We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful gardens and excellent service!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camino Real Guadalajara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Camino Real Guadalajara
Ranked #53 of 125 Hotels in Guadalajara
Tuxtla Gutierrez, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens and excellent service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

I booked an executive room, it was very good, it has jacuzzi and a very nice garden view.
Breakfast is great. Is buffet and they have a lot of different kind of juices. Service is also great.
But the gardens are the best, I think that there is no other place in town with those gardens.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Artu1580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    74
    50
    33
    20
See reviews for
44
31
14
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2009

This is only my second review on TripAdvisor but I really feel I have to write about my stay here. This is supposedly a four-star hotel, a part of the Camino Real chain, so I was excepting something nice. However, the hotel was very disappointing and the nice features – the landscaping, the breakfast, the wait staff – didn’t really make up for the not so nice ones.

Here are just a few of the things I found annoying: When I checked in, nobody asked if I wanted to leave a credit card to charge expenses. When I got to my room, there were no water bottles in the spot where they were supposed to be, and because I didn’t have an open card it took 30 minutes to get a bottle of water! Room service sent the water, went to get change, couldn’t get change, took my card, went all the way back to charge it, and came all the way back. (And my room is in the very back of the hotel so the poor guy had to walk a lot!)

The internet kept signing me out and I had to request new passwords several time. Some meeting rooms had no signal.

Remote control doesn’t work, and the TV lived a life of its own: it would randomly switch back to the “menu” channel, and several channels would stop working from time to time.

The carpet and bedspreads are filthy! I think the cleaning crew is doing a good job but these rooms are old! The chairs are worn and the sheets are like paper. The bathroom was fine but not as nice as other Camino Real hotels I have stayed at.

Breakfast was good – but the other meals were not. Dry meat, undercooked vegetables, soggy French fries.

I asked if there was an express check out option (since I am leaving at 5am) but was told that of course not, I would have to check out in the morning. Most business hotels these days seem to have some kind of express check out where you can check out the night before but no!

I am currently trying to sleep since I have to get up so early, but there is a party in the room next door and I can hear every word.

In conclusion, this is not a business hotel, it does not provide the services a business traveler wants, and I do not recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiocciola1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guadalajara hotels

Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
102 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

My brother in law and sister in law (from Mexico City) made a reservation at the Camino Real as it USED TO BE NICE...the next day they MOVED OUT - said it was funky and old and poor service. Too bad cause it used to be nice! There is a COOKING OIL factory across the street that makes it smell quite a bit...nope, it needs an OVERHAUL big time!

Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MercyinMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Iowa
Level Contributor
110 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2008

My business associate booked this hotel for me when I was in Guadalajara. It is a very large hotel (out, not up) and it can be a bit confusing finding your room. I was here for a couple of days and the food was absolutely fabulous! The first night I checked in I had signfiicant problems. The wireless internet wouldn't work, a light was out, and the phone didn't work. I made multiple calls and trips to the front desk and finally had to ask for a manager. Once I explained to the manager what was going on he had three people in my room fixing everything immediately. I travel often enough to know problems happen. This hotel did everything correct to address the issue promptly and I would stay here again.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — confusing layout
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FrqTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2008

The grounds were beautiful, and the room was spacious (if a bit outdated), but several maintenance issues marred the experience. First, the air conditioner in the ceiling leaked, causing water to drip on to the floor like an open faucet. It took several calls to get someone to look at it. The repair was unsuccessful, and several addiional calls were apparently ignored. I demanded a different room the next day, and in that one, the toilet did not flush. The staff could definitely be more proactive. This is a good hotel for conventions, but I am not sure I would rcommend it to anyone else.

  • Liked — surrounding grounds
  • Disliked — poor maintenance upkeep, outdated decor, location far from the city center
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mjc794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaminoRealGdl, Sales Director at Camino Real Guadalajara, responded to this review, December 5, 2008
We apologize for all the misshapenness occurred on your trip. I assure you that we are going to follow up the complains aforementioned in order to correct them.
We would appreciate to have you again.

Sincerely

Nelly Gutierrez
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario, canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2008

The staff is outright hostile. The rooms are dirty, or unfinished. The carpet in your room is sticky. The staff (fron desk and management) will do all it can to squeeze every dime out of you. For instance, in your room you'll find bottled water and liquor clearly marked as costing more. But your little coffee pot with complimentary coffee sits there innocently - until WAIT! You drink it and you're billed for that crummy coffee you didn't even want. Unheard of yet when a refund is requested (several guests also asked) the frontdesk staff is alternately rude or suddenly unable to understand you. It's a small rip-off that nevertheless reflects the whole tone of the place. AVOID AVOID AVOID,

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank aswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaminoRealGdl, Sales Director at Camino Real Guadalajara, responded to this review, October 1, 2008
We sincerely appreciate every review, since these feedbacks give to us the opportunity to improve our services and to offer to our guests an enjoyable stay. Referring to the review, it pleases me to inform that we are working on and evaluating very closely the behavior of the staff toward our guests, and all the complains aforementioned are in a correction process.
We hope you could take the Hotel Camino Real Guadalajara on mind in your next visit.

Sincerely
Nelly Gutierrez
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2007

Spent four nights at this hotel due to its close proximity to the company I was visiting. As other reviews state, this hotel location is not for tourists as it is far away from the historic center. Nonetheless, check in was quick and I have to agree with another review that states that the rooms look like 70's mexican decor. The A/C did not cool enough for my taste and the toilet seat was loose. The food and hotel service was excellent. I have to say that they do know how to cook here. Breakfast was also excellent and much better than some US hotels I have stayed at. In all, good business hotel with a few issues. I would try a couple of more hotels before I come back.

  • Liked — Food was great
  • Disliked — A/C did not cool enough
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dansladen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaminoRealGdl, Sales Director at Camino Real Guadalajara, responded to this review, October 1, 2008
I’m proud to inform, the Hotel Camino Real Guadalajara is being subject to a remodel in which our first priority is the rooms and all their equipment.
We would be glad to see you again at the hotel.

Sincerely
Nelly Gutierrez
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.3 mi away
Malibu Hotel
Malibu Hotel
#31 of 125 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Autonoma
1.6 mi away
Quinta Real Guadalajara
Quinta Real Guadalajara
#22 of 125 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara
1.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Guadalajara
Fiesta Americana Guadalajara
#11 of 125 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
#6 of 125 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Guadalajara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Guadalajara

Property: Camino Real Guadalajara
Address: Avenida Vallarta No. 5005, Guadalajara 45020, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Camino Real Guadalajara 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Real Guadalajara is located on the west side, in front of the Chamber of Commerce and a few steps from La Gran Plaza Fashion Mall, one of the largest malls in the city. 12 Miles from the International Airport Miguel Hidalgo, 4 miles from city center and 2.5 Miles from the exposition center Expo Guadalajara, it is located between two of Guadalajara's most important avenues: Av. Vallarta and Av. Lazaro Cardenas. Account with 205 rooms. Restaurants & Bars: Maria Bonita exquisite mexican dishes and wide selection of the best Tequilas in the region (it's open between 7:00 am until 01:00 am) La Huerta for breakfast, lunch and dinner surrounded by beautiful gardens (it's open between 07:00 am until 11:00 pm), Lobby Bar for drinks and snacks (it's open between 12:00 pm until 01:00 am ) Meeting rooms: We offer variety of meeting rooms wuth capacities from 20 up to 700 people , high technology in audio and video . Services: Non smoking rooms , Rooms for people with disabilities , Barber shop, Tobacco shop, Laundry, valet service, shoe shine stand , self-parking, valet parking, meeting rooms, Catering service, High speed wireless internet acces, Business Center, Concierge Service, Cribs, Babysitting services,4 pools (it's open between 08:00am until 20:00 hours ), Lighted tennis court, playground area , Mini golf course, Gym (it's open 24 hours.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Camino Real Guadalajara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Guadalajara Hotel Guadalajara
Camino Real Hotel Guadalajara
Guadalajara Camino Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing