We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay”
Review of Las Sabilas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guadalajara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Sabilas
Ranked #10 of 61 Guadalajara B&B and Inns
Medicine Hat, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A pleasant stay”
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We went to Guadalajara for a "dental vacation", and stayed at Las Sabilas for 8 days. The rooms, gardens,and pool areas are beautifully designed, and are a feast for the eyes. Robert Clarke, the owner, has done an amazing job with the architecture, design and landscape. The matress on our bed was very comfortable. Both Robert , and Raul, his assistant, were extreemly helpful with advice, and information, about Guadalajara. We especially enjoyed meeting the other guests in the common areas and sharing our experiences of Guadalajara with them. It was very casual, and very nice.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexatthehat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    18
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
25
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

I would stay again. I had one of the smaller rooms as I was alone and it was fine for one but it looked as if the suites would have been worth the extra--especially for two people. Easy walk to most places of historical interest and restaurants. A good option for travellers-- maybe not so much so for the holiday inn type.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blanca10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Lovely garden, quiet environment, lovely Max running the Hotel and the very special Robert Clarke is the owner

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BathBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

The reviews on Las Sabilas have been all over the chart. We found the location very convenient to downtown area, however noted the owner said there was a 'new maid, linens, etc.' We didn't experience that. The maid sometimes showed up....the sheets were scratchy and the bath towels threadbare. If you wanted a washcloth or hand towel...you had to go in search of 'one.' The owner and Max (innkeeper) were very personable and helpful, however if you are allergic to smoke you might have some problems. Both of them smoke alot and altho they try to be polite, there's just no getting away from it. The kitchen and computer area always smelled like smoke.
The garden space is lovely...pool isn't heated so not useable in the winter. The garden space and location are the highlights here.
It was a bit of a struggle to find different restaurants for every meal within walking distance, however there was a cab driver who lives across the street.. Downtown Guadalajara is not like San Miguel or PV or Oaxaca where there are many restaurants on each city block.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catter57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

Las Sabilas is a wonderful garden oasis in the middle of one of Mexico's most beautiful cities. Owner Robert Clark, has created a garden setting not to be missed!

Friends and I arrived to Las Sabilas to be greeted by Max (and his sweet dog Lobo), our inn host. Max was a wealth of information regarding places to eat and things to see. However, the setting of the inn was so beautiful it was sometimes hard to leave the tranquil gardens and venture outside and into the city.

When I did finally venture out, I found that Las Sabilas is only a short walk from the main plaza where I enjoyed amazing free entertainment from Scissor Hands walking the streets, to a wonderful art exhibit, ballet folklorio, mariachis, local crafters, the Marcado Liberdad and a huge fruit and vegetable market.

In short, you can't go wrong selecting this inn as your place to stay when visiting the historic part of Guadalajara.

And if you are leaving by bus to Puerto Vallarta, the bus station is just a short taxi ride to Zapopan (about 100 pesos) and you have a choice of wonderful buses west to Tequila, Tepic or Puerto Vallarta.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMartell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

I recently spent a week at this charming little B&B and will definitely be back! It is a small, rustic oasis of peace and tranquility in the heart of the historic district of Guadalajara. I stayed in the Garden Suite and it is simply wonderful. Your private garden adds that extra dimension of calm to your stay. The staff are extremely kind, efficent and helpful. If you are looking for the quiet, private little hotel with an excellent staff and centrally located, this is the place. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank readerguy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

If it only had a good housekeeping staff this place would have it all: quiet neighborhood a short walk from the center, friendly host, free wi fi, free w/d, pool, spectacular garden setting, access to a kitchen, comfortable room with artistic touches. But that's a big 'but.' If you are a stickler for cleanliness, this place probably isn't for you.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainy_day_travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lassabilas, Guest Relations Manager at Las Sabilas, responded to this review, October 30, 2010
We are sorry to hear that you were concerned about our housekeeping. We recently hired a new cleaning lady, Patricia, who we think is great. We have been getting a lot of positive feedback about the job she is doing at Las Sabilas. We take all our reviews very seriously and will continue to work toward maintaining a very clean hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
0.8 mi away
Hotel Casino Plaza
Hotel Casino Plaza
#11 of 129 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Mendoza
Hotel de Mendoza
#32 of 129 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel la Rotonda
Hotel la Rotonda
#73 of 129 in Guadalajara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Roma, Suites & Business Center
1.9 mi away
LA FE Hotel and Arts
LA FE Hotel and Arts
#30 of 129 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Sabilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Sabilas

Property: Las Sabilas
Address: Calle Venustiano Carranza 314, Guadalajara 44280, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Guadalajara
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located a few blocks north of the cathedral and main plazas, in the historic center of Guadalajara. Our property is "tourist class" and the location is typical of local working-class neighborhoods. We boast exceptional gardens and outdoor living spaces. Our facilities are eclectic and somewhat bohemian. Las Sabilas has been closed for 3 years. Now under new ownership. All the rooms have private bathrooms use of pool, kitchen and outdoor spaces. We have one apartment with a private kitchen. We are gay and lesbian friendly. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing