We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best part of our trip.”
Review of Casa del Artista

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cuernavaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa del Artista
Ranked #15 of 54 Cuernavaca B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Best part of our trip.”
Reviewed March 17, 2005

We stayed in the very comfortable bungalow of Casa del Artista for 4 nights in February 2005 and it was the most relaxing and enjoyable part of our two weeks in Mexico.

Rosalia and Cecil and their daughter Neesa were excellent hosts and always had time for conversation or to answer our questions about what to see or do in Cuernavaca. Lydia, the housekeeper, was very helpful and always smiled. The other guests were interesting and friendly.

The house is beautiful, well laid out and comfortable, with ample common areas, a nice, private yard with citrus and banana trees, lots of flowers and a pool. Lydia made fresh squeezed juice for us from limonettos that my wife picked from a tree in the yard.

A Carlos and Charlies is about 3 blocks away. Downtown (Centro/Zocalo) is about a 15 minute ride on a # 18 bus which you can catch on Avenue Domingo Diaz adjacent to the Carlos and Charlies. Fare is 4 or 5 pesos.

Rosalia recommended a restaurant called Gaia. It was excellent. We went back the next night. A full meal for two, appetizer through dessert, with a bottle of nice Mexican nebbiolo, was less than $80 (dollars). In Chicago it would have been at least twice as much at a comparable restaurant.

We highly recommend the Casa del Artista and hope to return in a couple of years.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 30, 2004

This is a two-fisted recommendation for a bed and breakfast which oozes comfort ;and for a collage workshop replete with all the tools needed to accomplish satisfying work. The Casa is handsome. One cannot think of a person in the world not wanting to live there. Rosalia runs the establishment as the background for interesting people. She is welcoming, informative, a grand chef and teacher of Mexican cuisine,a very good companion and a fabulous hostess. Cecil is an artist. Also a grand teacher in an art form which is hard to describe. He gave up his entire days to our endeavors and was willing to take us shopping afterward. We came away from Cuernavaca enriched by the entire experience. We were comfortable. We learned. And we laughed.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2004

Like a marble palace with trees and swimming pool, this is a wonderful retreat. From the colourful streets of Cuernavaca, you step in through the door in the high wall and it's a different world. Wonderful art on every wall, and perfect hosts who speak both English and Spanish and are willing to show visitors all the delights of their town. Couldn't be better.

Helpful?
2 Thank TaranakiArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 23, 2004

The pleasure of this small, soothingly quiet, and moderately priced bed & breakfast was heightened
by the attention and solicitude of its owners, Norte Americano Cecil Touchon--an accomplished artist & photographer whose works fill their homey abode
and his Mexican wife, Rosalia + plus their vivacious
young daughter, Nisa. Cecil & Rosalia, in addition to providing a broad knowledge of Cuernavaca and environs, escorted us to their favorite neighborhood restaurant and the next day to the colorful Wednesday market at Tepoztlan.
Additional kudos go to Cecil for making his internet
phone available for FREE phone calls home--an outstanding perk considering the cost faced at other lodgings or necessity to purchase a phone card and locate/use the noisy public phones.
For those seeking a more personal stay in Cuernavaca, strongly consider this congenial B&B.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 22, 2004

A home away from home, The Casa del Artista is an art lovers dream! We spent a lovely week in the bungalow, quiet, low-key, extremely clean and comfortable. The hosts are uproariously fun and accomodating. This gem is a great get away and Cecil and Rosalia go above and beyond to show you the sights, make sure you eat VERY well and are attentive to your every wish. A five star vacation!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2004

My husband and I and four year old daughter spent a remarkably peaceful and delicious week at this fabulous b and b. Clean, quiet, phenomenal breakfasts and optional scrumptious dinners. A lovely location great for walking day or night. The attentive yet un-intrusive service of the hosts was exactly what we had hoped for. We would definately return on a future trip and cannot stop talking about our wonderful experience there. We miss our hosts and their lovely daughter Nissa!

Helpful?
1 Thank GBL2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 1, 2004

My partner and I had such a great time in Cuernavaca, MX, thanks to Rosalea and Cecil Touchon!! We stayed at Casa Del Artista for about 5 days, and enjoyed the many sites in Cuernavaca, but mostly enjoyed the peace and quiet of the Inn. Cecil and Rosalea went over and above as hosts -- driving us to wonderful markets in Tepotzlan, and sometimes, when time permitted, around the city of Cuernavaca. It was beautiful, and a wonderful trip. I would encourage anyone to stay at Casa Del Artista. Its a wonderful opportunity to view some great art (thanks to Cecil!), and to enjoy some lovely people in the heart of the city. Not far from Mexico City, don't be afraid to "poke" around -- one night Cecil and Rosalea made a wonderful, authentic Mexican dinner. It was good friends, good food and comfortable living at its height. Many, many thanks, and say "hi" to Nisa for me!!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuernavaca hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa Del Conquistador
Villa Del Conquistador
#24 of 64 in Cuernavaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel VF
Hotel VF
#17 of 64 in Cuernavaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.5 mi away
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Cuernavaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Las Casas B+B Hotel
Las Casas B+B Hotel
#2 of 64 in Cuernavaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Bejar Cuernavaca
Villa Bejar Cuernavaca
#12 of 64 in Cuernavaca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Spa Posada Tlaltenango
Hotel Spa Posada Tlaltenango
#21 of 64 in Cuernavaca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Artista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Artista

Property: Casa del Artista
Address: Calle de Las Piedras 307, Cuernavaca 62270, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Morelos > Cuernavaca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Cuernavaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa Del Artista is a four bedroom bed and breakfast and gallery of a contemporary American artist/private art dealer and his wife living in Cuernavaca, Mexico. This lovely home where high modernism meets Cuernavaca casual was built by an insightful Italian archetect in the 90's and serves as a striking and harmonious backdrop for the elegant gallery space that doubles for the lounge and dining area of the guests who make La Casa del Artista their home away from home when in Cuernavaca. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing