We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great service great food great prices”
Review of Focaccia Trattoria

Focaccia Trattoria
Ranked #137 of 1,118 Restaurants in Guadalajara
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“great service great food great prices”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

wow were do i start
by far the best meal we have had this week
this place has it all
we went for lunch and were seated right away
we sat outside on a patio overhang and enjoyed the crowd busy talking about the days action in espanol
just what we were looking for
a real authentic place in guadalajara
if your into a fresh salad bar or your into a great california wine
or if your into classic italian dishes you can not go wrong here
the prices are also very low for such flavorful dishes
we had a combo of caprese salad and mushroom/panela pizza to start with we like to try a little bit of everything they were both great
i had the pasta del mar with fresh prawns ,octopus,clams in a bed of fettacine with alfredo sause
my wife had the raviolis which were also fantastic
after 3 bottles of wine we were good to go
we had to have desert
the tirmisu is the choice
be prepared to eat great

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scott r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    29
    9
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
150 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Value Value Value”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We have been for both lunch and dinner many times. Returned last Saturday night, a rainy night in Guadalajara, to find a nearly full restaurant. We had a lovely evening, great service and good food. Generous portions and fair prices here. The included salad bar has variety and volume. It's not an exciting new addition to the Guadalajara restaurant scene, it's more like the comfortable pair of shoes that one always goes back to. Good valet parking, and parking in the area. Note to foreign diners: In Mexico one has lunch from 2-4 and dinner quite late, 10 isn't unusual to walk into a restaurant on a weekend night. This weekend we dined from 10 until 12:30. Have fun here!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fools4Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
647 reviews
451 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Good Value Italian”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We ate dinner at the Focaccia Dec 28/11. The food was nicely presented, the flavors excellent and the included salad bar a treat. The portions were huge so no room for dessert. The wine list has a decent selection and fair pricing. The service was good without being intrusive. We will return to this restaurant on our next visit to GDL. Ted & John.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ted M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“This restaurant should be 178 out of 177!!”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Having dined here 2 or 3 times on previous trips to Guadalajara, we ventured out tonight to dine there again. What a mistake! The restaurant was virtually empty which should have been a clue. After being seated, we were asked if we would like something to drink. My husband said we would like a bottle of wine. A wine list was provided and that was our LAST contact with any personnel from the restaurant. We, foolishly, waited a half an hour before walking out. Having not had any food, I cannot rate it, but suffice to say, the service (actually lack of) was the worst we have EVER had.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Parsis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very nice Italian and great value”
Reviewed August 8, 2010

This is not the greatest restaurant in the world but it is a fantastic value, and the food is delicious. The wine is fairly priced and the salad bar is now included with the pasta and pizza making this probably the best value in guadalajara. The pizza was very nice, could use more sauce in my opinion but well prepared and loaded with toppings. Very flavorful. My wife had a lemon chicken that was delicious. We will go back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Focaccia Trattoria also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to Focaccia Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing