We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rooms awful, food good, service good, location not good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mision Guadalajara Carlton
Ranked #45 of 131 Hotels in Guadalajara
Reviewed March 8, 2009

I stayed here in which when i stepped in the room i thought i had stepped in a time machine, very out dated the shower didnt work, it is not in the main city part as such next to a main road with a wall mart across from it i would advise a taxi ride to the centre especially at night, food is good, staff were realy friendly, but i think room standards are crucial to this hotel and they were very poor

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blinker09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 349 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2009

The hotel needs to be updated & modernized. The hotel is located in a busy intersection which is loud & kind of hard to get some sleep and a bit far away from the Cathedral & all the main attractions. The rooms were a bit yucky the carpet is stained & the bathroom was kind of gross. The internet picture kind of fool you which appears to look nice but reality is it's not for me.

The staff was not very welcoming. I was charged for a bottle of Gatorated that I bought elsewhere & I put in the mini refrigerator so it can get cold and disputed the charge in my room. The parking attendant was nice & welcoming so for the most part I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank liljro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2008

I visited this hotel with a friend of mine while traveling thorugh Jalisco. We had made reservations for two nights. Don't let the pretty lobby fool you, service is terrible. We were given a room in the new remodeled tower. The beds were hard and the pillows seemed like they had bricks inside. The disco is located on the top floor but vibrates the entire building-all night long. Service at the restaurant is terrible, I was served a cold soup. It took me about 10 min to get the attention of a waiter who asked me what I wanted from another table, he took my soup and seemed irritated. By the time my soup came, my friend was done with her meal. We also waited for our check for about 30 minutes and once we got to the cashier she stated that it still was not ready and gave me attitude. The waiters hover above you to see what kind of tip you are leaving. To top it off, I asked the front desk staff to borrow a pen and her response was that she only had one pen and when she was not busy she would look for one! Needless to say, we checked out and stayed in a lovely B&B in Tlaquepaque which is a small town outside of Guadalajara.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfseus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2008

Hotel pictures look nice n the internet, when you get to the hotel the lobby looks nice, elevators are ok, restaurant is ok, location is ok but the rooms are REALLY bad.... they are dark, old, do not have ac, the bathroom very small. Rooms do not have a safebox but they offer safe box for free at the front desk. remote control they need a usd 20.00 deposit, we tried to upgrade to a suite but the difference in price was almost triple. not worth it as far as rooms is concerned but everything else seems to be ok. In case you want to go to zona centro- downtown to see the Metropolitan Cathedral do not attempt to walk there, is not far but its safer to take a taxi for 200pesos.... about 2usd

Stayed: March 2008
2  Thank papanico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2008

The lobby is okay, the restaurant offers average food. The room was a total dissapointment. Dark red and blue paint from the 60's. The carpet was worn out, the beds extremely hard, the towels off white and thin. The door knob in the bathoom was loose, old and shabby furniture. Compare it to a motel 8, but motel 8 is cleaner. To top it off, we forgot three jacket after check-out. We immediately called to notify the front desk. I was told to call back to confirm the jackets were left behind, which we did. All jackets were accounted for. We were told they would hold them for a month. we returned four days later to be told that only two jackets were collected. I argued to no avail. My wife and I were told we were lucky we at least got some jackets back. Some employee is wearing a very expensive jacket. Being used to staying at the best hotels in Las Vegas, I expected something similar from this hotel. What a nightmare.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank K9dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2007

This hotel is in bad need of remodeling. The rooms are dark, carpet is dirty and stained and the bathrooms are minimally finctional (toilet wouldn't flush, shower dripped, tiles missing). Would not stay there again, given the choice.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EAHWorldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2007

And when someone came to see about it they asked me if it was EXTREMELY IMPORTANT TO HAVE ONE!!!!!!!
The towels were dirty. Every day i left a note asking for hand towels next to the tip but never got hand towels only took tips. They never ansewer the phone at the front desk. The place looks like if it's 100 years old, and also smells like it. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank eddieofcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Real Maestranza
Hotel Real Maestranza
#1 of 131 in Guadalajara
98 reviews
0.5 mi away
Perla Central Hotel
Perla Central Hotel
#44 of 131 in Guadalajara
150 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portobelo Hotel
Portobelo Hotel
#21 of 131 in Guadalajara
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
#59 of 131 in Guadalajara
121 reviews
1.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Las Torres
0.9 mi away
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
#28 of 131 in Guadalajara
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mision Guadalajara Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mision Guadalajara Carlton

Address: Ave Ninos Heroes 125 | Col Centro, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 131 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range: $47 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mision Guadalajara Carlton 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our hotel in Guadalajara stay at our first class facilities with the rate indicated for you. Great for leisure or work because of a strategic location in the center of Guadalajara, near the main government offices, transport facilities and attractions Guadalajara. Our Hotel in Guadalajara has 207 fully equipped rooms. In addition we offer more than 10 spaces with capacity from 10 to 1200 people with everything needed to perform their social and business events. We have a prime location in the heart of the city just 20 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from Expo Guadalajara, a few blocks from the historic center and near museums like the Regional Museum of Guadalajara or the Crafts Institute of Jalisco. Our hotel in Guadalajara is perfect for quality time as we have a restaurant, bar, pool, landscaping, shop, boutique, beauty and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mision Guadalajara Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mision Carlton Guadalajara Hotel Guadalajara
Mision Carlton Hotel Guadalajara
Guadalajara Mision Carlton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing