We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, dirty, stinky and dangerous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Aranzazu Centro Historico
Ranked #106 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old, dirty, stinky and dangerous”
Reviewed October 17, 2010

The hotel was awful. The day we arrived one of the rooms wasn't been cleaned and my colleagues had to sleep in a dirty room.
In the room I stayed there was a terrible smell and when someone in other floor used the toilet all the pipe's smell invaded our room. And the room have no windows and the air conditioner didn't work. So the smell was unbearable.
The elevator get stucked and when the doors opened, we only saw a wall of white bricks. So we used the stairs the following days and it was worse because you can see all the pipes and how the hotel is falling to pieces. Also there is a strong smell of gas.
We went for bussiness and we had to walk to the Hospicio Cabañas during the night. The hotel it's not in a nice area, it's full of drunks and prostitutes.
Never stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julietaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranzazuCentro, Gerente at Hotel Aranzazu Centro Historico, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thanks for your feedback. They are important to us.
We seek to improve every day.
We will be very pleased to give us the opportunity to serve again.

Best Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    37
    41
    25
    33
See reviews for
47
19
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento,CA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2010

I usually like to take control of my reservations, but a travel agent in Mexico said that this hotel was clean and just as good at Trip Advisor's #1 rated hotel in Guadalajara(Holiday Inn). I trusted her and was highly disappointed when I walked into the lobby. I could tell by the dirty couches, the unfriendly staff(except for Bell Boy) that this was going to be a dump. It surely was. The beds were hard, the bathroom clean but the towels were like sandpaper. We spent one night and then changed our plans for the second night. Also, walking at night is sketchy. The place was crawling with transvestite prostitutes!

For the sake of my young children, I can't believe I stayed there even one night!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggsnowwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranzazuCentro, Gerente at Hotel Aranzazu Centro Historico, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thanks for your feedback. They are important to us.
We seek to improve every day.
We will be very pleased to give us the opportunity to serve again.

Best Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guadalajara hotels

Las Vegas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2009

First off the Front desk should/is the face of the hotel.. well all i can say about that is they do not greet you when you come in. the room we got smeeled like cigarret and medicen. i asked fo a couple of laundry bags and the moron at the front desk had the freaken nerve to say was i going to steal something from the room!!! come on not even when i travel in the USA has anyone insolted me like that! i guess he doesnt realized haveing tourist there pay his dam check. elevators were super slow.. we could have walked the stairs and got threre faster!! over all it SUCKED!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordis79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranzazuCentro, Gerente at Hotel Aranzazu Centro Historico, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Google Translation
Agradecemos sus comentarios

Continuamos en Proceso de remodelación.

El servicio de internet es sin costo en todas las áreas del Hotel. El Gimnasio cuenta con aparatos cardiovasculares de primer nivel. Los colchones son nuevos, contamos con pantallas LCD 32" y cajas de seguridad en todas las habitaciones.

El aire acondicionado y clima ha sido también renovado, las cortinas son estilo romanas, las ventanas son anti-ruido y con protección de rayos UV.

Contamos con Paquetes Ejecutivos, servicio de Shuttle Aeropuerto - Centro Histórico - Aeropuerto.

Será muy grato nos brinde la oportunidad de servirles, así como recibir su retroalimentación.

Saludos Cordiales.
Atte.
La Gerencia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2008

My employer has always book me at the Expo Plaza Hotel because it is 30 steps across the expo center. However, I was back to Guadalajara visiting some of my friends back in August, and the reason I choose this hotel is because they are cheap about $70/night.

This is the worst hotel that I have ever stayed. The entire hotel looks dirty and had that OLD smell. The mattress and pillows looks yellish instead of white. and death roaches can be found in many corners.

If you want something cheap, dirty and cockroaches this is it!!
But if you don't like any of the above mentioned, don't try it!

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — old dirty & cockroach
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank trademe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranzazuCentro, Gerente at Hotel Aranzazu Centro Historico, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your opinion.
We are in the process of renovation. We already have new beds and are in the process of changing the windows to "windows Anti-noise". We are interested in the welfare of clients.

We will be very pleased to give us the opportunity to serve again.

Best Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltillo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2008

This is the worst hotel that me and my family have ever stayed in. The whole hotel looks dirty. The mattress and the pillows are at least 20 years old, and worst, the beds, walls and bathroom are very, very dirty. Hairs and buggers on both beds and on the walls, and dry toothbrush paste on the sink.

Our whole experience at this hotel was terrible and we're never ever going back to that hotel in Guadalajara or anywhere else. We were very disappointed because the pictures show a very different place than the one we found.

I really hope they do something about it because it gives a bad impression about Guadalajara.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — dirty hotel
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaltilloCeci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranzazuCentro, Gerente at Hotel Aranzazu Centro Historico, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your opinion.
We will be very pleased to give us the opportunity to serve again.

Best Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2008

the hotel is in the process of a renovation so you can't tell much yet, but their room service is good, the food is good, but the quality of the services is amazing, food tastes better with good service

their wireless internet service is great! it works! on great speed! congrats!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Giesemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranzazuCentro, Gerente at Hotel Aranzazu Centro Historico, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your opinion.
We will be very pleased to give us the opportunity to serve again.

Best Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2007

My husband and I ended up in a suite on the 10th floor. They didn't have a room with one bed at the moment. It was a very busy Holiday weekend in Guadalajara, Mexico. Great view, walking distance to the Cathedral and Historic Center of Guadalajara, Good service and food. Clean and comfortable.Thank you Aranzazu

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoletaSantaBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranzazuCentro, Gerente at Hotel Aranzazu Centro Historico, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your opinion.
We are in the process of renovation. We already have new beds and "windows Anti-noise". We are interested in the welfare of clients.

We will be very pleased to give us the opportunity to serve again.

Best Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aranzazu ECO
Hotel Aranzazu ECO
#105 of 128 in Guadalajara
99 reviews
0.3 mi away
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
#27 of 128 in Guadalajara
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Francisco Plaza
Hotel San Francisco Plaza
#96 of 128 in Guadalajara
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Perla Central Hotel
Perla Central Hotel
#45 of 128 in Guadalajara
144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Gran Hotel Centro Historico
0.1 mi away
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
#53 of 128 in Guadalajara
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aranzazu Centro Historico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aranzazu Centro Historico

Property: Hotel Aranzazu Centro Historico
Address: Avenida Revolucion y Degollado 110 | Col. Centro, Guadalajara 44860, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aranzazu Centro Historico 2*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aranzazu is located within the historical city center of Guadalajara. The Hotel has been hosting The International Mariachi Events and is sponsor of The Tequila Express Tour.The Hotel has 281 rooms and suites, a large ball rooms and another facilities to accomodate up to 1,000 guests.Free internet wireless access, bussines center, gym, bar, nigth club, own parking garage as well as parking facilities for buses.Group experts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Aranzazu Centro Historico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aranzazu Catedral Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing