We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ups and downs”
Review of Camino Real Sumiya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Camino Real Sumiya
Ranked #18 of 59 Hotels in Cuernavaca
mexico city
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“ups and downs”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I just stayed for a couple of nights, the service at the pool is quite good, until we asked for some shrimp tacos and they brought my snack and not my bf's food, they have to serve both dishes at the same time, so we canceled the order and we better went to the sumiya restaurant, which is quite good, the service is great here.
At this hotel you can find two pools, one semiolympic (this one is at the sumiya club) and the other one where you find the cascada restaurant, both pools are heated, eventhough you´ll feel water a bit cold.
The food at the buffette is average nothing extraordinaire, the french toast is the worst I've ever tried.
I had room 3104 which is almost a basement, rooms at this level are super cold at night, make sure you get one with pool view at least.
This hotel is worth it beacuse of the japanese architecture, it's ok to stay just for the weekend... i´ve been three times in Camino Real hotels, and still don't convince me, something that made me really mad was that the chairs by the pool does not have a matress, even if you place double towel your back and butt will still hurt. Chairs must be comfortable !!! spend some money and fix this!

Room Tip: get a room in the buildings that are around the pool, and on the second or third level preferably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PauSupernova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    105
    86
    42
    29
See reviews for
114
116
5
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

The hotel is gorgeous!!! gardens, waterfalls, nature, all of which automatically reflects, peace, quiet, relaxation...it's the ideal place to escape for a weekend just to chill and relax and enjoy the silence and the nature. Having said that, I wouldn't go back...Even though the hotel is beautiful, the rooms and the atmosphere makes you feel like you are in a secluded Japanese retreat..the service is absolutely terrible. We were at the pool for a while and nobody is there to serve you snacks or drinks, and whenever a lost waiter appears in the pool area and you order something, it takes them like 20 minutes to get you a simple soda! Imagine what it took them to bring you the check! Also, if you want food, first you need to order it from your room and they bring it to the pool area...
The rooms are nice, but outdated, they don't even have flatscreen TVs and the most preposterous thing is that they charge you for the internet access!! and it's not cheap either! When we got to our room there were no shampoos or toilette treats and when we requested them to the lobby, it took them like 30 minutes to get them to us!

By the way, if you're looking to party at night, enjoy drinks with your friends or go to a club or something, you better be ready to drive a long way, because the hotel is located at the most remote location in Cuernavaca and to get there you have to go through like 100 speed bumps!! and the hotel has no night life or any kind of entertainment...

To sum up, if you are looking to relax, enjoy nature and escape from the city noise, this is the place to go, but don`t expect to be treated like someone special or receive top-of-the-line service, because you just won't...I can tell you that there are very beautiful hotels in Cuernavaca with better service than this one.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julian0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Although this hotel is not what it used to be 5 years ago it still a nice property.
Rooms:
They are outdated and although they are very clean and the size is ok, the decoration is not what it should be. The hotel should consider changing their rooms or at least bringing soft and not hard beds.

Location: Not the best, it is a bit isolated from the nice part of Cuernavaca and you have to cross a large section of houses to get here.

Amenities: The place is just wonderful, from the entrance to the lobby and the park, it is just a small paradise in Mexico. But I kind of think that the pools should get renovated.

Restaurant: The japanese restaurant although very nice and great food is a bit pricy just for the fact that is in Cuernavaca. This is not a 5 star hotel and the restaurant rates are a bit higher than they should.

In General the hotel is great although is getting old. If you are undecided in whether to stay here I would recommend it but only if you get a room under 180 USD.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oscar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queretaro City, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

This place is awsome just when you are outside, but rooms are disgusting. Price is too high and it is not clean at all. I got a lizard and some roachs at my room and when I reported this to the staff, they were rude and got upset, I had to call twice to ask them to catch those creepy animals. The "Arboledas" restaurant has a poor buffet with lame food. I've opened a claim in their website but the Camino Real director called me just to say we really sorry but that is not going to pay the $280 usd per night I spent during the week we visited cuernavaca. I'm a Holiday Inn priority club member and feel bad about prefer this hotel which is dirty, poor in the rooms and much more expensive than Holiday Inn where internet by example is for free and bottle of water also.

Room Tip: All rooms are stinky and old fashioned without maintenance
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cuernavaca hotels

Pasadena, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This hotel was highly recommended because of the safety measures and location. The hotel is nice, clean and the grounds are beautiful. We also upgraded to have a continental breakfast included. We met a couple from Texas who have been staying at this hotel for years and return annually. The hotel uses only the Linea Victoria radio taxis which we found to be very helpful. We got the business card from the driver and when we were out we would call them to have them pick us up or if we were at a restaurant we would have the staff call for us. The average taxi ride was 60 pesos (less than $6). This allowed us to go all over the city by day or night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Back2Pasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Designed by Hutton in a Japanese style--very unique for Mexico. We were there with a tour group that we organized of about 30 people. We chose this one on the advice of some friends and we were not disappointed. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed. All the usual amenities were there. The pool area was very nice and isolated. The service was excellent as we had to change a few rooms and they were very accomodating.. Food was adequate but not spectacular.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Excoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Knowing the hotel chain Camino Real, we expected this one to be the same but it wasn't. Fortunately, we book via travel agency and the price was a 60% lower than the regular hotel rates, but if you paid the 3000 MXP they charge you regularly, you would feel robbed.

There is no free internet access, it's an extra 168 MPX for a 24hr access. The coffee service at the room wasn't for free either (yes, those 2 bags of regular quality coffee had an extra charge of 35 MXP. and the meals were too expensive for what we received (good taste thou, but still expensive).

The staff service isn't also that good; when in the pool, waiters don't even say hi and they don't approach offering their service, you have to call them or chase them until they finally look at you and 30 minutes later, they will come to your table with no service attitude. Beds are not good at all, a stone bed would be softer.

Please, if you are charging people with a 3000 MPX room, at least make them feel it was a well spent money.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabriel_Gecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuernavaca hotels
3.8 mi away
Anticavilla Restaurant, Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda de Cortes
Hotel Hacienda de Cortes
#11 of 59 in Cuernavaca
179 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fiesta Inn Cuernavaca
Fiesta Inn Cuernavaca
#3 of 59 in Cuernavaca
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Las Casas B+B Hotel
Las Casas B+B Hotel
#2 of 59 in Cuernavaca
350 reviews
2.7 mi away
Occidental Cuernavaca
Occidental Cuernavaca
#6 of 59 in Cuernavaca
258 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa de Campo
Hotel Boutique Casa de Campo
#8 of 59 in Cuernavaca
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Sumiya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Sumiya

Property: Camino Real Sumiya
Address: Int Fraccionamiento Sumiya S/N | Jiutepec, Morelos, Cuernavaca 62550, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Morelos > Cuernavaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 59 Hotels in Cuernavaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camino Real Sumiya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camino Real Sumiya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Sumiya Cuernavaca
Cuernavaca Hotel Camino Real Sumiya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing