We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A gem of a location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Real Inn Guadalajara Centro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Real Inn Guadalajara Centro
Ranked #73 of 122 Hotels in Guadalajara
Poway, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A gem of a location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

Stayed here for the last week of the year. Location can't be beat for tourism- you don't stay in the touristy section which is some 15-20 minutes away and are within walking distance of all the historic sites. Taxi cab rides all end up being low priced because of the centralized location. There are several good places to eat and strolle within two blocks of the building. We had a 6th floor suite and found the place clean, the a/c working perfectly (almost too good!), the restaurant was delicious (enjoy the breakfast!). The staff working there are all top notch - I was quite impressed. Great linens, beds are a bit firm for western tastes - but this isn't a 5 star hotel, so who can complain? If you want a great value and exceptional service (without paying 5 star prices) - I have to say this is the perfect getaway.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meerkat92101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    43
    38
    13
    10
See reviews for
30
15
9
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glendale ca.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

I stayed at the best western twice. The resaon people complain about it because they are spoiled. The service was excellent. The staff was always polite.Once though early in the morning the water was cold for some reason,they appologized and the problem was corrected.I lived in guadalajara for six month's. I am a american citizen no hispanic blood and i would choose to retire their over 90 percent of the world. This is a growing country give it time it will surpas alot of others. Many students take pride in their education as well as dress atire.Those who say that they had a bad experience on this sight are just that. BAD EXPERIENCE> Not to themselves to others.They would find something wrong in all parts of the world.Please remember we have streets in los angeles and others parts of the U.S that are far worse.Look at the mess after Katrina,years later and still sits as the day it happened.So in closing enjoy what good you see and that should surpase the bad.Their are alot of things to see and do their and you could never get tired.I worked and toured 6 months and never got enough there is alot to see./Paul

  • Liked — LOCATION
  • Stayed May 2003, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pkuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City San Fernando, State California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

Ladies at service counter were not polite. We felt like they were doing us a favor. We made our reservations at best western site and when we got to hotel they had no record of it. Even when we showed the reservation email the manager said we don;t have that service. I showed the best western site to the manager and he said he would look into it. Rooms are dated but clean, carpet is old and bathroom is dated but clean. You would think that becuase it is a best western we should expect more from their hotel. Bell boy was helpful. Hotel is wrieless and free. Close to everything Centro Historic. Probably would not stay here again due to how we were treated by service counter.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service counter people
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MexVacationing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guadalajara hotels

SoCal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2006

I thought the fact this was a Best Western guaranteed a certain level of quality. But not in this case. The lobby gives you the impression that everything will be in good shape. But when you get in the room you realize these people have not remodeled in decades. And Im not just talking about furniture! The bathroom felt like stepping into the 60's.

But that isn't even the worst part. The place was not even clean! The carpet was SO DIRTY that my white socks turned grey instantly from walking across it. That was pretty gross to witness. It makes one wonder how long they leave these rooms dirty! Evidently years!

And it keeps getting worse! The hotel is right on a busy avenue, with traffic at all hours. That would not be a problem in a modern hotel. The windows are very thin and even when closed it sounds as if they are open.

And lastly but even worse, the windows in the bathroom run along the ceiling. They are made like the old windows in elementary school where they push open. But their windows would NOT CLOSE!!! Meaning even at night we had to sleep with the direct noise from the street. And we were on one of the top floors and it was still terribly noisy.

In the morning we frantically called other hotels looking for a room.. We found a nicer place that cost less. The only drawback was it being an extra 10 blocks from the center. Since we took taxis everywhere, it didnt matter.

Unless you like roughing it for top dollar, I would avoid this hotel! I don't know what Best Western was thinking, but they ruined out impression of the quality of their hotels! Good Luck All!

  • Liked — Quick Check-In
  • Disliked — Noisy, Dirty, Old Furnishings, Slow Room Service
  • Tips/Secrets — Choose another hotel!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Viajero77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2005

Really bad experience!
Very expensive rate for the bad service!
I called a Toll free number and they charged me 1.60 USD per minute, "connection rate". They didn't mentioned this rate at any time. Who charges to call a toll free number???
The phone lines were blocked for internet use, so it's impossible to work here (No internet whatsoever provided by the hotel)
It's very unsafe area to be around at night.
The people at reception treat the guests rudely.
The rooms seem furnished since a decade ago.
Avoid if you want to enjoy real Mexican hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank touristen60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2005

This hotel not was not only located just a few blocks from the center of Guadalajara but the service was excellent. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. The facility and rooms were clean and up to date. A great hotel for a great price.

Helpful?
5 Thank jessc2078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2004

Very nice, modern, well equipped hotel. We booked a double room on Travelocity for about $80. They could not find the reservation, so be sure to take your confirmation. Location is very good, just a short walk from the main plazas. The hotel sits on Juarez Street so there is some traffic noise. Don't forget to pack some earplugs.

We were very impressed with Guadalajara.

Helpful?
6 Thank arbyintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.2 mi away
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
#25 of 122 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 stars 372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Centro Historico
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fenix Hotel
Fenix Hotel
#95 of 122 in Guadalajara
3.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gran Hotel Centro Historico
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roma, Suites & Business Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Inn Guadalajara Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Inn Guadalajara Centro

Property: Real Inn Guadalajara Centro
Address: Avenida Juarez 123, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico (Formerly Best Western Plaza Genova)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 122 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Real Inn Guadalajara Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the heart of Guadalajara, this product is designed for the business traveler who looks for a property which provides comfort and added values ​such as the breakfast from 6:00 AM until 9:00 AM at complementary basis as well as the internet access. The traditional Mercado San Juan de Dios and the Jewelry Center are 5 minutes away and only 15 minutes from the Expo Guadalajara grounds. The hotel is surrounded by many cultural attractions such as the Teatro Degollado building, Wax Museum, Cabanas Cultural Institute and the Metropolitan Cathedral of Guadalajara just to mention a few of them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Real Inn Guadalajara Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plaza Genova Hotel Guadalajara
Best Western Guadalajara
Guadalajara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing