with children in the afternoon. My fare included the continental breakfast, which I tried one morning. It is not bad (ask for a fruit plate instead of the juice), but for only a few more pesos, you can have a "Mexican breakfast" or a buffet breakfast on Sunday (many Mexican traditional dishes are served). To describe the hotel staff I would say: some of them are "rather friendly and smile", while others are "correct" and simply do their jobs. They work at their own pace, which sometimes we perceive as "slow" compared to American standards. I consider it "correct". Why should we eat in a rush? Overall, the experience was very good. The price is unbeatable for the location and the service they provide you. I would stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrismig23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika188, Gerente at Hotel de Mendoza, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your comments about of the Hotel, this are very important for us.
I thank your preference and I expect to see you again in your next visit ti this beautiful city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Mendoza is an older hotel with character which has been well maintained. The suites are spacious and face the street; other rooms face the courtyard or have an added sitting area. The beds are very hard, as are many in Mexico. The breakfast served in their restaurant was very good, but service can be slow. One of our group had paid for the breakfast included option, which was not worth it. It only included only fruit or juice and bread and coffee. Better to go with the a la carte. It is very convenient to walk to museums, the theater, the cathedral, the governor's palace and the mercado libertad.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeRoanoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika188, Gerente at Hotel de Mendoza, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your comments about the service of the Hotel.
Your comments are very important for us, to improve our service.
I expect to see you again in your next visit to this beautiful city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We're from nearby Ajijic and stayed here on a Saturday night so we could catch a Sunday performance of Ballet Folklorico at Teatro Degollado with my sister, who was visiting. Perfect location, with easy walk to the theater, 1/2 block away. Also a great location for strolling the historic area in general. Temple of Saint Mary of Grace church is right next door, and served as the main church for Guadalajara from 1549 to 1618 - worth a visit if it's open. We had a nice view of the Guadalajara Cathedral spires from our room window on the 3rd floor. If you go up to the roof terrace, there are nice views of other churches and historic buildings as well.

Our room was #309, which was close to the elevator, but required going down a couple of steps or narrow ramp from the elevator. The room (suite) had lots of space, with two queen beds and a sitting area with table and chairs, plus a sofa. Beds were firm and comfortable, although the sheets were a little rough. Room A/C worked well, but we would have welcomed a fan to stir the air. There was one medium-size window in the room with black-out drapes... not a lot of light, but plenty of light fixtures in the room. The closet safe wasn't functional, so if that's an issue for you, be sure to inquire when checking in or making reservations. Bathroom was small but nice, with sitting area at the end of the tub for showers, etc. Toiletries, hair dryer, iron & ironing board are provided. The toilet in our room flushed VERY slowly, but did the job even under heavy load. Lots of tile, granite and marble provided a feeling of elegance. Everything was pretty clean but worn. That's to be expected in such an old building!

Breakfast for two was included with the room, but only a continental breakfast, so we opted to pay a few pesos more for the full hot buffet breakfast, which was quite nice... recommended. 5-6 hot items, plus toast, cereal and LOTS of fruit. The orange juice was wonderful. Not sure if they have the full breakfast every morning, or just on Sunday. It was fairly busy by the time we left (around 9:15), so you might want to go early if you wish to avoid a crowd. Even though there were three of us in the room and our reservation included an extra person charge, we only received vouchers for two breakfasts, so the third was full price.

Hotel staff were all very pleasant. Many spoke English, which was helpful. Secure, inside valet parking is available just past the hotel main entry (1-way street in front). Overall, a very good visit and we'd certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, be sure to inquire since this is an old building with some "adjust...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chernabog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika188, Gerente at Hotel de Mendoza, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for your comments about the service of the Hotel.
Your comments are very important for us, to improve our service.
I thank your preference and expect to see you again in your next visit ti this beautiful city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and we had a lovely time. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and the location is excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Guadalajara.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KendleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika188, Gerente at Hotel de Mendoza, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for your comments about the service.
Your comments are very important for us.
I thank your preference and I expect to see you again in your next visit to this beautiful city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
0.2 mi away
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
#28 of 131 in Guadalajara
516 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casino Plaza
Hotel Casino Plaza
#16 of 131 in Guadalajara
259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Real Maestranza
Hotel Real Maestranza
#2 of 131 in Guadalajara
97 reviews
0.5 mi away
Perla Central Hotel
Perla Central Hotel
#45 of 131 in Guadalajara
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Mendoza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Mendoza

Address: Calle Venustiano Carranza 16 | Centro Histórico, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Guadalajara
#21 Romantic Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range: $59 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Mendoza 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel de Mendoza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Mendoza Hotel
De Mendoza Guadalajara
Hotel Mendoza Guadalajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing