We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prettiest rooms but sad level of service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quinta Real Guadalajara
Ranked #24 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City
Level Contributor
415 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 553 helpful votes
“Prettiest rooms but sad level of service”
Reviewed March 21, 2011

We had suite 102 for the weekend (3 nights) and it was very nice and spacious and pretty, just like all Quinta Real Hotels. However, alas, this chain usually disappoints on service. 2 of 3 nights we had turn down service.

Who knows what happened Saturday when we left at 9 am and returned after 8 pm.

We asked the concierge how to get tickets for the Tequila Express and she had to look up on the same web site we had used and told us exactly the wrong information on the web site (to go to the station - it fails to say 60 to 90 minutes prior to the train departure as no one sells tickets all day long. Clueless, there are not a lot of ticket needed tourist attractions in town and the concierge at 1 of the 2 best hotels in town (other is Fiesta Americana Grande) has no idea - sad. Oddly, we met people staying at the Holiday Inn Express who bought tickets from their hotel concierge.

Buffet breakfast was fine but dear Lord, we went for a light dinner on Sunday night. He messed up the wine, soft drink (regular rather than diet) and could not remember which of us ordered coffee 4 minues earier (2 other tables were occupied). Food was OK, not good.

Stay here for pretty rooms with nice art and comfortable spaces but do not expecdt all to work and do not expect good service.
S

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happy_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    49
    20
    15
    2
See reviews for
31
38
16
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

Great rooms, sparkling pool, beautiful grounds and gardens, nice restaurant. Charming staff to complete the picture.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skibummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2010

Best hotel in Guadalajara. Staff is great and the rooms are fantastic. Nice restaurant and bar inside if you don't want to leave. Walking distance of 3 other restaurants. Workout room and business center available.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank btraveler2233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
378 reviews
362 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 626 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

Our local business partners recommend this hotel as being the best in town. In addition, I saw a recommendation on Andrew Harper's. Therefore my expectations may have been a little too high. Our suite was large and fully equipped. The bathroom huge with a jacuzzi. Cleanliness in the bathroom was less than perfect however. Service and food in the restaurant were ok, but again, not as high as expected. Personally, I did not at all like the interior design which is the typical mixture of US and Spanish mediocrity, typified by dark and depressing floral designs, combined with church-baroque sculptures and paintings. Because of the adjacent parking, the various buildings with backdoors and - somehow - the room arrangements, we had the feeling this could also be a high-end motel for romantic purposes. The swimming-pool was not heated and is not really positioned for use. The fitness-center was not bad. Admittedly, the list of prominent people who stayed with us in the hotel was impressive.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrophyCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Me and my wife stayed here for our wedding night, I can say that maybe it is the most beautiful and luxurious hotel in Guadalajara, I can say that from the first person who received us in the lobby to the las waiter we talked to when having breakfast and the checking out woman, everyone was very polite and helpful.

I can recommend this hotel to everyone and one of the best in Guadalajara.

Unfortunately, we just stayed for one night...

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nunezjorge88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights in early February with my father to take in a bullfight. It was our first trip to GDL. The hotel is located in the Minerva district, not quite in the central historical district, but we caught the electric Par Vial bus a couple of blocks away and for 6 pesos per person it took us into the Centro area. The neighborhood was safe and we never felt uncommfortable.

Our rooms, at a rate of $150 USD per night, were large, with king-sized beds, desk, sofa and coffee table and faux fireplace. The rooms came equipped with complimentary robes, slippers, water bottles in the bathroom and on the nightstands, and a local newspaper, which was left on the door each morning. There was a safe and an iron board and iron, and the usual mini-bar with typical prices. The bathroom came equipped with a hair dryer and Hermes shampoo and conditioners, as well as extra sundries in case you forgot your own. My room overlooked the lovely courtyard and had a sliding glass door that opened to a small balcony. My father's room overlooked the parking lot and only had a window; other than that the rooms were the same. A pervious reviewer mentioned that the room was cold; I, too, was very cold one night and could not figure out a way to raise the room temperature and there was no extra blanket in the closet. I probably could have called housekeeping and had an extra blanket delivered, but I settled for doubling up my bedspread.

While we grabbed quick and cheap breakfasts at a Burger King a few blocks away , we had two dinners and drinks every night in the Rincon Bar, where the food and service were excellent. With the exception of some young bell boys and maids, the staff spoke English and were extremely polite and helpful. The only minor inconveniece we encoutered was when we were directed by the concierge to a Ticketmaster location at a department store in a large, modern shopping center. As it turned out, the Ticketmaster had moved to a Sears in another mall and we wound up taking a taxi straight out to the bull ring to pick up our tickets instead.

There were other amenities, including a small pool, which we didn't use and a business center equipped with numerous high-speed internet kiosks that were easy to use, at least for the little bit of web surfing I did. Both my father and I loved our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoundtripLAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
241 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2010

We just spent nine nights in Guadalajara and found the Quinta Real to be one of the finest properties we've been to.
It's hard to believe that such an up to date hotel is actually 25 years old. It's designed in a repro Hacienda style with low rise buildings and beautifully maintained gardens. From the minute we arrived, the staff were polite and professional. We had been up-graded to a Grand suite room which was very large with a comfortable sitting area. It had a flat screen TV and a large, marble bathroom with two vanities and a big jacuzzi.
Twice daily maid service kept the room immaculately clean. And I'm a sucker for the Lindt truffles they put on the pillows.
We booked a rate which included daily breakfast. We had discovered the BandB rate ($169.00 - $10.00 pp more than room only) on Preferred Hotels website and the hotel matched it. It was a great deal particularly since weekend bkfst was a grand buffet.
We had two dinners at the hotel and the food was excellent with a high standard of attentive service.
The hotel does a pretty good job of up-dating. They recently put in a large business centre with several complimentary computers. Their new fitness centre is very well equipped.
There is free WiFi in the public areas. They are in the process of extending it to all rooms and during the set-up period, it's free! I spoke to the extremely pleasant Front Office Manager and suggested that they provide complimentary Wifi on a permanent basis.
Our only disappointment was with the very pleasant, but young and seemingly inexperienced concierge. We had a problem attempting to rent a car. I asked for her help but she was unable exercise much influence over the company ( National ) in question. I attributed this in part to the fact that, I believe, there is very little leisure tourism in Guadalajara, and consequently very infrequent car rental. The hotel did offer me an apparently dependable car to rent with a local company but at a rate about three times the rate available through international companies. Also, the jacuzzi in the room was slightly dated - the jets were fixed from age and the air vents had been sealed. The fibreglass had lost some lustre and the non-slip pads slightly soiled.
I think largely as a result of the paucity of foreign tourists, the people of Guadalajara ( hoteliers, taxi drivers, waiters, etc.) were absolutely delightful. At no time did we feel taken advantage of or personally insecure.
While the hotel is a fair distance ( ten minutes by cab ) from the historic centre - an extremely interesting area - it is located in the heart of the Zona Minerva which is the business/trendy part of town. There was a good selection of excellent restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boundary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
1.8 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Guadalajara Country Club
0.9 mi away
Hotel Demetria
Hotel Demetria
#28 of 128 in Guadalajara
171 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Ganz
Villa Ganz
#5 of 128 in Guadalajara
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Square Small Luxury Hotel
Square Small Luxury Hotel
#33 of 128 in Guadalajara
115 reviews
1.7 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Providencia
1.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
#7 of 128 in Guadalajara
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Real Guadalajara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Real Guadalajara

Property: Quinta Real Guadalajara
Address: Avenida Mexico 2727, Guadalajara 44690, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Guadalajara
#22 Romantic Hotel in Guadalajara
#24 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta Real Guadalajara 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Quinta Real Guadalajara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Real Guadalajara Hotel Guadalajara
Quinta Real Hotel Guadalajara
Guadalajara Quinta Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing