We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Comfortable enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo
Ranked #29 of 122 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Leon, Mexico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed there for business. It was very comfortable, I loved the fact that they have a soft pillow and a hard one, so you can choose which one to use. The first day I had two water bottles but the following days only one, that was strange. The breakfast is good enough, nothing spectacular but all right. Crowded around 8 am. If you bring your own car the parking entrance can be a bit difficult to handle. I did not try the valet service. A good place for rest while on business.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iktz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXGDLEXPO, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words towards our guest rooms and our customer service.

We at the Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo take pride in the service that we deliver to every guest. I hope to see you on your next visit!

Sincerely,

Isidro Venegas
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    68
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
31
18
6
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Me and my girlfriend decide to take a weekend get-away to Guadalajara, spending 2 nights there for leisure and relax.

In such a big city as Guadalajara is, there is certainly a lot of options when deciding for a Hotel. Therefore, I started looking tripadvisor reviews (as always do) to find a suitable option for my weekend. After a quick search, I decided to give a try to this hotel basically for 3 main points:

1. Location
2. Rate
3. Infraestructure

Location: It is located just behind "PLaza del Sol" which is one of the first big shopping centers in Guadalajara. For its age, it is not the most moder (compare to Andares Plaza which is fabulous!) but the area is nice and very safe.
Rate: We got a 2 x 1 coupon in our last stayed at a Holiday Inn, so it was a BARGAIN!. We endded up paying roughly $115 USD (tax Incl.) for a two night stay.
Infraestructure: Hotel is brand new, I believe not more than 2 years or so, so all forniture, desgin, social space, lobby, gym, restaurat are, etc is very well preserved and looks modern. Pool are is very relaxing and you may also have your free buffet breakfast there.

One of the things I liked the most was that just in front of the Hotel (at the corner) you may stop the hop-on/ hop-off bus, which I tell you is a great way to sightseeing entire city with several routes at a very good price. When coming back to the hotel just make sure to ask for the "plaza del sol stop" and just cross entire mall to get to the hotel, a nice walk.

A breakfast buffet is included in the price with hot & cold dishes, fruit, cereals, bread, juices, sausages, scrambled eggs, "chilaquiles" etc. It is not just the tipycal continental breakfast for sure!. just be patience because when the hotel is full, you will have to "chase" a table to be sitted.

There is free wifi in rooms, free underground parking (with or without valet), rooms are very comfortable and all forniture is nice and modern. Try to book a room that faces into the pool, because street view may be noisy.

I will take this option FOR SURE when I get back to this BEAUTIFUL city as Guadalajara is.

Bon Voyage!!!.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing to main street!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davicho77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXGDLEXPO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado cliente,

Gracias por tomarse el tiempo para compartir sus comentarios de Hotel Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo
Estoy muy contento de leer su valoración de nuestro equipo y sé que mis colegas estarán igualmente encantados de saber de sus amables palabras y el reconocimiento de sus esfuerzos para cumplir con sus necesidades.

Sin duda esperamos poder darle la bienvenida de nuevo en un futuro muy próximo.

Cordialmente,


Isidro Venegas
Gerente General
Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was our first stay at this hotel. We found the hotel to be centrally located and a decent price. The staff was friendly and we had no problems with checking in. although not a five star hotel, we found it very clean and comfortable. There was a warm balanced breakfast every morning. Unlike many hotels in Mexico, the beds were very plush, warm and comfortable. I would stay at this hotel in the future and would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Enchanted777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isidro V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make our hotel a leader in excellence.

Isidro Venegas
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
196 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

It is not exactly walking distance to the Expo, but it has the advantage of being next to a McDonald's and across from a supermarket if you need to grab a quick bite. The rooms are ok, kept clean and good enough for 1-2 nights business stay. Internet works fine which is probably the most important. There is also a small gym and pool. Breakfast is standard Holiday Express Inn fair of scrambled eggs, toast and coffee.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank travel-bitten-shark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isidro V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make our hotel a leader in excellence.

Isidro Venegas
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca Mex
Level Contributor
88 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I've stayed here two separate dates; in both stays hotel occupation was very high, rooms are very big and fancy decorated, flat screen, free wireless, isolation was good from the street to the room and from the hallways to the room but not with the other rooms, so if your neighbor is watching tv or speaking in the phone or yelling... you will hear that clearly, also the breakfast is very good but despite being served in a big area it gets very crowded and that can make it a bad experience. Otherwise hotel is very well located and comparing it with other 2 hotels I've stayed in the area, it has best cost-value, but your rest will depend on the behave of your neighbors.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blur_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isidro V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make our hotel a leader in excellence.

Isidro Venegas
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
156 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 601 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

you will notice n google street view that the 2009 images show a building in construction, it has since been finished and is a concrete marvel, that offers a decent buffet breakfast and very respectable room with all the usual business class stuff, free parking, good wifi etc. location is
useful for expo and Zapopan business travelers, nit much for tourists, the Plaza del Sol area is crap, so you check in and check out and off you go.

Room Tip: all rooms are air con, so forget about breathing the real thing. windows do not open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cineasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isidro V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding our service.

We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your experience during your recent stay.

Isidro Venegas
General manager
Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

The location is amazing since you are beside the expo in Guadalajara. The hotel is small but it has great services.
The breakfast is delicious and is good for starting your business day.
Also they have a small gym with a great pool for exercising after a hard day.
Price is reasonable and the service is good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JLeuchter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isidro V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding our service. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your experience during your recent stay.

Isidro Venegas
General manager
Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.4 mi away
Guadalajara Plaza Expo
Guadalajara Plaza Expo
#7 of 122 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 stars 772 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fiesta Inn Guadalajara Expo
Fiesta Inn Guadalajara Expo
#14 of 122 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 stars 292 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Guadalajara/Expo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
City Express Plus Guadalajara Expo
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Guadalajara Expo
0.6 mi away
Hilton Guadalajara
Hilton Guadalajara
#12 of 122 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 stars 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo

Property: Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo
Address: Av. Mariano Otero # 2397 Col. Residencial Victoria | Ubicados Frente Al Centro Comercial Plaza Del Sol, Guadalajara 44550, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Guadalajara
#8 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo is the right place for business in the heart of the Convention Center Expo. Enjoy the comfort and service that makes your business visit a real pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Expo Hotel Guadalajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing