We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best restaurants I've been to in Mexico!”
Review of Las Mananitas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Las Mananitas
Ranked #10 of 59 Hotels in Cuernavaca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Eating here is a wonderful experience. You first order a drink and sit on lawn chairs surrounded by peacocks and exotic birds. Free finger food is provided. After you order, and the menu is quite extensive, you are seated in the restaurant when the food is ready. The servings are plentiful, and the price is quite reasonable. We had a large lunch for 3 including drinks for $62. It is worth wondering around. There is an adjacent pool and garden area on one side, and another garden with a koi pond. We did not stay in the hotel, but I understand that people routinely travel from Mexico City to Cuernavaca just to dine here. It is certainly worth the trip, and I'm looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BT20812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
There are newer reviews for Las Mananitas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 227 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

Las Mananitas is a lush urban oasis, walled off from the gritty streets around it, patrolled by peacocks, flamingos and a toucan. It's a hacienda-style building complex just minutes from the zocalo. Gracious service, efficient front desk, meticulously clean.

High-ceilinged rooms with plenty of closet space and large bathrooms. Comfy bed and nice coffee-maker. We left our balcony screen door open, and a huge peacock strolled in and left a calling card. The electronic key-card was a hassle, not functioning about half the time.

Great patio restaurant, although the breakfast fruit plate was small for the price. The lunch menu, however, offered the best ceviche verde I've ever had. Shrimp, scallops, avocado, cilantro...icy cold...the best.

A rowdy wedding in the compound kept us up late one night with fireworks and a live band, but it was OK. The shadowy sight of peacocks in the trees at sunrise is haunting.

The Dia de Los Muertos display was colorful and funny. Las Mananitas is a classic place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdub333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I was in Cuernavaca staying at the Girl Guides World Centre and one night all the guiders went out for dinner. In our party of twenty there were 4 different nationalities and the food suited all of us. After a fortnight of mass catering for a 100 people (think spicy school dinners) it was a real treat.

The hotel was lovely and so beautiful. We loved the Cocktails and enjoyed sharing the gardens with the friendly peacocks and parrots. If only this restaurant was nearer I would go back in a heartbeat. Given what the corresponding restaurant would cost in the UK it was really reasonable and I dream about the Pina Coladas regurlarly

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemissbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

The grounds are gorgeous and meticulously maintained. Charming patio restaurant with excellent food. Room was a bit dated and worn but other aspects of the hotel more than made up for it. The spa is absolutely beautiful and overall the service was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HamlinGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We had heard glowing reviews of this hotel from friends and family, so when we went to Mexico, we made a trip to Cuernavaca exclusively to stay here for a quiet getaway. The city is a place for residents of DF to get away from the bustling capital, and this hotel is just the perfect place to detach and unwind.
This is a classic, hacienda style hotel with extensive gardens, courtyards, fountains and pools on the serene grounds. There is even a collection of gorgeous peacocks, flamingos and other exotic birds gracefully sauntering around the gardens. This place is immaculate. Highly recommended for a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant, is one of the legendary places in Cuernavaca , they start years ago, and kept a good repetition.
The reason is clear.
Very cultural place, with European touch.
Open garden with flamingos.
Not loud mariachi band .
Good service, clean and very ecstatic.

The food- well, some would say wow the other will say 70% of the other restaurants in Mexico offer similar menu.
I think, it's good food and great Flavors, specially the mushroom soup.
It's a bit pricy, but if you looking for good place to eat in cluerna, so this is the one.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sagivamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed at Las Mananitas with my family, a party of 5, for four nights. In my opinion the Spa was excellent (maybe 5 stars). It's the only spa I have ever visited where pet pink flamingos walk calmly around the reception area. The restaurant is very good, possibly four stars. The service is old fashioned and formal, the food well prepared with often rich complicated sauces or side dishes (not the place for a diet!). It is the open to the garden feel of the restaurant layout that is the most unique feature, with palm trees and pet parrots visible from your table. The garden theme continues through out with vast lawns and a perfect blue swimming pool. These large gardens are an absolute necessity and Cuernavaca outside the front door is a grimy polluted workaday town with heavy pollution and crazy traffic.

Across the road from the hotel, Cuernatours were excellent in helping us with our transfers to and from Mexico City Airport, a day-trip to Xochicalco and Tepotzlan (a unesco world heritage site and archaeological marvel with no other visitors when we went there). Vincente was our driver and he spoke excellent English and was very helpful.

We had mixed feelings about the hotel (three stars). Comfortable enough, but the rooms were a disappointment. We had the Mananitas suite with two bedrooms and a large lounge room and terrace over looking the garden. The atmosphere is that you are staying with your elderly Mexican maiden aunt. It's high ceilings, dark wood and dim lighting unless you sit on the terrace. WE called our lounge "the grotto" as it reminded us of a cave. There are kitsch 1950's artworks on the walls (who knows they may be fashionable in another 10 years again but at this point in time a lot of the artwork looks dated). Most importantly, the suite was built around a ventilation duct and the smaller bedroom had no natural light apart from a small window opening onto the duct.

So in conclusion a hard establishment to rate. Friendly service, good food, a lovely spa and dark old fashioned rooms.

Room Tip: Sak about natural light, if this bothers you. The Mananitas Suite was dark.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrismcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuernavaca hotels
1.2 mi away
Anticavilla Restaurant, Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Las Casas B+B Hotel
Las Casas B+B Hotel
#2 of 59 in Cuernavaca
358 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Hacienda de Cortes
Hotel Hacienda de Cortes
#11 of 59 in Cuernavaca
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Occidental Cuernavaca
Occidental Cuernavaca
#5 of 59 in Cuernavaca
277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique La Casa Azul
Hotel Boutique La Casa Azul
#21 of 59 in Cuernavaca
152 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa de Campo
Hotel Boutique Casa de Campo
#6 of 59 in Cuernavaca
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Mananitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Mananitas

Address: Calle Ricardo Linares 107, Cuernavaca 62000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Morelos > Cuernavaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cuernavaca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cuernavaca
#6 Spa Hotel in Cuernavaca
Price Range: $171 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Mananitas 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Las Mananitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Mananitas Hotel Cuernavaca
Las Mananitas Cuernavaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing