We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place for Guadalajara”

Ranked #34 of 171 things to do in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular shopping strip in Tlaquepaque, a tiny suburb on the outskirts of Guadalajara.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful place for Guadalajara”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

This is a great place to visit, but the shopping is not the best. The stores are very astheticslly appealing, but the wares leave a lot to be desired. If you are buying big pieces of art, textiles, or furniture for a house then it is a good place. Tlaquepaque is a town of ceramic artisans, but there is not a well curated selection in the shops. I always stay at Casa de las Flores and they have an AMAZING collection of ceramics. I was told they are opening a shop and I would reccomendthat you go there. They will be more expensive, but the quality is amazing and they do the work of finding the best pieces for you. They have a shop for guests and I always buy something because he has the best stuff, he is true collector. ( just like Zocalo in Patzcuro, but he is closed now :()

The street is a nice reprieve from the streets of Guadalajara. Very pleasant to stroll down. Other than Sergio Bustamonte's shop on Independencia, I like the shops a few streets over.And there is an ice cream shop with the best ice cream in Mexico off the beaten path. I forget the name, but there are always long lines, so you will know it when you see it. Get the nutella ice cream!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robbybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    28
    6
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A must in Tlaquepaque”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

It is the hart and soul of Tlaquepaque, a nice walk and do go inside different shops...

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SorinMihaescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halethorpe, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go as far as you can”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

to spot the truly unique works of art that wait for you at the end. You'll know what I mean when you get there - large, touchable and mind-blowing!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank svetpesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“NOT in Guadalajara in tlaquepaque! And not called Calle Idependencia; Plaza Parian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Once we got the suburb correct which took us awhile because the taxi did not recognize Calle Independencia nor the hotel staff, because it's not known by the street, apparently there are several streets named this in all suburbs. This is Plaza Parian in Tlaquepaque. The city name needs to be changed to Tlaquepaque.
Amazing !!!! All reviews are correct! A MUST VISIT! We visited twice during our stay.

Helpful?
1 Thank dvswank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
132 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“If you visit ONE predestrian street in Mexico, this is it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

A gorgeous pedestrian street that has everything: small traditional shops, beautiful upscale shops that sell jewellery, antiques and fabulous household items, a nice pottery museums, cafes and restaurants, and ends up in the center of town. The beauty of Tlaquepaque is that it is no Disneyland ... people live and work in this beautiful town. Favourite stops are: Adobe (a shop that sells quality mexican crafts and a good restaurant under one roof), Galeria Sergio Bustamante (fantastic jewels and sculpture), Real San Pedro (new restaurant, good quality food, good environment), Rodo Padilla shop (the famous "chubby guys" ceramics). Can´t miss this street! We locals go for a nice stroll , nice meal and a hand made ice cream sold by a guy impecably dressed in ranch clothes and a hat.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Enrique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calle Independencia also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to Calle Independencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing