We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Food”
Review of Casa Pedro Loza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Pedro Loza
Ranked #28 of 131 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had an event at this beautiful historic Guadalajara hotel. Although I did not stay at the hotel, friends of mine did and they reported that it exceeded their expectations. I had the opportunity to see their room which was absolutely beautiful. Because we were at an event in the evening that included dinner and cocktails we had the opportunity to look all over the hotel in all of its glory. It is an incredible venue. All who attended the event raved about the food in the dining room. And I must say that this is unusual at an event with 50 people. I must agree the food was top notch. The bar service very good. And the prices quite competitive. Whether you're staying at the hotel or just dropping in for a meal, it's a must.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Fools4Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director Comercial at Casa Pedro Loza, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2014

Dear guests: So glad to know you enjoyed our service, thank you so much for your comments, and please come back and stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 106 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed here. What a lovely hotel. Decoration is beautiful, stay was really nice. The down part was first night we had a room next to the road and it was extremely noisy. We complained and changed to a better room next night. The breakfasts were included which was great, but we had back stomach and seemed like the chef wouldn't do anything outside the menu, for example no dry toast. Other than that it was lovely.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Malaky_shish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director Comercial at Casa Pedro Loza, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear Guests: Thank you so much for your review, we are sorry for the inconveniences, most fortunately we were able to change your room. We hope to have the opportunity of having you with us next time your travels bring you to Guadalajara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile


There are many good things that you can say about this hotel. The location is a short walk from the centre of Guadalajara. The building is an old fashioned house that had been converted to a hotel and which has a lot of charm and character. A lot of thought has gone into decorating the bedrooms, each which has its own impressive design. The food is pretty good and the staff are generally helpful.

However, there is one major flaw. The noise at night. On our first night we stayed in a room overlooking the main road. It had very little sound insulation and I think only the deepest sleepers could get a good night sleep. Given the level of noise, it is surprising the hotel has not put any sound insulation in the bedrooms overlooking the main road.

After the first night we asked to be moved to a room away from the main road, which the staff did. However, that night the hotel had arranged a Flamenco show and after party in the dining area, which every bedroom in the hotel overlooks. The dancers were practicing long before the show started, stamping their feet and making any chance of resting impossible. We were told the show would finish at 11pm and at 12 am it was still going strong, with the after party continuing long after. I found it incredibly inconsiderate to the hotels guests and shocking that the hotel felt it was appropriate to stage a show and party right beneath where their guests were staying.

I may have just come on one of the few nights of the year that the hotel decides to have a big party, I don't know. But, it didn't sit well with me that the hotel were happy to subject their guests to this noise and it significantly diminished what could have been a nice stay.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director Comercial at Casa Pedro Loza, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Guest: We have had some time to do some research regarding your comments and we absolutely owe you an apology. This hotel in fact has a high demand for events which take place mostly during the weekends and on the hotel´s terrace which does not affect our guest. We are sorry you were inconenienced and hope we have the opportunity of serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This is a real find. old building with real world charm. Every room is different, with lots of art work and unique items. Restaurant is excellent; I had pesto shrimp, and my wife had the best filet mignon she had ever had! Great prices too. Fantastic view from the roof, which is well laid out for parties as well as individual time. On a blocked off street, but you can load in front and they will arrange for valet parking (70 pesos a night). Easy walk to the Cathedral and downtown. But the best part was the service! Alejandro was right there for us whatever we needed, including a trip up the old time elevator! We will definitely come back when we return to Guadalajara.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director Comercial at Casa Pedro Loza, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear guest: Thank you so much for your review on your recent stay at Casa Pedro Loza Petit Hotel, please do visit us again, it will be a pleasure tu serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We lucked upon Casa Pedro Loza, a 12 room boutique hotel and spent three nights there. The staff and service are so very kind and thoughtful. Example, they offered to drive me to the post office to mail my postcards. Breakfast and afternoon cocktails and snacks were perfect in a beautiful courtyard. (Have the nachos and this delicious warm cheese dip!) Each room has a different look and is filled with beautiful and interesting antiques and pieces. You can hear a wee bit of street noise BUT if you shut the shutters and the windows at night, you really cannot hear anything. We had the pleasure of being in the inner courtyard on an afternoon when a group of women were there celebrating something - and then in comes a five piece mariachi band who played for about 1.5 hours. They now have a massage room and the masseuse who comes in when there are appointments is great......this was an enjoyable add-on. There are restaurants within a km or so, but despite walking all over, we could not find one that we found decent or didn't have loud music blaring. We took a cab to an Italian restaurant the hotel recommended - and it too, was amazing. It is called Il Duomo. Back to Casa Pedro Loza - Diana, the manager, was fantastic, as well Miguel - and either would do anything at all to make our stay wonderful - as truly, all the staff would. Everything was really top-notch!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 977MAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director Comercial at Casa Pedro Loza, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear guest: Thank you so much for such wonderful review of your recent trip to Guadalajara and Casa Pedro Loza Petit Hotel. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Spent 4 nights here in January. 2 couples travelling together. We liked the hotel for the easy walk to the various historical sights in the old center of town. We walked to and from the plaza Guadalajara (about 5 blocks) in both daytime and in the evening and felt quite safe and comfortable. The hotel is on a street that is chained off for pedestrian only use most of the time so was very quiet. Rooms are on the second floor around a central courtyard. The courtyard is a restaurant where we also had our breakfast. There's a removable ceiling which made for a lovely sky one evening. The downside is the courtyard was coolish in the morning so one will need a sweater for breakfast.
Our room was a nice size but the bathroom was very small. It functioned well but a large person might have an issue with knees, the wall and the toilet lol! Hot water took awhile to arrive but was plentiful and water pressure was good. The TV worked well as did the wifi. We had a small Juliet balcony which let in nice light.
Breakfast at the hotel was very good. It wasn't included in the room rate but we felt it was a good value with an excellent selection of egg dishes, traditional Mexican dishes and huge waffles. There was a bit of confusion the first morning as we read that juice or fruit and coffee were included in a package price...but we didn't ask for the package. This charge was adjusted by the wait staff and from then on we made sure to order the " package" for our fruit/ juice.
A few of the staff speak English but overall Spanish is the language used here. Fresh bottles of water were always available and on our last morning desk staff brought us hot coffee as we were leaving before the restaurant opened.
The lobby areas are beautifully decorated and there's also a roof deck where you could take a cerveza and relax. I think the hotel may used for weddings or special celebrations as we saw a few families all dressed up. A charming spot, good value, and I'd definitely stay here again if I return to Guadalajara.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director Comercial at Casa Pedro Loza, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear guests: Thank you so much for your beautifully detailed review, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, If you do come back to Guadalajara we hope you choose us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

From my first email to this charming casa till the time we left 12/26 I was impressed with the service. Over Christmas, the lovely indoor patio was open till 4 p.m. Food was tasty. One man waiter show very efficient! Only a couple of small details overlooked at check- in: only one bath towel and no face cloths in r bathroom. And when we asked for an extra glass and some ice in the evening, we were told the bar was closed. After a gentle nudge, we got both! Christmas Day, there was no food or drink availability; but they did rec some places near by! Yeah, KFC! They did arrange for valet parking for r car at a reasonable rate. Advertised as handicapped accessible, I would add caution. The young men at the front door had to lift me up to gain access to the entry. And, the antique elevator worked....otherwise, lots of stairs. The place has a lot of history and some beautiful furnishings. Wifi. Flat screen TV and a great location in the central historic area. I would return.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director Comercial at Casa Pedro Loza, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Guest: We would like to thank you for your review on your recent visit to Casa Pedro Loza, all comments and suggestions are welcome, the administration takes them seriously into consideration. Once again thank you so much and hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
1.7 mi away
Villa Ganz
Villa Ganz
#7 of 131 in Guadalajara
351 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
LA FE Hotel and Arts
LA FE Hotel and Arts
#35 of 131 in Guadalajara
162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Del Carmen Concept Hotel
Del Carmen Concept Hotel
#57 of 131 in Guadalajara
53 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Real Maestranza
Hotel Real Maestranza
#1 of 131 in Guadalajara
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Pedro Loza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Pedro Loza

Address: Calle Pedro Loza 360 | Centro Historico, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 131 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range: $54 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Pedro Loza 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Pedro Loza was built in 1848 as the home of a wealthy local family. Later, Jose Francisco Orozco and Jiménez, Archbishop of Guadalajara of 1913 to 1936, lived in the property; Probably in the area of what is nowadays the Master Suite of the Secret Garden. After a restoration that began in 2004, Casa Pedro Loza has stood out as an architectural gem of the historic center of Guadalajara. In 2006 it was awarded the city's annual award for its restoration. It maintains many of the elements of the original architectural design, thus emanating a feeling of being in another era. The proposal is based on the guest experience and the cultural value that Guadalajara brings to the world. It is located a short distance from several tourist centers, such as The Cathedral, Degollado Theater, Plaza de Armas, Museum of Journalism and Graphic Arts, Cabañas Cultural Institute, Sacred Art Museum, Government Palace And the Regional Museum. From your arrival, they will make you feel at home and you will see how they pay attention to every detail of your experience. From the decoration of its spaces to the warmth of its staff. In its restaurant you can taste delicious international dishes, the Sky Lounge is ideal to enjoy a refreshing drink and appreciate the beautiful panoramic view to the most important cultural buildings of the city. Each of its rooms is uniquely set with the aim of creating different experiences. If your trip is for business, we guarantee an excellent experience as they have two meeting rooms equipped for business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Pedro Loza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing