We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Guadalajara Expo
Ranked #60 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazingly disappointing”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We checked in for one night and the service was terrible, no one assisted with luggage, it was difficult to find a valet parking attendant, there were no signs to get to the rooms, room had huge stains on the carpet, toilet was not clean, my girlfriend went to the Bar to order some food and she was not helped, we dialed room service and nobody answered, I was told I was going to get a call back from room Service and it never happened, complained to the night manager and in the morning, the Front office Manager was not aware of the incidents.

I had the opportunity to talk to the Rooms Division Manager in the morning ad he said, I am sorry!! sometimes this is just not enough!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronferso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Guadalajara Expo, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Dear Ronferso,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    77
    52
    22
    22
See reviews for
63
23
11
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Very nice hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Around this hotel are a lot of other business hotels. The breakfast is excellent (European and Mexican style). The air condition in the hotel room does not work so well (loudness). To Guadalajara downtown you need by car app. 10-15min. From the Guadalajara airport to the hotel it takes app. 50min. Cost for a taxi app. 290 Peso.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluespacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Clean comfortable beds with white duvets are important to me and this hotel has that. The service is fantastic and the food in their restaurant is amazingly wonderful. The chef takes a bit more time to to make your plate eye appealing. Prices are reasonable. The morning buffet was included. It was missing bacon or sausage , I asked and they brought it to my table.
My only negative would be " it needs updating." my room needed a side chair where just a lamp was. Theyhave 2 great ways to get into the hotel , if you are driving. This is important as there are many one way streets.
,

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oly99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

I travel to Guadalajara about six times a year and always stay at the Crowne Plaza as it is very convenient to where I do business. The grounds are beautiful, the restaurant offers a great breakfast, and good food for dinner if you just don’t want to go out. I have been staying here over the last 8 years and my hobby now is to see what is not exactly working in my room; nothing that would make me choose another hotel, but amusing. Hotel needs some minor maintenance to make it top notch. Check-in is always efficient, but sometimes check-out is disorganized and can take some time. I typically stay in the executive section where the rooms are more spacious and there is a lounge for a cup of coffee in the morning or a glass of wine at night. Not as nice as other Crowne Plazas I have stayed in around the world, but I am not looking for a new hotel in Guadalajara.

Room Tip: Choose the executive section - typically the price is not that much higher than the standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

I'm a member of the priority Club. Which at every Hotel I have stayed so far they have Continental Breakfast, Last year I stayed at this Hotel and had Continental breakfast. This year I ask for time that Continental Breakfast is available I was told that only Platinum members have this perk available to them. I have to check with Club Membership. Otherwise its a good Hotel.

Plenty of little cafe's all over the city to enjoy!!!

Room Tip: Tower only
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarlinPoolco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

This hotel is a nice, American style hotel typical of the Holiday Inn chain. In other words, it's not as nice as the upscale Hyatts or another four star hotel but it is very comfortable. I travel a lot and usually stay in historic inns, B&Bs, or four or five star hotels. My room in the tower (8th floor) was a step below my usual but it was clean, spacious, and tastefully decorated. The sliding glass door opens, which was nice because I had a fresh breeze day and night. The beds are a bit hard but I was very comfortable. The hotel employees, especially the restaurant servers, are extremely nice.

The first night, the hotel put me in a room on the ground floor (floor 2) at the end of the hotel (not in the tower). My room had not been renovated, was dirty (black marks on the wall, linens, etc), and stunk like stale cigarette smoke. I was so tired from flying that I did not ask to be moved right away. The next morning, I felt horrible.

So, while the hotel is nice in most respects, you must make certain that you get a room in the tower.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room on an upper floor to ensure that you are in the tower. The rooms at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francesraskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Stayed at the Crowne for business for eight days and found it overall it was mediocre. Rooms have been partially renovated - bathrooms and furniture have been refreshed. Usual issues with toilets not flushing well, t.v. stopped working etc. While it took a few tries to get staff to resolve, generally staff was very helpful and gracious. Maid service was wonderful, two free bottles of water every day and always had enough towels. Breakfast buffet was okay, omelet bar and fresh fruit, yogurt every morning along with alot of local foods.

Room Tip: Stay away from the parrot cage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMinTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Guadalajara Select
Holiday Inn Guadalajara Select
#48 of 128 in Guadalajara
215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Guadalajara Expo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara
0.8 mi away
Fiesta Inn Guadalajara Expo
Fiesta Inn Guadalajara Expo
#16 of 128 in Guadalajara
446 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Guadalajara
Hilton Guadalajara
#18 of 128 in Guadalajara
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Guadalajara Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Guadalajara Expo

Property: Holiday Inn Guadalajara Expo
Address: Avenida Lopez Mateos Sur 2500, Guadalajara 45050, Mexico (Formerly Crowne Plaza Guadalajara)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Guadalajara Expo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Guadalajara Expo provides easy access to major corporate and industrial parks and is only 5 minutes from Expo Guadalajara and WTC. We are close to the world's best performances presented at the Auditorio Telmex, VFG Arena, Theater Diana and Galerias. You can go shopping to the most beautiful malls in Guadalajara, or visit our representative municipalities Tlaquepaque, Tonala and Tequila. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Guadalajara Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Guadalajara Hotel Guadalajara
Guadalajara Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing