We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good steakhouse with a nice wine selection”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Estancia Gaucha

La Estancia Gaucha
Ranked #35 of 1,096 Restaurants in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Astros & Firmamento
Level Contributor
239 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good steakhouse with a nice wine selection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

The place is open and comfortable, with specialties in beef and argentinian delicacies, service is prompt.

They do have a very nice wine selection with options from Argentina, Mexico and US. Definitively a very nice place for a good steak in a nice atmosphere.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GerardoFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    69
    24
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“This is the best place for steak in Guadalajara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I go to Guadalajara for business every two weeks so I've been around the place, I've tried different restaurants but honestly I always have to go back to La Estancia Gaucha. The food is excellent, watch out with portion sizes though, they are big so it's ok to share. The service is friendly and efficient. My favorites are Vacio, Bife Chorizo, Churrasco and the Brocheta. The meat is very good, tender and with flavor. I normally ask the steak medium rare and brought to the table on a hot iron plate. That way it cooks up a bit more and doesn't get cold. The side salad is great too. I never make it to dessert but my colleagues swear they're very good.
They have a good wine list and being in Guadalajara I would suggest starting with a white tequila.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Homero M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Level Contributor
129 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“The best argentinian steaks ever”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

The best argentinian grill in guadalajara, churrasco steak is amazing, the potato fries are great, empanadas are good but really expensive, everything is expensive here, but worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jelpspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
259 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“My best steak outside Argentina”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Honestly, the meat I ate at Estancia Gaucha was the best I´ve had so far outside Argentina. Very tender meat cooked to perfection (including typical Argentine starters such as mollejas and chinchullin), with excellent house sauces and salad; and an ample choice of wines. Service is also exemplary, the only minus goes to atmosphere - this is a very upscale place, at lunchtime there are almost exclusively businesspeople, so it lacks the spontaneity, laughter and charm of a typical parrilla. But besides that and being almost 5000 miles away from Buenos Aires, i guess it is as close as it could possibly get.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martinzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The best "churrasco" ever!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have had the opportunity to eat a good steak in several places, but I can't tell you, there is no better steak than La Estancia Gaucha's. And the salad on the side is a dream. If you are in Guadalajara, Mexico, this place is definitely a must. Try as well the "empanadas" and "chinchulines". Service is impecable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AOrozco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Estancia Gaucha also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to La Estancia Gaucha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing