We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Step back in time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Archaeological Zone of Xochicalco

Archaeological Zone of Xochicalco
Book In Advance
More Info
$100.00*
and up
Private Day Tour of Xochicalco Archaeological Site and Cuernavaca
Ranked #1 of 45 things to do in Cuernavaca
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Xochicalco was the oldest known fortress in Middle America and an important religious center.
Lajitas, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

The most eye opening part of my visit to Xochicalco, were the game fields. I remember watching a Disney movie with my son where they played the game, and when I saw the actual field, I immediately took a picture and sent to my son. The stories about what the meetings that took place here were fascinating. Our guide took each engraving and explained what they meant. It really amazes you that all of this took place thousands of years ago. If you are in this area, please go, well worth the visit.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank sterri1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    104
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Some unique views of history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

As in all the ancient historic sites I have visited, Xochicalco offers its own unique look at life in the classic period. Particularly interesting at this site, are the ball courts, one of which still boasts the rings mounted in the walls (this was the first I have seen), the observatory that consists of a cave modified to include a 'chimney' about 27 feet long using the sun to determine specific points in time and the temple of the feathered serpent. The museum boasts a number of artifacts from the site and information signs are in english. A local guide can give you a better understanding of the site and the culture. Well worth a visit

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravellerJJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Well worth the drive from Cuernavaca - a highlight of our trip. Stunning views and don't miss the cave.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank kvetcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“hire a guide to learn more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

It is a stunning site, being restored and has a fantastic museum and view. The guide to us into the observatory, had lots of history to share and made it very rich. Had also been in the spring of 2012 but this time there seemed to be a bit more english signage.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank KellyHamil2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome: In the true meaning of the word”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

This place is huge. And beautiful. And jam-packed with history. (We had an excellent guide, or we would not have known all this history.) Its vistas are far-ranging, and the sophistication of the people who designed and built it is staggering. They had a sewer system! In the 7th century! It is a beautiful site. We even crept in the dark into the mountain observatory. Strenuous climbing (I am 70) well worth every huff and puff.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank shmatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archaeological Zone of Xochicalco also viewed

 

Been to Archaeological Zone of Xochicalco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing