We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Robert Brady Museum
Ranked #2 of 50 things to do in Cuernavaca
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 16th-century structure, which served as the home of American artist and collector Robert Brady until his death in 1986, displays over 1,000 Mexican works of art and artifacts.
Sonoma, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

If you don't go anywhere else in Cuernavaca, go here! It's a time warp of wondrous objects and life style.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    82
    13
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magnificant art and gardens”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Loved the combination of art, collections, and beautiful gardens in a former convent. Art collections are eclectic and varied from many countries.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DiasyKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We spent about two hours in the museum enjoying the furniture and decorations as much as the art work itself. We had never heard of Robert Brady before we arrived in Cuernavaca--what an interesting and eccentric artist he must have been. The collection is quite impressive including Frida Kahlo, Diego Rivera, African and Native American objets d'art, etc. We also appreciated Brady's own portraits of Peggy Guggenheim and Josephine Baker. This is a museum that is especially well-organized--each room had very helpful guides to identify every single painting, sculpture, mask, etc. The museum is just the right size for a two-hour visit with enough diversity to occupy the attention of a wide-variety of visitors. I should add that the curator was extraordinarily helpful -- he generously answered all of our many questions and offered a few wonderful anecdotes of his own.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jmb45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“What a GEM!!”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We walked by this place several times and decided today to go in - partly because I read some recommendations on TA. It was the highlight of our trip. Brady made this home out of a 16th century convent and furnished it with 1300 works of art from his travels all over the world. The artwork is amazing and the house itself is a treasure. Don't miss this in Cuernavaca!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing collection. Not to be missed”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Would highly recommend a visit to the Brady museum. The grounds are beautiful this time of the year, lots of flowers blooming. The folk art collected by Robert Brady is varied, colorful and interesting. There are written explanations in Spanish and English; the bilingual staff were all helpful and provided additional details about the collection and Mr. Brady. Only 40 pesos for the fee to enter. Once you are done viewing the museum, you are only a short walk to other interesting sites. Was surprised to learn that Robert Brady was born in central Iowa --- known more for farming than artists.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judy1966240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robert Brady Museum also viewed

 

Been to Robert Brady Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing