We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostel Guadalajara Hospedarte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2011

I've been to my fair share of hostels and this one is run of the mill. The breakfast toast, coffee, cereal and milk are cheap. But this is a hostel. The hostel design, as I remember, was cute. I remember waking up to laughter coming from outside. Wanting to meet people, I tried to exit the front door but it was locked and there was no clerk on duty as there usually was. This hostel isn't a party hostel like some of the others. I only stayed a day or two, but it felt boring. The guy supervising the place wasn't particularly good at making me feel at home. Overall though, you can't complain too much with an inexpensive hostel. I could see myself trying this place out again, especially if I were backpacking.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magpagusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Hospedarte, Manager at Hostel Guadalajara Hospedarte, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Hi There, thank you for taking the time to leave us with your review, we appreciate all feedback as it only helps us to improve! We realize that we can not be the favorite hostel of all guests, yet every day we work to achieve it!
The complementary continental breakfast that we offer includes, ceral, white bread, pastries, fresh fruit, coffee, juices, milk.. We also offer free bikes, free WiFi conection, free computers with internet for guests, free activities, maps, and more.. People continously tell us that we have a great value for money. Probably you didn't make use of some facilities and free services..
We have different activities, tours, common areas, also we have a hostel's bar... our intention is not to be a party hostel but the hostel with the best best atmosphere, if you want party after midnight you can go withing walking distance to any of the best bars of the town.
There is nothing to do if a place is an affordable accommodation with the fact that you can not get good services or not being able to complain. Probably you don't really understand the hostel's concept.. you are welcome anytime to improve your last experience with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 245 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2010

I have stayed at Hospedarte 2 times now, once for 2 weeks and then another time close to 3 months. Each time was amazing! The owners and staff are awesome people and can help you with anything you need. The hostel itself feels like home. It is super chill and relaxing. The backyard is lush and is perfect for relaxing or partying. The hostel pretty much has anything one would need: wifi, tv (both in the common room and some of the private rooms), kitchen, and even beer! I have stayed in both the privates and the dorm rooms and all are comfy. The staff make sure you have clean sheets as often as you need. They have a cleaning service daily and laundry facility on the top floor. Beyond the amenities Hospedarte is in a prime location of Guadalajara. It is about 10 mins driving from the centro and another 10 mins driving from many of the main clubs, malls and theaters. The taxis are cheap to get around in. The actual street is in a nice neighborhood and walking half a block you will hit a main street called Chapultepec. There you can find bars, restaurants, and even starbucks. Chapultepec itself is a center of a lot of life. Thursdays there is an outdoor art and music festival and Wednesdays you can meet up on bike to do late night riding with tons of people from GDL. Obviously I could write a novel about this place so I will semi limit myself. Beyond all the great features of the hostel and city, what truly made my experiences unforgettable were the people. I have met amazing travelers many who became like my family. Hospedarte is a perfect spot to meet great people, relax and have a good time. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank savannahritchey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Hospedarte, Manager at Hostel Guadalajara Hospedarte, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Great!! Thanks so much for your comments! It's great you felt like home, guests like you become part of this great family, we continue remembering different experiences when you were at the hostel... thanks to all you guys we are the hostel with a great atmosphere and good vibe!
We do our best to give you the best hostel experience in town, we know our location is a big plus, as the area becomes more and more popular and lively everytime.. definitely the best nightlife zone.
We can not wait for your next trip to Guadalajara! Please let us know, it will be a great party as usual!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2010

Definitely this hostel in guadalajara made my stay in Guadalajara an awesome experience! I stayed in "Carlos Santana" private room, which was beautifully decorated with albums and figures of the famous Mexican guitar player. Hospedarte hostel has a beautiful backyard where I enjoyed great afternoons reading in the hammocks. Free continental breakfast, internet, towel, shampoo, soap and drinking water are a big bonus. Location is great, more if you go by bus from airport. I really recommend Hospedarte Hostel!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Verere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Hospedarte, Manager at Hostel Guadalajara Hospedarte, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Hi there many thanks for your review! It was great to have you guys around, please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Great hostel, clean private room with TV, good bar, nice staff, great location and the wrestling and tequila tour are excellent. Very sociable environment. Hostel Hospedarte has it all!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnrran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Hospedarte, Manager at Hostel Guadalajara Hospedarte, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thanks for enjoying Guadalajara and staying at our hostel.
It's great you enjoyed the facilities, tours and the service that we provided you
We hope to see you again next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We left early after the first morning.
We booked it after reading the reviews, but when we arrived we discovered a well located but dirty hostel. We had a big room, at first it seemed perfect but then we saw the dirty bathroom which smelled bad the whole night. We needed the fan on all night to get some air.
We left and went into a big chain (Ibis) where we paid 150 pesos ( less than 10 euros) more per night (at hospedarte private room with bathroom for 450 pesos) but got a clean decent room.
My suggestion: If you are looking for a private room, do not stay here, put a little bit more into the budget and enjoy.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Hospedarte, Manager at Hostel Guadalajara Hospedarte, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Hi! Thanks for your feedback! We really appreciated the time you took to write your review since we can learn a lot from our guests' experience and constantly improve.

We had had this kind of perception with people who only book in the hostel only for the affordable rates but not really because of hostel's concept.
We have high standars of cleanliness and continously receive high marks from our guests, we work closely with our housekeeping team so as to deliver the best service to our guests
Sorry if you had issues with a smelling of the bathroom, if you only had notified us, it could have been fixed in 1 minute..
We have nothing to do with a chain as you recommended, people like you who are looking for a cheap hotel should book in a hotel like Ibis, people who look for a affordable, personalized, conveniently located, and fun stay with the best hostel atmosphere should book in a hostel like Hospedarte.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

I love hammacs, free bikes hire, the cafe. The staff was great, good clean spacious dorms. Stayed longer than planned

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank doggyrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Hospedarte, Manager at Hostel Guadalajara Hospedarte, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Hi! Thank You for taking the time to leave us with your review. It's great to hear you made use of our great location, we hope you enjoyed all of our facilities also! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

We had an amazing time at this hostel, It is definitely one of the best hostels I have stayed in, and the back yard is awesome.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelhaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Hospedarte, Manager at Hostel Guadalajara Hospedarte, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Hi there!! Thanks so much your your preference and your review, it's a proud that you consider us as one of the best in Mexico
You rock!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
#50 of 130 in Guadalajara
126 reviews
2.2 mi away
Country Hotel and Suites
Country Hotel and Suites
#42 of 130 in Guadalajara
126 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dali Plaza Hotel
Dali Plaza Hotel
#64 of 130 in Guadalajara
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Las Torres
3.4 mi away
Aurea Hotel and Suites
Aurea Hotel and Suites
#28 of 130 in Guadalajara
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Nacional
Hostal Nacional
#2 of 96 in Guadalajara
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Guadalajara Hospedarte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Guadalajara Hospedarte

Address: Calle Efrain Gonzalez Luna 2075 | Half a block from Chapultepec Ave., Guadalajara 44140, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Guadalajara
Price Range: $11 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Guadalajara Hospedarte 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HI Hostel Hospedarte Chapultepec is your reliable choice in Guadalajara!HI Hostel Hospedarte Chapultepec is the only hostel in Guadalajara certified by Hostelling International Quality System. We offer private ensuite rooms for 1 to 4 people and 8-bed dorms (Beds from 12 USD).We are located in the central & trendy area of Chapultepec Ave. the best night-life area of the city! The best clubs, bars, coffee shops and restaurants within walking distance from the hostel. Downtown area just 7 minutes by bus.Services included: FREE Continental breakfast, Internet access (WiFi in all the hostel and 2 computers for guests), FREE Bikes service, daily maid service, maps & tourist info...Some features: Spacious backyard with hammocks, lounge chairs, BBQ, foosball, Biergarten (bar of the hostel), daily tequila tour from the hostel for only $27 USD, wrestling tour on Tuesday, FREE Pub crawl on Thursday, FREE movie projection on Monday, bike rides and the most helpful & friendly staff!!Stay in a central, clean, affordable and fun hostel, look no further!HI Hospedarte Hostel Chapultepec your home in Guadalajara, live the best experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hostel Guadalajara Hospedarte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing