We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Boutique Hotel in Guadalajara!”
Review of Casa Pedro Loza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Pedro Loza
Ranked #27 of 131 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Went for a wedding reception an spent one night. What a party. Hotel accommodated over 200 guests at the party with perfect service and great food! Tequila at every table, wonderful dance floor and no issues with security.
Our room was really cool and each room has its own motif. Ours was a fun kind of Japanese hipster look! The actual building is hundreds of years old and some rooms are of the period. Breakfast was wonderful and service excellent. The whole time I felt as if I was a character in a movie because the setting was too good to be real. My wife and relatives just loved it. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khamkeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaboliano, Manager at Casa Pedro Loza, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for the kind words, we always strive to make our guest feel welcome and have the best experience in town.

We hope to have you visit again.

Kind Regards

Casa Pedro Loza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 106 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

Set in old town Guadalajara, the Casa Pedro Loza is a lovely hotel and restaurant. The center courtyard restaurant is just beautiful and is just like being in old Mexico. I would give the restaurant four stars. The service was very good and prompt. After lunch, we were given a tour of many of the rooms, each of which is painted individually and each has separate interior design. The prices are moderate too. The lowest room is 449 pesos per night and range up to 1399 pesos. They also have staff that speak English. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellagio00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaboliano, Manager at Casa Pedro Loza, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

We are so thankful with comments we have received from you, we are glad your stay with us was pleasant.

Hope to have you back again.

Regards


Casa Pedro Loza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a beautiful boutique hotel in the center of it all- the cathedral, regional museum, etc. Each room is uniquely designed and they let you choose which room you prefer. Certain rooms sit about a very noisy street, so be careful when choosing. We chose a noisy room the first night, but they had no problem letting us switch to a quieter room for the other two nights. Wonderful breakfast and great coffee!!! The view from the rooftop is better than I have seen in a long time. The staff are so helpful and friendly, they will go above and beyond any request. Just ask, and they are happy to help you. Loved it here...we will be back soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doreen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaboliano, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Pedro Loza, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed our hotel and thank you for the kind commends about our staff we try to always offer the best service we can.

Hope to have have you backs again and we will do the best to accommodate you and make your stay as comfortable as we can.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The hotel is a box of surprises, good ones. While on the outside the hotel has kept its lovely and traditional facade, the interior has been decorated with many a surprise and can keep you busy for hours exploring the details of the deco. The hotel is built around a pretty courtyard and has most of its rooms on the 2nd floor, every room has its theme and the rooms can be very different ranging from colonial art and latin-versaille style rooms like "pieza de las virgenes" to spanish style rooms with a fountain and private garden and 1970s retro rooms. Above all, whether you like all the rooms or some of them, this place is fun and has a terrace bar with very good views of the city. Service is very good, the hosts are very nice and are always at hand for questions, problems or just having a nice chat while you have a coffee in the courtyard's café.

PD. Rooms well equiped with inet, plasma TVs and Speakers for your ipod/iphone.

Room Tip: Pieza de las virgenes is very nice. The terrace is nice for organizing events. Visit in the week...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esputnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaboliano, Gerente at Casa Pedro Loza, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thank you for your comments! We appreciate every single one, good or bad. Hopefully you will visit us again to have cup of coffee at the terrace with a great city view!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

In the Centro Historica, this hotel provokes fantasy in its decor and old world charm. It is completely unexpected with amenities that take one to another time, appropriate for a stay in Guadalajara. It is centrally located, entrance right on the street. The staff is completely Spanish speaking, though helpful. Breakfast is included with the room -- delicious, and begins at 9 a.m. The door is locked at night, although someone is on hand to open. It is a intimate look at Mexico, rare and not possible in a large hotel. Each room is different, elaborately decorated in a unique fashion, fun, amusing.

Room Tip: Each room is on the street, but noise level is minimal. beds are extremely comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzanneseitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director Comercial at Casa Pedro Loza, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear guest: Although delayed, we would like to thank you for your wonderful comment regarding our property Casa Pedro Loza. Please do visit us again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Few in Guadalajara even know about this place. It's an 1848 colonial style house a few blocks from the Guadalajara downtown cathedral which used to be occupied by the Archbishop 162 years ago. After the taxi has trouble finding the place, you first come up to a huge wooden carved door and ring the bell to get in. Once in, I felt quite special, not just because I was treated like a family member, but also because the "palace" almost felt 100% to myself. The check in is carried out on a simple desk underneath the stairway to the 11 rooms. You are offered to see each room that is available because they are each uniquely decorated. The decor is outstanding because they have preserved the essence of what that place would have been like back then. It is almost like staying in a museum. My room had colonial style furniture, very high ceilings with cross beams, cantera in the bathroom, and yet I had a plasma tv, high speed internet, and perfectly working air conditioner. A double door opened into the street with a small terrace on the second floor. The view, the place, the service, and the overall feeling was perfect. Breakfast in the morning was wonderful and prepared by one of the male employees who really had a passion for cooking and art. It was in the courtyard below, with freshly squeezed orange juice, bold and aromatic coffee, basket of sweet bread, fruit with yogurt, and eggs prepared any way you want. Oh, there are also green or red chilaquiles. The ambiance is elegant but in no way stuck up. It almost seems like there is only one employee there per shift, and yet you have everything you need at all times. You need to stay here at least once ... preferably with a companion.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank esaavedra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaboliano, Gerente at Casa Pedro Loza, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thank you for that exquisite review and for sharing your experience with the world! We hope you can come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank titokowoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
1.7 mi away
Villa Ganz
Villa Ganz
#4 of 131 in Guadalajara
352 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
LA FE Hotel and Arts
LA FE Hotel and Arts
#35 of 131 in Guadalajara
162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Del Carmen Concept Hotel
Del Carmen Concept Hotel
#55 of 131 in Guadalajara
53 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Real Maestranza
Hotel Real Maestranza
#1 of 131 in Guadalajara
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Pedro Loza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Pedro Loza

Address: Calle Pedro Loza 360 | Centro Historico, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 131 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range: $54 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Pedro Loza 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Pedro Loza was built in 1848 as the home of a wealthy local family. Later, Jose Francisco Orozco and Jiménez, Archbishop of Guadalajara of 1913 to 1936, lived in the property; Probably in the area of what is nowadays the Master Suite of the Secret Garden. After a restoration that began in 2004, Casa Pedro Loza has stood out as an architectural gem of the historic center of Guadalajara. In 2006 it was awarded the city's annual award for its restoration. It maintains many of the elements of the original architectural design, thus emanating a feeling of being in another era. The proposal is based on the guest experience and the cultural value that Guadalajara brings to the world. It is located a short distance from several tourist centers, such as The Cathedral, Degollado Theater, Plaza de Armas, Museum of Journalism and Graphic Arts, Cabañas Cultural Institute, Sacred Art Museum, Government Palace And the Regional Museum. From your arrival, they will make you feel at home and you will see how they pay attention to every detail of your experience. From the decoration of its spaces to the warmth of its staff. In its restaurant you can taste delicious international dishes, the Sky Lounge is ideal to enjoy a refreshing drink and appreciate the beautiful panoramic view to the most important cultural buildings of the city. Each of its rooms is uniquely set with the aim of creating different experiences. If your trip is for business, we guarantee an excellent experience as they have two meeting rooms equipped for business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Pedro Loza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing