We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place but needs up to date renovating”
Review of Camino Real Sumiya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Camino Real Sumiya
Ranked #20 of 59 Hotels in Cuernavaca
Cancun
Level Contributor
204 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Lovely place but needs up to date renovating”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Service was awesome, restaurant was very good, can't beat landscape. Rooms are nice but he overall feeling is that you are walking trough 1970's or 80's please renovate common areas. Rooms do not feel old

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank uvamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    102
    84
    40
    29
See reviews for
110
113
5
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

It has wonderful gardens and the Japanese architecture is amazing; the food is also excellent. However the rooms are equipped with old technology, I expect an excellent WiFi, modern air conditioning, also a modern gym.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank EGSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valle de Bravo, Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are old, internet doesnt work even paying 300 USD/night. Can connect but functions dont work at all on iphone - netflix for example. Staff cant solve the problem.
The garden is beautiful though.
Mosquitos can kill you by 6 pm.
Gym is from 1980: old, dirty and equipments out of service.
Shower with low pressure.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LFonseca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca, Mexico
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Last time my wife and I were here it was very expensive to stay for meals. This time we were prepared and didn't eat in there and also I used my Sky-team miles to pay the stay and didn't spend a single dollar.

Still, the first night was horrible, the mattress was so hard that our backs hurt like hell the next day (we were located at the first floor in 'Cerezo' building). Of course we complained and we were moved to an upper level (3rd floor) and the change was huge. First, they don't charge you with neither the bottled water nor the coffee service, which makes me think that first floor is for internet-deal customers or to whomever does not pay the standard $300 USD per night rate, but they won't let you know this, so if you happen stay in there, ask for a 3rd or 4th floor no matter what building it is.

Room Tip: Choose 3rd or 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel_Gecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, Connecticut
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband, Bill and I, have family in Cuernavaca; we went to visit them for 1 week statying at the most, beautiful hotel Camino Real Sumiya.It is situated in a very private area. The gardens were magnificients; the service impeccaple, rooms very clean, 2 pools, tennis courts,massages ect, our grandchildren, age 2 and 8 had a wonderful time; they enjoyed the sushi at the restaurant ; the food was very well presented and succulant; buffet breakfest amazing; from juices to fancy mexican omelet; we truly enjoyed our vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matsy33919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed here for a night on a business retreat, and really loved the place: it's green and quiet, and the rooms are quite comfortable. It's a couple of hours away from Mexico City airport, and don't be afraid if your taxi driver takes you through narrow streets that look like they can't possibly lead to a 4 or 5-star resort: that's really the way to get there!
The gym and other parts of the hotel look like they've seen better days, but everything is fully functional, and the food is quite good. My only complaint: times don't mean a thing in here. "Your food will be delivered to your room in 20-30 minutes" translated into 45, and "your taxi will be here in 10 minutes, or 15 if there's traffic" meant a whole hour. But that matches what I've seen in plenty of other places in Mexico.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielWeiHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

It is obvious that management does not read or probably care about trip advisor reviews . That says enough about why this hotel is never going to get good ratings untill they do something about this lack of profesionalism.
It is not a good hotel and the reviews show serious issues with service, food, and the rooms which not only are outdated and lack maintenance , also poorly constructed so noises from other rooms and passageways are amplified . Great location although complicated to get to and FAR from the city centre . Management needs to do something positive NOW. Be distinct or be extinct.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank vagabondMexicoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuernavaca hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cuernavaca
Holiday Inn Cuernavaca
#16 of 59 in Cuernavaca
209 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fiesta Inn Cuernavaca
Fiesta Inn Cuernavaca
#3 of 59 in Cuernavaca
439 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa de Campo
Hotel Boutique Casa de Campo
#6 of 59 in Cuernavaca
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Anticavilla Restaurant, Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cuernavaca
3.4 mi away
Las Casas B+B Hotel
Las Casas B+B Hotel
#2 of 59 in Cuernavaca
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Sumiya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Sumiya

Property: Camino Real Sumiya
Address: Int Fraccionamiento Sumiya S/N | Jiutepec, Morelos, Cuernavaca 62550, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Morelos > Cuernavaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 59 Hotels in Cuernavaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camino Real Sumiya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Camino Real Sumiya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Sumiya Cuernavaca
Cuernavaca Hotel Camino Real Sumiya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing