We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Photos are not the real thing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Universo S.A.

Universo S.A.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Universo S.A.
Ranked #107 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Photos are not the real thing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

This hotel is in the centre of downtown close to many tourist sites. The hotel is inexpensive and the staff were OK but not fantastic. Although we had made our reservation through a travel agent the hotel had no record of it, even after I produced a receipt of payment. It required a call to the travel agent who rectified the situation with the hotel. The room was adequate and clean but all floors are ceramic so you can hear any one above you walking around unless in bare feet or soft soled shoes. The bathroom had a terrible musty smell to it . The linens were clean and adequate as was the bed. TV was adequate. Restaurant breakfast was good and inexpensive but most staff only speak Spanish - not a complaint but just an awareness . Not sure if I would say here again - perhaps if the bathrooms were upgraded and not just painted.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are beside the elevator where everyone congretaes waiting for the elevator - can be noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
18
3
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Paz, Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

just 3 months ago, I pass my vacations with my all family in the wonderfull city of Guadalajara. but my bigest rung was make my staying was in this hotel. if you see maybe some pictures on the web from this hotel in guadalajara you maybe ready make a reservation. but I need to tell you some things about this palce.
first the bathroom was very dirty, in the bathroom the paint was falling off the wall. we never see a good service from the people working. the recepcionist dont have any idea about good service. the beds are very small and we had all days a terrible tv signal . and i never keep may eyes closed for sleep because all night we hear noice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robertolapaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guadalajara hotels

Buckley, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2010

They have removed some of the old stained carpet and replaced it with nice marble, still an older hotel but our group of 8 enjoyed it. As team leader i had room 132 a corner suite for 49 dollars and we centered our activities there. Very large room could hold 16 people. Clean Beds are not great. TVs are of 70s vintage; This is the place i always book my groups.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pvdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PALM DESERT, CA
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2008

This hotel is inexpensive but is very much in need of cosmetic overhaul. For less than $50 I had everything that I needed to spend the night but everything was very warn and tired. May not be sutiable for romantic getaway but ok for men, travelers. and non fussy folks. Modern highrise, somewhat noisey, and very Mexican. On site travel agent selling bus and plane tickets.Steps to fantastic CHATA Resturaunt and colonial center and sites. Very safe feeling untill 10pm or so when streets become very quiet.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank DISCERNING_52MAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodez, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2007

I stayed on the hostel only one night, but it was confortable and well placed direct in the downtown. Don't come here if you're looking for some traditional insight: this is a modern hostel in an awful building. But inside everything's ok. The staff could just be more friendly.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ephack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juarez
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2007

Long story short: left my laptop inside briefcase at front desk, empty briefcase given back to me. Staff was rude and unhelpful. Be safe and wise, stay away from this rathole!!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — They stole my Laptop!!!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank el_drama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2004

We stayed at this hotel for a few days during Thanksgiving week. Some rooms were small and a little worn. We looked at a few. The best were the balcony rooms. ..especially room 132. They are a bit more spacious and seem to be partially renovated..althought there were some strange things done with the carpet corners and a strange mildew smell underneath and some wires popping out of the wall. ..so they're not luxurious. The bathrooms were modern with lots of blasting hot water.
We paid 480 pesos for 2 people and enjoyed having the extra space. The only bad thing was the smoke leaking in from some room. When we got back, all of our luggage contents smelled awful. It was convenient being 3 blocks away from the theater.

Helpful?
3 Thank TravelinCalifornian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Frances
Hotel Frances
#65 of 128 in Guadalajara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colon Express
Hotel Colon Express
#117 of 128 in Guadalajara
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Francisco Plaza
Hotel San Francisco Plaza
#98 of 128 in Guadalajara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dali Plaza Hotel
Dali Plaza Hotel
#48 of 128 in Guadalajara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
#52 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fenix Hotel
Fenix Hotel
#95 of 128 in Guadalajara
3.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Universo S.A.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universo S.A.

Property: Universo S.A.
Address: Calle Lopez Cotilla 161, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Universo S.A. 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Universo S.A. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universo s a Guadalajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing