We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Steak House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Estancia Gaucha

La Estancia Gaucha
Ranked #34 of 1,067 Restaurants in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Astros & Firmamento
Hermosillo, Mexico
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Steak House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Steaks are great, cooked at its best. I tried Asado de Tira and was very good, but the star of my dinner were Empanadas de Carne. The atmosphere is classy but casual. Service is very atentive and friendly, and prices are Ok. Do not miss it!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chamukin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    66
    24
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
120 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“La Estancia Gaucha”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I've made two visits to La Estancia Gaucha recently while visiting Guadalajara for business. I have not been disappointed yet! My favorite on the menu is Medallions Provencal. This dish has two large medallions and some brown sauce with garlic, asparagus, and potato. Very juicy meat, a great cut! That being said, my colleagues have all enjoyed their steaks as well. The salad is really well liked too, even though it is quite simple. Each meal comes with rolls and salsa. The menu is quite large with many different cuts, and the prices are reasonable. There are also other items on the menu such as seafood and pasta if beef is not your thing. We usually get a plate of fries to come with the meal as well. The empnada appetizer is popular as well. This is a great steak restaurant, or a nice change of pace if you are craving something other than Mexican.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ead_angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, New York, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Recommend! Bill from New York”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

I would recommend this restaurant very much. The service was good, waiter was timely and friendly. Food was excellent! Sat at a small table in the back of the restaurant near waterfall and pond! Very relaxing atmosphere. Liquor list was very impressive! Most liquors, beer and ale's from around the world was available. Restaurant was very busy and our wait for our table was minimal. Would recommend and will be visiting again.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“the best steaks in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

very popular with locals, try the one in Punto sao Paulo.
very nice area of Guadalajara

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Toussaint1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“GREAT Steak!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is the place where I had one of my best steaks ever, and I travel a lot (USA included), steaks are usually my "go to" menu choices. The Vacio here is a perfect steak, if one does exist.... highly recommend it. Restaurant is also very nice, much bigger than you would expect and at +6PM was almost 75% full, and who knows Guadalajara usual dinner time knows this is something...
I would recommend this pace for business, couples and even family.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SorinMihaescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Estancia Gaucha also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to La Estancia Gaucha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing