We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great goat!”
Review of Las 9 Esquinas

Las 9 Esquinas
Ranked #38 of 1,167 Restaurants in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Clearwater, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“great goat!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

You just can't miss this restaurant when in Guadalajara. It's situated in a lovely square with a fountain and no traffic. You can easily walk there from Centro. The restaurant itself is a pleasure to see with beautiful tile work and fun knick knacks. The food and service are outstanding. If you've never tried Birreria this is the place to do it! I'm always happy when I find good food without the fuss.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank samcan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    80
    29
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mmmmm”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Eat their specialty, orden birrerias. This place is charming, efficient, and really, really good. We enjoyed our dinner including some delicious guacamole.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dmc42607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culiacan, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“MMMMMmmmmm.”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

GET THE ORDEN PORTION OF THE LAMB AND GOAT. firt time we went, we went budget and got the tacos, they were delicious, but the second time my husband ordered the Orden platter of the goat and it was some of the best food i've ever had. worth the extra bucks (MX$90 for Orden vs MX$50 for 3 tacos)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BudgetBeachTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“best goat I have had since the islands”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a famly run place and you can tell that the staff like working here. I met grandma one night and the son (who runs the place across the square) on a visit to the second place. I had the goat one night and the baked lamb the other night. Both were very good nad served with the std frijoles, arroz and assortment of pickled veggies (onion, carrots, cauliflower). The prices were reasonable $98mx for a std size and $79mx for chico size.
note: this is not a turisto place but has good food and good prices.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rojo-amigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely but not as good as guides said...”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

It took a rather long walk to get there but guide books had recommended this place. The walk was worth it since it's located on a very nice square with a fountain and next to several birrerías and restaurants. The restaurant is pretty, covered in tiles and mexican ornaments, the only thing is that the food wasn't "that" good, but its worth the the eye candy.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank esputnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las 9 Esquinas also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to Las 9 Esquinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing