We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two Stars, But A Great Experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel San Francisco Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel San Francisco Plaza
Ranked #100 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
150 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Two Stars, But A Great Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

The hotel is a two star hotel but a good value for the price. The location is central, good for historic Guadalajara and convenient to Guadalajara gay life at night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fools4Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    80
    40
    30
    18
See reviews for
33
56
28
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

I have stayed here three times. My stays have averaged one month in length each time. I could not be happier and will definitely return the next time I am in this city. The food is authentic mexican and delicous. The rooms are clean and they are constantly upgradeing the hotel. It is downtown and yes the area is very adventurous and not for everybody. I have a blast each time I stay here.

Room Tip: they are all good, it is an old hotel. the rooms are all clean and stayworthy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaj608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2011

The room was old! The bathroom was rusty and old and I was disgusted to even want to stand in the bath for my shower. It was small too. This hotel needs a good revamp. For the kind of price they are charging same as Hotel Morales.. they nee to do a lot of work to make it comfortable for us. There was no safe in the room. Its near the reception, and only 1 staff each shift on reception, and look sooo grumpy, makes you feel you dont want to ask them too much question!! Hated my stay in this hotel. No way ever again!! Defo a 2 star budget hotel!! Cant believe my travel agent recommend this to me!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofiajclow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guadalajara hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

I was looking for an affordable place to stay during an overnight trip while vacationing in Puerto Vallarta. This is not the most luxurious hotel, but it has plenty of charm. The staff was friendly and very helpful for someone who doesn't speak a lot of Spanish. In other words, they were very professional.

I loved the atmosphere while relaxing in the courtyard-style lobby. And the central location is very close to Guadalajara's colonial treasures.

I'm a little surprised with some of the negative reviews of this place. If you are looking for something a little more high end, then be prepared to shell out a few more dollars and go somewhere else. This place isn't a posh 5-star hotel, but it's clean and cozy.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fuzzymcgillicuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, b.c.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

lovely colonial simple place, very central.kind staff. ask for rooms upstairs, brighter and quieter. kitchen will cook what you ask for i f you have allergies (within their limits) reasonable prices

Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank petrahartt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosaritobeach
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

it was older, clean, charming in an old world way. high ceilings, cool tile, chunky doors. spacious room. not fancy, but clean and everything worked.

i loved the restaurant. the breakfast buffet was amazing!! $7 day, including beverages. the dining room was nice to relax and enjoy a mid afternoon desert. and once i enjoyed dinner. lucia the cook is amazing. one night i had the chie relleno. oh mama !!!! it was good.

the staff was really helpful about pointing me in the right direction when i had questins.

easy to find. drove from the airport at night, by myself. where you park the car, at a hotel accross the street, around the corner. an old facotry or something. but you have to drive up a ramp. it was an adventure.

my room faced the inner courtyard, and so you hear the foundtains all day/ night, which creates some white noise. i did not mind not facing the city. it seems lively at night, might have been noisy.

i loved it and i want to go back and volunteer to work with lucia and learn to cook !!!

guadalajara is a REAL city. not a fake touristy city. the

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosaritobeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

It is a nice, economic hotel in Centro Historico of Guadalajara. Located in old, colonial building it offers clean rooms and decent meals. The bathrooms are to small anyway. The main drawback was the square in front of the hotel which in the nightime coverts in prostitute meeting place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Antipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Frances
Hotel Frances
#64 of 128 in Guadalajara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
#51 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Perla Central Hotel
Perla Central Hotel
#44 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Mendoza
Hotel de Mendoza
#29 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
0.2 mi away
Santiago De Compostela
Santiago De Compostela
#70 of 128 in Guadalajara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francisco Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francisco Plaza

Property: Hotel San Francisco Plaza
Address: Calle Degollado 267, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Francisco Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel San Francisco Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Plaza Guadalajara
San Francisco Plaza Hotel
Hotel San Francisco Plaza Guadalajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing