We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Puerta Del Sol
Ranked #26 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

I found this hotel on despegar.com and I got a good deal on the rate which it was worth it. Inexpensive but great service and staff very friendly. Room service and the restaurant have an efficient service and very cheap menu. You can have a breakfast buffet for 90 pesos only.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank ofloda25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    33
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
38
26
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The hotel personel were always smilling and helpful. The rooms are large but nothing fancy. The downpart of this is the hotel is very far from the town center. The restaurant for breakfast was fine and for the Price very large varity. I would look for a hotel in the lokal area of town such as Tlaquepaque.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crawley down
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I have stayed here a number of times now, i first met my wife while staying here, so i go back again and again. But that isnt the only reason i stay here, if you use agoda or other websites, you pay usualy a very good rate, some of the rooms are a very good size, the ones with the 2 double beds especialy. the rooms are clean, pretty quite, the hotel is in easy reach of the city centre and the staff are very friendly. The breakfast isnt amazing, but perfectly adequate with a nice small choice of mexican food, cereals, yogurts and juices. I highly recomend it.

Room Tip: use agoda or booking.com first to save some money, you can use agoda or other websites an hour befor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnboycrawleydown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Pleasantly surprised! Big rooms, plenty of closet and drawers space, free wi-fi, clean, acceptable buffet or a la carte breakfast. The can serve you on the tables by the pool, very nice.
Nice small business center and gym with ungreased noisy treadmill... Although it is located in a very noisy avenue, we had good nights. The staff is great. It is far from downtown guadalajara, (20 minutes taxi drive). but we were all over the city, (only 1 day downtown), so we so we didn't mind very much about the location. Visited Tequila, Tlaquepaque, Chapala,, great trip!

Room Tip: We had a 1st floor room, and you can listen to all the people passing by. Ask for another floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandrovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Puerta del sol is a nice hotel, with friendly staff and nice, clean rooms. However, it is somewhat far to the center but this was not a problem for us as we had our own transportation.

The business centre, buffet breakfast and laundry service were appreciated too.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor tend to be affected by noises in the early morning (from people rolling th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilieOZ-07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I went to Guadalajara, and I stayed in hotel Puerta del Sol with my family for five days. First the hotel has WIFi, but it does not work every day. You have to call to front desk and report that WiFi is down. Then they reset the router, and it works again. About the nights, beside the hotel there is a soccer camp, and they usually play until 10 or 11pm, so you can not sleep as well as you want. When I got to the hotel I payed for five nights, and they made the charge to my CC. Finally I stayed for four night, and I asked for that money. They told me !Sorry we can not make a credit to your card or refund that money!, they pushed me to make some consumptions in their restaurant and laundry. My advise to you is that pay at the end of your stay.
Finally, I asked for manager to talk about my case, but they didn't do anything about it.

It is an option for the plaza del sol and expo area, but not the best.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the second floor, there is less noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Turista12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHOENIX, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

I stayed at this hotel one night and really enjoyed it. I got the smallest room. Small but it even has an sony lcd tv, your own safe and basically everything you need. Good and comfortable. I had dinner in their restaurant and the people were extremely polite and the food was excellent. Close to plaza del sol shopping center. You also get free wifi and they have a business center with computers on the second floor.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAMON M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.3 mi away
Aurea Hotel and Suites
Aurea Hotel and Suites
#15 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Casino Plaza
Hotel Casino Plaza
#11 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
#55 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Suites del Real
Suites del Real
#77 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
4.4 mi away
Perla Central Hotel
Perla Central Hotel
#45 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
2.1 mi away
Malibu Hotel
Malibu Hotel
#37 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puerta Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerta Del Sol

Property: Hotel Puerta Del Sol
Address: Avenida Lopez Mateos Sur 4205, Guadalajara 44550, Mexico (Formerly Posada Del Sol)
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Puerta Del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Puerta Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing