We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mision del Sol Hotel -- Great for a Romantic Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mision del Sol Resort and Spa
Ranked #8 of 59 Hotels in Cuernavaca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2008

This hotel really is beautiful. The staff is excellent. And the rooms are nice. Its very appropriate for a honeymoon, romantic getaway or someone looking for a healthier vacation. My mom and I, unfortunately, were not looking for any of those things during our stay at the hotel. That said, I would still highly recommend this hotel, because I think it would be fantastic under the aforementioned circumstances.

The hotel is situated pretty far away from the center of town, so you'll definitely have to take a taxi. We went because I heard that the spa was great -- and it really was. The treatments were very relaxing - pricey - but worth it. The restaurant was good -- they offer some healthier fare -- but it was all very good. There are no TV's in the rooms. We heard that you could request one but we opted to just go up to the giant rec room above the staff offices and watch the big screen one afternoon. (They had all of the movie channels you could want, so we spent a couple of hours there.) We also worked out -- they have a cool solarium-like gym, we played a lot of tennis, and they have a lot of board games you can 'check-out' from the front desk, so we played a ton of spanish scrabble. We were only in Cuernavaca for two nights, so our visit was brief, and we only went into Cuernavaca one evening to have dinner, so we didn't see much of the city, but overall our stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beverlyblvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 161 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2007

The Mision del Sol is a deluxe spa outside Cuernavaca with beautiful facilities and a very accommodating staff. The grounds are astonishingly maintained and feature lush foliage of great variety. The pool is spectacularly beautiful and large, there is a divinely relaxing jacuzzi, and the spa treatments are excellent; I had a terrific Shiatsu session with an assured therapist named Kenya, and Eduardo gave me a vigorous and rejuvenating Thai massage. My partner also had an elaborate facial that he said was the best he had ever received.

We had only two complaints. Our room was surprisingly spartan with no wall hangings and only one small rug on the concrete floor, and the beds were very, very firm, making sleep a little problematic. The performance of the restaurant was also quite uneven; Mexican dishes were generally very well executed, but those in a more international style were hit or miss.

The spa has a very well equipped gym, but it's best to get there either early in the morning or late in the day because except for the roof and some side glass walls, it is completely open to the elements--and it gets very hot in June!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Novotna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2006

Rooms aren't rustic, but amazingly simplistic. I mean that in a good way. No TV's! So awesome, and I am a real TV lover. I actually READ and RELAXED when I was there. That is their goal. Mission accomplished.

The rooms are very big, the showers were huge (two showers heads). They have relaxing music piped into every room with volume control (you can turn it off if you don't want it).

The dinner was very inexpensive but unbelieveably tasty and not like bland spa food. The breakfast was very good. Awesome service by the staff.

I speak Spanish, so the language wasn't a problem. Everyone was so nice, I can't imagine them not bending over backwards for you.

Spa services were great! The gym had the basics and was bright and cheery. I stayed here while on business, but I would DEFINITELY come back to spend a nice long weekend! 5 STARS!

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank duaneshilling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2005

Spent 5 nights hear in mid may.
The accommodations are simple, but lovely. No t.v.'s in the room, no room service menus(but the restaurant will bring you whatever you want). Rooms are a nice size for two people.

Food is spa, style, but tasty(desserts need work). Breakfast were uniformly delicious, and the rest of the food ranged from good to superb.

The staff tries, but english is a challenge. The spa is wonderful. Each treatment was teriffic, and I found them a great value compared to other destination resort.

The hotel is isolated, but taxis are very inexpensive, and safe($6.00 to get into the heart of cuernavaca)

Stayed: May 2005
3  Thank IWISHIWASONAPLANE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2005

The hotel garden is beautiful, excellent garden and pool area, the rooms are too "rustic" and the bed is not comfortable.

The spa treatments are very good and the staff is also good, the problem here is the hotel staff, poor service and not helpful.

This is a HOTEL with spa , this is not a SPA like Canyon Ranch, there are people smoking around you and drinking alcohol, you can walk to the Spa from your room but if you are using your robe there are guests or people that go for lunch only and they look at you like "what's wrong with this lady?"

The food is really amazing and also the meditation room and the teacher.

  • Stayed: July 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adriana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016
Thank anapE7882IV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank FAA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuernavaca hotels
2.9 mi away
Occidental Cuernavaca
Occidental Cuernavaca
#4 of 59 in Cuernavaca
307 reviews
4 mi away
Anticavilla Restaurant, Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Hotel Hacienda de Cortes
Hotel Hacienda de Cortes
#9 of 59 in Cuernavaca
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Las Casas B+B Hotel
Las Casas B+B Hotel
#2 of 59 in Cuernavaca
370 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Spa Posada Tlaltenango
Hotel Spa Posada Tlaltenango
#22 of 59 in Cuernavaca
154 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Boutique La Casa Azul
Hotel Boutique La Casa Azul
#20 of 59 in Cuernavaca
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mision del Sol Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mision del Sol Resort and Spa

Address: Av General Diego Diaz Gonzalez # 31 | Col. Parres, Jiutepec Morelos, Cuernavaca 62550, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Morelos > Cuernavaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cuernavaca
#5 Spa Hotel in Cuernavaca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cuernavaca
Price Range: $112 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mision del Sol Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mision del Sol, located in "the city of eternal spring" is one of Mexico's premier Holistic Spa and Ecological Resorts. At Mision del Sol you will find a peaceful, harmonious and enriching environment designed to helpt you find inner peace, growth and expansion. Our Spa and Restaurant are designed to compliment our guests experiences and to make theme truly unforgettable. We look forward to sharing our beautiful and peaceful oasis with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mision del Sol Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mision Del Sol Hotel Cuernavaca
Mision Del Sol Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing