We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The decor has to go!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Real Guadalajara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Camino Real Guadalajara
Ranked #56 of 122 Hotels in Guadalajara
Level Contributor
58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The decor has to go!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The overall service was ok and considering the age of the facility no maintenance issues. Hopefully you are not heavy luggage as there are no elevators.

Now, the ever present fucshia colored walls and attire of the staff have to go. It is in sync with nothing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chillinathtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    69
    46
    32
    19
See reviews for
39
29
13
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

En general todo muy bien. La habitacion que nos dieron era inmejorable, justo frente a la alberca y muy adhoc para el romance. CONTRAS: Como todo hotel de este tipo, te cobran hasta la respiracion. Es increible que no incluya la conexion a internet y el estacionamiento.

Everything was ok. The room we get was awesome, just near the swimming pool, adhoc for our romantic weekend. CONS: This hotel, as the same as others of this price, charge for everything, even the internet and the parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Very nice hote,l nice open area, rooms are very large, I liked the terrace just outside sliding door, good buffet variety, I felt very safe @ this hotel. Affordable prices the Hotel is well maintained, rooms and common areas very clean.

Room Tip: one story buildings a more quieter, noisy by stairs people going up & down stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergio201271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The hotel used to be a symbol of Mexican hospitality (all of them, not just Guadalajara). Today it's pretty run down and somewhat standard. Communication between front desk and the janitorial system is, to say the least, peculiar. Every day the cleaning lady knocked at the door at 7:30 to check if there was anyone there!
The rooms need maintenance. The personell was helpful, attentive and ready to fix things (like the phone that didn't work, took 3 hours but was the provider's fault). US$7 (or 14?) for internet at these hotels is pretty unheard off. Anyway, I guess the price was right but it was negotiated through the Feria del Libro de Guadalajara, a world event.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aventurero2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tlaquepaque, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

It was once a great hotel! I know that its gone through financial downs and this might be the reason it is lackluster now.

My room, towards the back of the property welcomed me with a dirty sock odor that took quite a while to get rid of (or get used to?) and a pile of dirty linens that sat at my doorfront for several hours. The ugly stain on the carpet stared at me during my whole stay. Overly firm mattresses.

We ordered room service and thought it pricey for Mexico ($15 USD for a very regular hamburger). The breakfast buffet is set out in a nice garden area and the service was adequate. Food choices were ample but common.

We had to call four times and wait two hours for pool towels! When we got to the heated pool you could tell that it was in need of maintenance as MANY tiles were missing. The gardens surrounding the rooms and pools are old and very nice.

All in all, I'd probably pick another hotel to stay next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Artster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
470 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Most of the rooms here are very quiet and restful, although those that are close to either Av. Vallarta or Av. Lazaro Cardenas can be noisy. So get one that looks out over the central lawn area. The hotel is aging but is well maintained, but if you are looking for the latest and greatest in modern amenities, then this is not your place. The rooms are clean but not all that modern. The best thing here is the presence of several large grass lawns which provide some open space and a sense of place in what is rapidly becoming an urbanized, high-rise city. When this hotel first opened, it was on the outskirts so there was a lot of cheap land available to build a sprawling hotel (it can be a long walk to your room). This is a great place to sit outside on the terrace and enjoy a leisurely buffet breakfast. Parking is across the street in a gated and guarded surface parking lot, so it is a little bit of a walk to the lobby. The hotel takes up an entire block. The surrounding streets are very important and can provide access easily to just about every part of the market.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms that are on the perimeter and face towards the perimeter wall, they are noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank og84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed four nights and had no problems with our room. Breakfast and meals, beverages were excellent. Staff at Maria Bonita restaurant-bar were excellent! (Carlos).
Rooms were clean and beds were in good shape, a/c worked fine. Hotel facilities provided what we need (for a group of 12) and, everyone was helpful to solve any inconveniences when they showed up. The patio and the pool and garden areas were great to spend a good time in company of the family or friends.

Room Tip: Lower floors had balcony facing garden. Ask for rooms near the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana C E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
1.6 mi away
Quinta Real Guadalajara
Quinta Real Guadalajara
#24 of 122 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malibu Hotel
Malibu Hotel
#32 of 122 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Guadalajara
Fiesta Americana Guadalajara
#10 of 122 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 stars 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Autonoma
1.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
#4 of 122 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Guadalajara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Guadalajara

Property: Camino Real Guadalajara
Address: Avenida Vallarta No. 5005, Guadalajara 45020, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Camino Real Guadalajara 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Real Guadalajara is located on the west side, in front of the Chamber of Commerce and a few steps from La Gran Plaza Fashion Mall, one of the largest malls in the city. 12 Miles from the International Airport Miguel Hidalgo, 4 miles from city center and 2.5 Miles from the exposition center Expo Guadalajara, it is located between two of Guadalajara's most important avenues: Av. Vallarta and Av. Lazaro Cardenas. Account with 205 rooms. Restaurants & Bars: Maria Bonita exquisite mexican dishes and wide selection of the best Tequilas in the region (it's open between 7:00 am until 01:00 am) La Huerta for breakfast, lunch and dinner surrounded by beautiful gardens (it's open between 07:00 am until 11:00 pm), Lobby Bar for drinks and snacks (it's open between 12:00 pm until 01:00 am ) Meeting rooms: We offer variety of meeting rooms wuth capacities from 20 up to 700 people , high technology in audio and video . Services: Non smoking rooms , Rooms for people with disabilities , Barber shop, Tobacco shop, Laundry, valet service, shoe shine stand , self-parking, valet parking, meeting rooms, Catering service, High speed wireless internet acces, Business Center, Concierge Service, Cribs, Babysitting services,4 pools (it's open between 08:00am until 20:00 hours ), Lighted tennis court, playground area , Mini golf course, Gym (it's open 24 hours.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Camino Real Guadalajara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Guadalajara Hotel Guadalajara
Camino Real Hotel Guadalajara
Guadalajara Camino Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing