We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Beautiful on the Website!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel San Francisco Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel San Francisco Plaza
Ranked #100 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“So Beautiful on the Website!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were really looking forward to our stay at this place. Another website gave it 4-stars, the location was perfect for us and it looked amazing. We reserved two rooms with balconies facing the street, not the courtyard. Upon check-in, the exterior didn't look nearly as pristine as the photos and entry was a little disappointing. Staff however were extremely friendly and accommodating and gave us rooms as requested. The inner courtyard is calming with birds and flourishing foliage. The place obviously has a grand history. Magnificent hardwood room-doors towering to at least ten feet, ceilings of twelve feet, possibly higher. A setting that sets the stage for a magnificent experience. Entering our rooms we immediately grasped an air of profound stench. Something like mold or sewage, possibly both. Our friends down the hall, same thing. Our beds too were very tired, hard and con-caved. The stench thing wasn't just a mild problem. We had had issues like this elsewhere and solved it by flushing water down the drains, but this had no affect. The lovely balconies in the web photos..when we finally wrenched and worked the doors open, it was a shock. You couldn't step out without walking in pigeon guano, the balcony railings were caked in poop as well. It was so disgusting dirty we closed the beautiful doors and didn't go out again. Our friends room, the same thing. After a less than good night sleep we asked to cut our stay here from 4 nights to checking out now, and although we were committed to to all 4 there was no objection or charge for additional night. All staff, front, reception, cleaning (not good but possibly over worked) and restaurant staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. They need to undergo serious sewage and other renos and this place could really be great!!!

Room Tip: don't book here according to their website description, wait for reno and upgrades
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wayouthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    80
    40
    30
    18
See reviews for
33
56
28
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel was our base for 3 nights in Guadalajara earlier this week. It is very conveniently located for the Historic Centre of Guadalajara and we stayed an extra night as the deal was stay two nights get the 3rd Free. It is an old colonial building and could do with renovations asap to the rooms. They were dark and dingy and smelled of damp. The sheets were clean but unfortunately the smell coming up from the drains was so obnoxious it seemed as though a colonial builder had left something down there to haunt us. The staff however were helpful and friendly and the breakfast looked very good, the dining room well attended. The owners should get on and renovate and this would bring it back up to a 3 star hotel standard.

Room Tip: We were in 118 to start with which was quiet but very dingy. We moved to 215 which was larger and br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motorhomelifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guadalajara hotels

Bucerias, Mexico
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have stayed before at this hotel and my experience this trip was not a very positive one. Certainly a great location in Guadalajara centro, no doubt about that. However, I agree with other reviewers that this hotel has seen better days. I was in room 201, a brightly lit room facing the patio. The room itself was comfortable however a few things left me wondering if I will stay here again. I found only one outlet in the room for a three prong plug. To charge my laptop I needed to unplug the TV. The free internet was incredibly slow (and I live in DSL world in Mexico so this was even slower!) Many times I lost internet connectivity. The bathroon was the worst. Mold in the shower, a sink held in by wires and sewer fumes coming up through the shower drain. And, the room was freezing the entire time I was here. Of course, this IS December in Guadalajara but wow, I'm so ready to go back to the coast! If you are willing to put up with some minor inconveniences for the $600+ pesos a night this is an OK place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Attn TripAdvisor: the cover photo for his hotel is NOT this hotel. (and that should be obvious)

I travel several to Guadalajara several times per year and have stayed in a few central hotels of this type. The SF Plaza is my current fave. There is a newer wing that does not appeal to me, but I love the room that I usually get. You may want to view several rooms... they are all different.

You might notice that you are making dirty footprints on the bathroom floor. This because the floors are stone; a soft, dark volcanic stone. This is a clean hotel with loads of charm and character. Wifi can be a bit weak. As all say, the location is perfect. There are always interesting people wandering through the tiny plaza out front. This hotel is on the edge of the gay clubs scene.

The cost for the breakfast buffet is nominal. You may pay for it when you pay for your room, but I think you can also peruse the buffet and pay before being seated. It is really, really good. There is never a crowd and you can take your time.... several different meats, eggs, fruits, yogurts, cereals, brewed coffee, and fresh juices.

Self parking is free, around the corner in a secure garage. Come and go as you please, but most tourists will have no need of driving anywhere.

I highly recommend this hotel, even if you are not on a budget.

Tom

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaltemba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

I travel weekly for work and usually stay in the Marriott brands. Not having this option when I go to GDL I ALWAYS stay here. The hotel staff is super freindly, in a great safe location with some spacious clean rooms. I left my passport and over $10K in pesos stupidly on my night stand and went out. I came back with a note on my bed that the room service had placed my passport and $$ under my cloths in the dresser, all acounted for. Obvously learned a lesson there, gave room service a huge tip and have returned 7 other times to great experiences every single time! I have not 1 time had any issues in this hotel. The food downstairs in the attatched restuarant is great! I reccomend the breakfast and lunch menu the most.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
650 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Hotel is located in the historic center, within walking distance to the main square, Zocalo with the cathedral. I spent here 2 nights. It is relatively inexpensive hotel. The level of comfort, in my opinion, was quite adequate to the price. Our spacious room was on the first floor. There was a balcony overlooking the square but unfortunately the door which gives an access to the balcony was closed. The room had air conditioning, TV, telephone and en-suite bathroom with hot shower. Hotel interiors were lovely decorated: paintings, plants, cages with birds, patios with fountains, balconies and galleries. In one of the courtyards was served breakfast in the morning. It was a buffet style breakfast, quite delicious. I paid for it extra as it wasn`t included in the price. Hotel made rather good impressions on me.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Azad690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Frances
Hotel Frances
#64 of 128 in Guadalajara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
#52 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Perla Central Hotel
Perla Central Hotel
#44 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Mendoza
Hotel de Mendoza
#29 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
0.2 mi away
Santiago De Compostela
Santiago De Compostela
#70 of 128 in Guadalajara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francisco Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francisco Plaza

Property: Hotel San Francisco Plaza
Address: Calle Degollado 267, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Francisco Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Francisco Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Plaza Guadalajara
San Francisco Plaza Hotel
Hotel San Francisco Plaza Guadalajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing