We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Felt Like Home To Me”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Abril

Casa Abril
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guadalajara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Abril
Ranked #20 of 61 Guadalajara B&B and Inns
Albany, Georgia
1 review
“It Felt Like Home To Me”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2009

I began a 5 week trip through Mexico at Casa Abril, and I'm very glad I did. Stayed 5 nights in a very large & airy room. The window opened onto a view of a large square, and the Cathedral Expiotorio was directly across from my window. Several nights I could hear lovely hymns from the church. The room was clean, cozy with high ceilings and typical clay tile floor. shared a bath, but as there was only 1 other guest, it wasn't a problem. Bath was clean, with a large shower. Everything worked, even the window! There are several rooms here, but the one I would take if traveling alone would be the apartment upstairs on the roof. It has its own private bath, desk and other amenities, including a television. I love the privacy of this room, and the view in the evenings are wonderful.

The owners, Erika and Nestor went out of their way to make us comfortable, including concierge services that certainly were not expected, considering the very reasonable rate! Breakfast is included, and is always prettily served. Nestor worked for several years at a B & B in the States, and obviously learned much of the hospitality industry while there. English is spoken, in varying degrees, even by one of their adorable 3 children.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonniath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
1
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2009

I travelled last year to Guadalajara and stayed with my husband and baby at Casa Abril, the service is great and you have breafast included, wich is great when you want to start early to know the place. The rooms are comfortable and clean, minimalist style, very cosy.

Nestor and Erika are great and will make you feel at home.

The location is ideal, right in front of the Expiatorio Church, and 10 min from Down Town.

Love the place and will definitely come back!!!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flaquitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2009

I stayed at Casa Abril for a month while I attended a language school in Guadalajara. Nestor and Ericka were great hosts and welcomed me into their family. Their children are very well behaved and are alway polite. Their coffee and breakfasts were excellent. Both Erika and Nestor are bilingual, so for English speaking guests they are a good source of information about the city. I think the highlight of the place is its location next to the busy Templo Expiatorio. The church itself is beautiful and the plaza is full of activity from vendors selling food and crafts, to weddings, to free dance lessons. The University of Guadalajara is right up the street and there are many activities going on there as well. Also nearby is Avenida Juarez which is shut down to traffic on Sundays and becomes a mecca for people watching. You will get a feel for the real Mexico when you stay at Casa Abril.

Jack Edwards

  • Liked — The location and the hosts
  • Disliked — bathroom cleanliness
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sylvandr2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guadalajara,mx
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2008

I am a national traveler, from Monterrey N.L Mexico, and i came to Guadalajara to live. My friend from school recommend me Casa Abril and they received me and guide through all my newcomer process as i would never expect from a hostel staff. They were patient, attentive,warm and very well informed about the city. I liked the facilities, but the service is what made me write this. I totally recommend Casa Abril for any traveler.

  • Liked — the staff and the location, very easy to get to anywhere
  • Disliked — sharing bathrooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank regioGuadalajara_mx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.3 mi away
Portobelo Hotel
Portobelo Hotel
#22 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
0.8 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
LA FE Hotel and Arts
LA FE Hotel and Arts
#29 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casino Plaza
Hotel Casino Plaza
#12 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Ganz
Villa Ganz
#5 of 128 in Guadalajara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Abril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Abril

Property: Casa Abril
Address: Calle Escorza # 195, Guadalajara 44160, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Guadalajara
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location, great service and fair prices, by choosing Casa Abril, you will get the best value! We are a B&B located in the historic district, in the prettiest Church plaza in town, a nice and quiet ambiance for you to enjoy. The house has easy access to more than 25 bus lines, only 3 blocks away from the metro, 5 min. walking from downtown; we offer 4 private cozy rooms and the best view of the Expiatorio's church plaza. Services: Yummy Breakfast included, linens, free wifi access in rooms, hot water, sun kissed terrace, meals on request, kids friendly, luggage storage and a home like setting. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing