We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Las Sabilas - a great retreat from busy Guadalajara”
Review of Las Sabilas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guadalajara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Sabilas
Ranked #9 of 58 Guadalajara B&B and Inns
Colorado
1 review
“Las Sabilas - a great retreat from busy Guadalajara”
Reviewed May 14, 2009

After the hustle and bustle of downtown Guadalajara, markets, shopping, retreating to our "hotel" at the end of the day was perfect! The gardens are gorgeous - the staff so friendly. Would definitely recommend and stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chica2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    18
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
25
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Ma.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2009

If you seek out really unique small hotels, lush gardens and interesting, worldly people this is the place for you. My husband and I just returned from Guadalajara and Las Sabilas where we rented the Garden Suite for a week. The suite was roomy, well appointed and had great cross ventilation to maximize the wonderful cool evening breezes. Each night we'd fall asleep to the sound of the fountain in our private garden and wish we never had to leave. Robert Clark, the owner, is a gifted garden designer and he has created an extraordinary site where indoors and outdoors flow together seamlessly. Even with our private garden where we could read and lounge, we more often found ourselves in the open "living room" by the pool. Robert is a great host, has traveled all over the world and is genuinely interested in sharing information and learning about his guests. We were heading to Lake Chapala for a few days to look at real estate and Robert went out of his way to provide local contacts who could give us in depth information on the area. His staff, Rebecca and Max are incredibly helpful as well, and tremendous fun to be around. The neighborhood is very tight knit and after a few days we found ourselves greeting and being greeted by folks on the street as we headed to the market. A stay at Las Sabilas allows you to really experience Guadalajara and its people in a way that would be impossible in a commercial hotel. I have never rated any place we have stayed with top marks in all categories before but Las Sabilas truly earns each one. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wellesleywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2009

If you decide to stay at Las Sabilias, it it definitely worth the extra $30 USD per night to stay in the garden suite. You have your own private garden with pond and waterfall to relax in. If you don't want to make small talk with the other quests, this is the place for you. On the other hand, be prepared for a few spiders.

The garden suite could use a thorough cleaning as I found a very large black spider with web living under the sink. After that, we started noticing webs behind the curtains and around the light fixtures. Never saw another spider so not sure where they were. Another thing about the garden suite, there is a "bathroom" but it's not separated from the room. It's part of the room. There is only a 4 foot wall next to the toilet so you do not have any privacy when you are doing your business. That's when your traveling partner enjoys the garden.

The staff was very friendly however, we visited at a time when the owner Robert was not around. One day in particular, we just about ran out of bottled drinking water and ice. Supply was finally replenished about 6 PM. Also, the cafe is not open anymore at least during our visit. All this aside, I would stay at Las Sabilias again and will do so if I return to Mexico.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2009

Once a motorcycle repair shop, Las Sabilas shows what can be created by someone with the vision of Bob Clark. It is an amazing oasis in an area within a few blocks of downtown Guadalajara. Don't be deceived by the view from the street, behind those walls is an oasis in the middle of Guadalajara! Words can't do it justice - it has to be experienced. From the beautiful gardens to the unique accommodations it is truly a different experience.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwistedOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boise
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2009

For the seasoned traveler familiar with the disappointments of U.S. “chain hotels”, Garden Designer Robert Clark’s inspired and hand wrought oasis in the heart of historic, colonial Guadalajara is a necessary experience. Robert says, “guests come for a week and sometimes stay for a month, others, for a year”, eloquently expresses the feel and mood of his “hotelito”, Las Sabilas.
Walk two blocks to a vibrant “farmers” market for everything you could possibly need to prepare your own feasts in the guest kitchen or stock the refrigerator with anything that meets your personal needs.
The slowly changing international guest list will provide not only precious incites and ideas for your own travel experiences but abundant opportunity to converse on the subjects of the day…with an international twist seldom available to the less adventurous traveler.
An onsite restaurant operated by chef Luis will gladly prepare afternoon and evening meals and strong, locally grown and roasted coffee will make your quiet contemplative mornings remain in your mind long after your stay.
Jim Spicka
Boise, Idaho

  • Liked — authentic, for well travelled citizens of the world
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank expat2beboise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2008

This is an amazing oasis right in the middle of a big city. The wonderful garden and pool are surrounded by just a few guest rooms all beautifully decorated with local color and art. It's a "one of a kind" and well worth the price.

  • Liked — The Garden
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTravelerJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2008

I really hate to tell anyone else about this place, but they deserve the praise. This is a amazing place right in the heart of Guadalajara (funky real neighborhood just blocks from the center). The gardens are stunning, the buildings/rooms are gorgeous, and Bob the owner is the perfect friendly, bright, low-key and interesting host.

They seemed to love our 3 young kids (which is astounding, given that this is a romantic little place) who loved the heated pool, the smoothies and incredible pancakes at the attached cafe that Bob is seeming to sponsor.

for $70? are you kidding me?

  • Liked — beauty
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bellinghamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
0.6 mi away
Hotel Real Maestranza
Hotel Real Maestranza
#12 of 128 in Guadalajara
64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Mendoza
Hotel de Mendoza
#27 of 128 in Guadalajara
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Guadalajara Country Club
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
0.8 mi away
Hotel Casino Plaza
Hotel Casino Plaza
#16 of 128 in Guadalajara
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Sabilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Sabilas

Property: Las Sabilas
Address: Calle Venustiano Carranza 314, Guadalajara 44280, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Guadalajara
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located a few blocks north of the cathedral and main plazas, in the historic center of Guadalajara. Our property is "tourist class" and the location is typical of local working-class neighborhoods. We boast exceptional gardens and outdoor living spaces. Our facilities are eclectic and somewhat bohemian. Las Sabilas has been closed for 3 years. Now under new ownership. All the rooms have private bathrooms use of pool, kitchen and outdoor spaces. We have one apartment with a private kitchen. We are gay and lesbian friendly. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing