We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location..Oldest hotel in Guadalajara..Cheap and good for one night stay”
Review of Hotel Frances

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Frances
Ranked #64 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good location..Oldest hotel in Guadalajara..Cheap and good for one night stay”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

400 years old hotel now a national monument.. right in the downtown...most of the important historic places are walking distance from this hotel...We made a two day trip to Guadalajara, spending one day in the tequila express(casa herradura) and evenings enjoying the downtown...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayeshvpatil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    85
    50
    23
    38
See reviews for
56
66
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I booked online but when I arrived at the hotel at 9pm there were 2 people on the desk - one was playing with his cell phone and the other looked at me as if I was mad when I told him I had a reservation. Took a long while to check and didn't say anything - I had to ask 'Is there a reservation or not? It turned out there was. Room was basic and noisy. situated above a disco bar which we couldn't hear until the mariachi band playing in the salon area stopped playing after 11pm. Great location but again noisy as there was some sort of event going on in the square from early the next morning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank DougS274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We love the Hotel Frances -- the hotel is now over 400 years old, and reminds me of hotels in Europe.
The room rate is about $60.00/night.
We have stayed at the Frances several times over the past 10-15 years. This past winter, we took 7 other people with us, and all said they would definitely return to the Frances. The hotel also has valet parking.
There is a disco in the hotel on the weekend, but I'm not sure if it is one, or two nights.
There is usually evening music in the lounge area.
At each end of Maestranza, the street that the hotel is located on, there are small restaurants, with breakfasts, lunches, etc. -- both are good.
The hotel is located adjacent to the Governor's Palace and the main square.
Located near the main square is the Tapatia Tour Bus company.
Doreen and Dennis
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Relwog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

This hotel rocks! Its half a block from the cathedral and dates from 1610. Its been totally refurbished so its clean and modern yet has an incredible sense of history with tall ceilings, art, and craftmanship details. Plus its a great value at ~$70/night. Very clean and safe.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BigBreezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2010

Other than its location, anyone giving this hotel a good review is completely out of their mind.
Sure, at first the entrance and the fountain make this hotel charming... But once you see your room, you want to run!
If you intend to rest during your stay, you can forget about that at the Hotel Frances. Any room overlooking the street is as noisy as it gets with buses and trucks roaring under your balcony ALL night long.
The main squares are a short walk from this hotel... that's great, but not worth all the bad things this hotel offers. I would recommend Hotel Morales and have a short cab ride to the places you want to visit around the city.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tderedec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

A Charming, quaint anf historic ( first hotel in the Americas) place, Steps away from the historic core including the cathedral. Rooms are Ok, good value for the price, drawback is climbing the stairs, or optional, sometimes out of service and outdated elevator. The Hotel's restaurant is not the best, better trying some the plenty to choose from venues closeby. The Recepcion staff are cordial and helpful, though congested during high traffic volume. Best feature is the central location and historic ambience. A treat for history buffs.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algarve, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2010

A most beautiful colonial style hotel which was extremely badly renovated in 2000. We asked to see 6 rooms before deciding to stay in the room - on the roof - which had originally been allocated to us. The hotel is outdoubtedly used as a knocking shop. The staff were aloof and unhelpful and when we had a flood in the bathroom I had to dress and go down to reception before my calls for help were heeded. We had two telephones in our room neither of which worked. No internet access. We were booked to stay for 5 nights but left after one. I would not even recommend this hotel to my worst enemy! To add insult to injury the discoteque in the basement kept us awake all night with very loud music that went on until 3 am. On a positive note the manager tried to be helpful and indeed allowed us to use his office and his computer to try and alter our schedule at no charge. He also offered us a complimentary night but I wanted out of there VERY badly.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Francisco Plaza
Hotel San Francisco Plaza
#93 of 128 in Guadalajara
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
#27 of 128 in Guadalajara
492 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Mendoza
Hotel de Mendoza
#26 of 128 in Guadalajara
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casino Plaza
Hotel Casino Plaza
#13 of 128 in Guadalajara
248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dali Plaza Hotel
Dali Plaza Hotel
#51 of 128 in Guadalajara
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Frances? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Frances

Property: Hotel Frances
Address: Calle Maestranza No. 35, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Frances 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest hotel in the long history of Guadalajara, the Francés, was founded in 1610 as “El Mesón de San José” to provide shelter for short to traveling merchants.El más antiguo hotel en la larga historia de Guadalajara, el Francés, fue fundado en 1610 como “El Mesón de San José” para dar albergue por temporadas cortas a comerciantes viajeros. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Frances reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frances Hotel Guadalajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing