We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hideaway in Guadalajara City Centre”
Review of Las Sabilas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guadalajara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Sabilas
Ranked #9 of 58 Guadalajara B&B and Inns
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful hideaway in Guadalajara City Centre”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This place was the best of my Guadalajara trip. It's a lovely, warm, welcoming B&B or rather "guest house" with amazing gardens and an amazing host: north american landscape designer Robert Clark. The place is an oasis, once you are there you hardly want to leave. The place has a lovely pool, nice kitchen and outdoor garden with scents that will charm you completely. The garden suite is wonderful and has a private garden which is unbearably pretty, a great place for a retreat, only thing is you have to be OK with bugs if you want to stay at the garden suite.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esputnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    18
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
25
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Las Sabilas is like a diamond in the rough. The owner is an professional gardener who has turned his property into his artistic playground. We found that, after spending an afternoon downtown in the chaos which is Guadalajara, this quiet and quirky refuge was exactly what we were craving.

The owner is really laid-back and sat by the pool, smoking and chatting with us for a couple hours. Otherwise, he just kind of handed us the keys to front door and disappeared for two days. It was almost like doing air B&B- lots of privacy, you've got kitchen and laundry access etc, but don't expect anyone to indulge you with traveling advice.

The walk is a good 10-15 minutes from the main plaza, and felt safe, though at night the streets aren't well lit. We would not have wanted to walk alone.

Worth noting: the owner has the fountain going during the night, which might be bothersome if you are sensitive to sound (we were staying by the pool though--it might not affect other rooms). And yes, we found a preying mantis in the bathroom- but cmon thats awesome!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Incorita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We went around and around before finally landing on a week-long stay at Las Sabilas... Were there bugs around? Yes. Was there a cat in our room at night? Yes. Was all of this a little bit strange, but also awesome? YES! Las Sabilas is not a luxury accommodation, but it is comfortable, has a nice location and is a very UNIQUE place to stay.
We had 2 of the rooms, with 3 adults and 2 toddlers... we walked to the nearby market to get fresh fruit, smoothies, and bread each morning... we sat by the pool and used the communal kitchen... it was not a "typical" place to stay, but had so many nice features (like the beautiful garden)-- we kept taking pictures!
We had a really good experience at Las Sabilas-- not without its little inconveniences--but overall a good value and a fun, memorable place to stay.

Room Tip: Big room by the front (with the kitchen) was nice for our family, but a little loud and dusty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chapala jalisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We just got back to Lakeside from a couple of nights in Las Sabilas, and we were reluctant to leave! The vibrant colors of our room, the stained glass accents, the comfortable bed and chairs, the wall lights, all made me wish I was half as skilled at creating decor and atmosphere. The quiet and very effective large ceiling fan kept us cool, I cannot imagine why anyone would fault it for not having air conditioning....how ridiculous, it isn't the Holiday Inn Express! It's a delightful and romantic jewel set in a quiet and safe neighborhood only 5 blocks from the city center, and decorated with an amazing garden and sparkling clean pool. The owner is a charming man who is a well known horticulturist and garden designer in this area, and he is happy to sit and chat and share information on the area and the gorgeous flowers and plants that grace this peaceful hidden gem. Pets are truly welcome, and my little dog so enjoyed himself too! I've stayed at many "boutique hotels" where I have paid three times as much and not felt so wonderfully at home as at Las Sabilas. It's absolutely perfect.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful and original . All are completely quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosfreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My family and I arrived at Las Sabilas via taxi and were all so very excited to see the place based on all the rave Tripadvisor reviews....but OMG...what a horrible place it was. The rooms were filled with every kind of bug imaginable, there was no airconditioning, blankets, sheets and towels were old, faded and frayed, the shower and toilet in the master room afforded absolutely no privacy, the pool left my kids' feet blue and both rooms were dirty and dusty.

We somehow managed to pass the night with very little sleep. Most of our waking hours were spent chasing flying bugs around the room. First thing in the morning we found a magnificent hotel far far away from this monstrosity. For a moment, I thought I had found myself in the middle of the Twilight Zone for it was nearly impossible to find a taxi in front of Las Sabilas. We all breathed a combined sigh of relief knowing we were never to see this place again.

P.S. We traveled in June of 2010. The pull down menu on here doesn't go that far back.

Room Tip: Please pass this place on your way to something way better....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travlingman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halethorpe, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I LOVED THIS PLACE! If you're worried about doors that maybe squeak, or don't even exist, this is not the place for you. BUT: if you are an adventurous soul who appreciates the delicate tile work in the bathrooms and doesn't mind curtains instead of doors (only in some of the rooms), well, this is a complete slice of private heaven! My only regret is that I did not write this place up sooner. We stayed, (12 family/friends) at Las Sabilas and enjoyed ourselves endlessly. We had a complete breakfast of fresh food each morning, as the local market is a couple of short blocks away. There was always a smile to greet us in the morn, along with the freshly brewed strong coffee and a WONDERFUL proprietor who was a gentleman in the true sense of the word. Visually, this place is ecstasy. If you like to photograph, this is the place where unique shots can be taken. If you want relaxation, this is the place to stretch out after a leisurely swim in the pool - just lay down in your bed with the window open and listen to the fountains lull you to sleep. If you want to be within walking distance of all the main attractions of Guadalajara, this is the place that must be your vacation destination. Considering we are a boisterous, multi-generational, multi-cultural family, there is rarely a place that can cater to every need and whim we have - but Las Sabilas accommodated us in every way. What deliciously delirious memories we have! Thank you, Las Sabilas!

Room Tip: Call them and explain who is in your party - adults? Elders? Children? For couples, there's a be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank svetpesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

My friend and I hugely enjoyed Las Sabilas. The charm of our room in such a beautiful and lush garden setting was delightful. Although the swimming pool was being repaired while we we there, we were able to use another pool a couple of blocks away owned by the owners of Las Sabilas. Bob and Luis, the owners, were most enjoyable to visit with and helpful in orienting us to Guadalajara. We'll definitely recommend this hotel to others and we are looking forward to returning some day.

Room Tip: Try to get the garden casita.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Len L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
0.8 mi away
Hotel Casino Plaza
Hotel Casino Plaza
#14 of 128 in Guadalajara
243 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Ganz
Villa Ganz
#5 of 128 in Guadalajara
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Mendoza
Hotel de Mendoza
#31 of 128 in Guadalajara
361 reviews
0.9 mi away
Olga Querida
Olga Querida
#4 of 58 in Guadalajara
97 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Alebrijes Hotel
Casa Alebrijes Hotel
#2 of 58 in Guadalajara
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Sabilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Sabilas

Property: Las Sabilas
Address: Calle Venustiano Carranza 314, Guadalajara 44280, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Guadalajara
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located a few blocks north of the cathedral and main plazas, in the historic center of Guadalajara. Our property is "tourist class" and the location is typical of local working-class neighborhoods. We boast exceptional gardens and outdoor living spaces. Our facilities are eclectic and somewhat bohemian. Las Sabilas has been closed for 3 years. Now under new ownership. All the rooms have private bathrooms use of pool, kitchen and outdoor spaces. We have one apartment with a private kitchen. We are gay and lesbian friendly. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing