We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Decent Hotel for the money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Real Inn Guadalajara Centro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Real Inn Guadalajara Centro
Ranked #81 of 125 Hotels in Guadalajara
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel for the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Modest but clean and a good location in old part of town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    45
    40
    15
    11
See reviews for
31
17
10
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

This is an older hotel, but it's very clean and the staff has been accomodating and friendly. There are definitely nicer places to stay, but if you're looking for a good price and an excellent location, this would be hard to beat for the area around Centro...

In my case, I am able to see the Cathedral towers from my room...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheechWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

While planning a weekend vacation in Guadalajara, Mexico, I booked the Best Western Hotel Plaza Genova. I then looked up the Tripadivsor 2010 reviews for this hotel.

The poor reviews gave me some concerns about the quality and service of the hotel. However, we did stay at the Best Western Hotel Plaza Genova and here are the results.

When we arrived we were met immediately by a porter to handle our luggage whilst checking in. Our checking in process at 10:30 AM was very courteous and efficient. We were then escorted to our very clean and modern room on the 2nd floor. We found that the location of the hotel was perfect for walking around and exploring the historical El Centro of Guadalajara. We had access to the markets and restaurants without the need for a car or taxis to get around. We were very pleased with this totally non smoking hotel as it offered very good value.

We feel that the negative 2010 Tripadvisor opinions, although maybe appropriate at that time are no longer valid.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryrdBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

We are Mexican, and even us, got treated the worst. No Spa, No sauna...as stated. Over CHARGED me. I got it for one night at $82, and when we got there, they did not honor it. The girl took my reservation and threw it away. I went to speak with the manager the next day because I had stapled my bus tix.....HE NEVER showed up to talk. Another girl told us to wait 20 minutes for him. We waited 45....he never showed us. Our bedroom had roaches. We asked for another room. NADA.........nothing. Our AC didn't work.......they sent someone to fix it at 1:30am........stayed until 3am.....didn't fix it. Said sorry.

Go to Hotel San Francisco. Save your money. Best Western only has its location. Save your money and use it on a taxi to the mall. Don't come here. I expected more......especially being Mexican, I felt treated like I was lower class. They didn't know I am a doctor. Chucks.....I guess it is too late for them to say sorry.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelnosirve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2010

Stayed here for the last week of the year. Location can't be beat for tourism- you don't stay in the touristy section which is some 15-20 minutes away and are within walking distance of all the historic sites. Taxi cab rides all end up being low priced because of the centralized location. There are several good places to eat and strolle within two blocks of the building. We had a 6th floor suite and found the place clean, the a/c working perfectly (almost too good!), the restaurant was delicious (enjoy the breakfast!). The staff working there are all top notch - I was quite impressed. Great linens, beds are a bit firm for western tastes - but this isn't a 5 star hotel, so who can complain? If you want a great value and exceptional service (without paying 5 star prices) - I have to say this is the perfect getaway.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meerkat92101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glendale ca.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2007

I stayed at the best western twice. The resaon people complain about it because they are spoiled. The service was excellent. The staff was always polite.Once though early in the morning the water was cold for some reason,they appologized and the problem was corrected.I lived in guadalajara for six month's. I am a american citizen no hispanic blood and i would choose to retire their over 90 percent of the world. This is a growing country give it time it will surpas alot of others. Many students take pride in their education as well as dress atire.Those who say that they had a bad experience on this sight are just that. BAD EXPERIENCE> Not to themselves to others.They would find something wrong in all parts of the world.Please remember we have streets in los angeles and others parts of the U.S that are far worse.Look at the mess after Katrina,years later and still sits as the day it happened.So in closing enjoy what good you see and that should surpase the bad.Their are alot of things to see and do their and you could never get tired.I worked and toured 6 months and never got enough there is alot to see./Paul

  • Liked — LOCATION
  • Stayed May 2003, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pkuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City San Fernando, State California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2007

Ladies at service counter were not polite. We felt like they were doing us a favor. We made our reservations at best western site and when we got to hotel they had no record of it. Even when we showed the reservation email the manager said we don;t have that service. I showed the best western site to the manager and he said he would look into it. Rooms are dated but clean, carpet is old and bathroom is dated but clean. You would think that becuase it is a best western we should expect more from their hotel. Bell boy was helpful. Hotel is wrieless and free. Close to everything Centro Historic. Probably would not stay here again due to how we were treated by service counter.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service counter people
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MexVacationing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Centro Historico
0.2 mi away
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
#25 of 125 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roma, Suites & Business Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
0.2 mi away
Fenix Hotel
Fenix Hotel
#89 of 125 in Guadalajara
3.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gran Hotel Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Inn Guadalajara Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Inn Guadalajara Centro

Property: Real Inn Guadalajara Centro
Address: Avenida Juarez 123, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico (Formerly Best Western Plaza Genova)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 125 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Real Inn Guadalajara Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the heart of Guadalajara, this product is designed for the business traveler who looks for a property which provides comfort and added values ​such as the breakfast from 6:00 AM until 9:00 AM at complementary basis as well as the internet access. The traditional Mercado San Juan de Dios and the Jewelry Center are 5 minutes away and only 15 minutes from the Expo Guadalajara grounds. The hotel is surrounded by many cultural attractions such as the Teatro Degollado building, Wax Museum, Cabanas Cultural Institute and the Metropolitan Cathedral of Guadalajara just to mention a few of them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Real Inn Guadalajara Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plaza Genova Hotel Guadalajara
Best Western Guadalajara
Guadalajara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing