We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Watch out for Exchange Rate Game” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quinta Real Guadalajara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quinta Real Guadalajara
Ranked #22 of 125 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Puerto Vallarta MX
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Watch out for Exchange Rate Game”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We reserved from USA and had a confirmed reservation including taxes and fees. Upon check out the hotel charged .30/peso above the Bank of Mexico rate as a "tarrif"; resulted in an addition of $116.00 USD to our bill. This hotel needs to inform guests in writing at time of reservation that they manipulate the exchange rate.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertodeVallarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiag0_Le0n, Director General at Quinta Real Guadalajara, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for choosing Quinta Real in your recent visit to Guadalajara. I am truly sorry that you have left our hotel with the impression that we manipulate the Exchange rate. This is the first time we have had this brought up to our attention.

Unlike the bank of Mexico and ,in order to avoid surprises for our guests, we try to not to change the exchange rate as often as they do . Many of our reservation rates are made in dollars but by law we have to charge in pesos when people check out. In order to avoid unpleasant surprises from the time the reservation is made to the time people check out we try to maintain the exchange rate as steady as we can. Sometime we could´ve been slightly higher but most of the times we are below and never over the exchange rate of the national bank across the street.

I apologize for the inconvenience and I will keep an eye on this matter. Please let me know next time your in town, we´ll fin d a way to make it up.

Kind regards,

Santiago León de la Vega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    44
    18
    11
    2
See reviews for
25
35
15
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at the Quinta Real Guadalajara and were pleasantly surprised. The hotel does a wonderful job of marrying old style with new and is a beautiful quiet escape in the midst of bustling Guadalajara. The property has gorgeous stone work with traditional design mixed with modern conveniences and the rooms were truly comfortable, large and well appointed. We particularly liked the breakfast dining area in the interior courtyard with seating outside and inside a sleek glass enclosed patio area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLehmanEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiag0_Le0n, Director General at Quinta Real Guadalajara, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Mam,

Thank you very much for your kind words. I am very glad you liked our hotel and hope to have you back soon, Thank you for sharring your experience.

Please let me know next time you visit Guadalajara.

Have a great weekend,

Santiago León de la Vega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is simply a fantastic hotel. It's clean and spacious and the amenities are perfect. I have stayed several times for 1-2 nights on my way to other places, so I can't say much about the neighborhood or the surrounding area. But I've been very impressed every time I've stayed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiag0_Le0n, Director General at Quinta Real Guadalajara, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Katie,

I was very glad to read your comment. It´s the kind of words that motivate me and the rest of the team to try hard everyday to work towards guest satisfaction.

Please let me know if you come back, we´ll make sure you have a even better experience.

Have a very nice day.

Santiago León de la Vega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

I was here for a small conference. The hotel is located on quite a busy street, but the grand old building with it's lush courtyard keeps the noise out.

The rooms are large and comfortable. The swimming pool is a little small to actually swim in. The restaurant is fine and The service is very friendly. Great for a romantic weekend or high-end seminars.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seolferwulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Classic Mexican hotel but in need of renovation. Rooms and technology are outdated. The décor is from the 90’s and needs a major upgrade. The mattress could not be more uncomfortable. Service is very slow and inconsistent. The worst part is the front desk. A sit down desk might work for a small boutique hotel for check-in/out but not for a larger hotel. The entire process takes way too long. Expect at least 20min before you checked in or out of your room.

A big plus are the large room. The layout is very unique and once the rooms are refurbished – hopefully soon – it will the #1 address again. For now, make sure you get a good discount as it is not worth paying 5 star prices.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler_de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Good:

1. Excellent staff
2, Beautiful grounds
3. Amazing breakfasts
4. Large rooms
5. Charm
6. Reasonable prices with the specials.


The issues:

1. Pool access is through the restaurant or through the room service alleyway
2. The Jacuzzi is not functioning.
3. The bed is too far from the TV to change channels.
4. The bathrooms are a bit out of date.
5. Av Mexico is far from charming nor easy to cross on foot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jomelni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
131 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

This Hotel does not have a real focus on any type of guest. It is not intended for families, couples and specially not for business travelers. The rooms are big and not functional. They want to make us feel as if we were at an old hacienda in Mexico, but this only makes the room dark, with uncomfortable furniture, very little amount of outlets and even a few steps that could make you fall if you walk at night with no lights.

The bed is not very comfortable, the desk is not ergonomically good, and the chair intended to work at the desk is very uncomfortable.

The gym has very few machines and the pool is just for fun, its like a big bath tub.

The restaurant has very few options, all of them very expensive. If possible avoid it and go eat somewhere else.

During breakfast there is no buffet and the service is very, very slow. If you need separate accounts at the restaurant expect long delays.

My room had a view to the service area, not the type of view you expect on thi category of hotel.

The shower is terrible, the courtains are made of cloth instead of plastic and you end with a pool of water in the bath room floor.

However, a good thing that happened to me was that when I complained about the size of the pool, they were kind enough to take me to the Camino Real (another hotel) to use their pool and then picked me up without any cost.

In general, I do not recommend this hotel on a price/benefit scope.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with a view away from the main garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MPM_WORLDWIDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Demetria
Hotel Demetria
#28 of 125 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Ganz
Villa Ganz
#5 of 125 in Guadalajara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Square Small Luxury Hotel
Square Small Luxury Hotel
#34 of 125 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
#6 of 125 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
1.7 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Providencia
1.8 mi away
The Westin Guadalajara
The Westin Guadalajara
#9 of 125 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Real Guadalajara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Real Guadalajara

Property: Quinta Real Guadalajara
Address: Avenida Mexico 2727, Guadalajara 44690, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Guadalajara
#22 Romantic Hotel in Guadalajara
#24 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta Real Guadalajara 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Quinta Real Guadalajara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Real Guadalajara Hotel Guadalajara
Quinta Real Hotel Guadalajara
Guadalajara Quinta Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing