We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Our home away from home - as wonderful as ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tentaciones Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tentaciones Hotel
Ranked #21 of 81 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
long island, ny
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our home away from home - as wonderful as ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

I am shocked and dismayed by the review written just a few days prior. This was our fifth visit to Tentaciones, and it continues to be an exceptional, luxurious, and well-managed property. Although there have been a few changes this season, the quality of service, both for the hotel, and resturant, remains excellent. This is a small boutique hotel with only 4 suites. Our suite was clean, comfortable and minimally, but beautifully decorated. On a previous visit, we had requested softer pillows,- and without having to ask, they were there in our room, upon arrival. The only difference I was aware of, was that the "flower blossom art" on the bed was there only on the first day . I recall in prior years, having the "art" every day. BTW, this time it was a beautiful bouganvilla blossom valentine!
The gorgeous infinity pool overlooking the Bay from high on a cliff was clean, and delightful. The architecture and contemporary art surrounding the property are outstanding. We had 2 dinners at the hotel restaurant during our week long stay, and the food was innovative, and delicious. When we wanted lunch, all we had to do was request it the day before, and a wonderful meal was available poolside at the requested time. So kudos to Mario and Alejandro.
The staff continues to be charming, and helpful in every way possible. With Daniel, now managing the hotel, and Salvador, overseeing the restaurant at Tentaciones and their "sister " restaurant, Espuma, this is definately a time of transition. But Daniel is kind, professional, and makes every attempt to make your stay as wonderful as possible. Salvador, as always, is amazing in his ability to make you feel as if you have truly "come home".. this is a wonderul hotel, and we had a terrific time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeeLongIsland_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TentacionesHotels, Gerente at Tentaciones Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hola AMIGOS!! Thanks very much for your comments and overall for let us know that our daily work made your stay UNFORGETABLE, that´s our goal and we feel very happy. Every year we try to make some improvements, some small changes but all of them thinking in our priority, and that priority is your satisfaction.

I already took some notes and next year we will take care of your daily bed flower arrangement.

Hugs from all the Tentaciones staff and see you Soon!!

Warm regards
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
103
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

On the surface this hotel looks good, but pull back the sheets and its not keeping up to the reviews. It took us a few days to realize the maid wasn't changing the sheets , when we did ask her to change them the sheets she put on the bed were horribly stained. The floor in our room was filthy and the curtains were spotted with what looked like mold spores. There was a terrible order like a wet rotting mop in the room after the maid service. Dirty rotting rags were stuffed in drainage pipes in the stairway leading to our room and the smelled horrible in the heat of the day. The terra cotta frog in the pool is covered with algae which wouldn't grow in a properly chlorinated pool. When we asked about lunch or a snack mid day were were told they didn't have lunch, which was fine except a few days later i hear Daniel tell another group that if they wanted lunch during their stay he would call the chef in to be on call for anything they wanted. There was garbage and cigarette butts floating in the ponds. Don't get me wrong the view is fantastic and at night as a restaurant guest you miss the details. The restaurant food is quite good but for the price there are better options. Based on the cleanliness of the hotel I would be concerned about the kitchen. Some of the staff are fantastic. Paulo, Edgar and the caretaker night watchman were great. Salvador was very welcoming but even when I started to mention the problems on checkout I received only blank stares and no response. The management is very very charming but the end result was an overall lack of caring about the simple things . For the price simply not worth it which was so disappointing because based on the reviews and our first visit last year when we came for cocktails we really thought it would be a wonderful trip . I took photos of the above mentioned issues and will share if anyone is interested.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelchickee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I spent the week at Tentaciones last February with my wife. Her birthday is Valentines Day and Daniel, Salvadore and all the staff at the resort made her birthday one of the best she's ever had. The resort is only four rooms, very quaint, exceptional views of the bay. The meals are amazing.

If you want a first class romantic vacation, this is the place. Will definitely go back again next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmarks7815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Tentaciones is a place after traveling a very long way is a I've been reborn again! A "Tamarind Margarita" in hand the moment we arrived and breezes blowing up from the sea made us forget how we got there.

Daniel, Salvadore and all Of their staff members made us feel at home and cared for. Any request we made was met with a big smile.

Our room, the honeymoon suite was gorgeous and more than comfortable. We ate in the restaurant three nights -- great food. The view at night or day is stunning. Loved the infinity pool.

We came as strangers, upon leaving we felt that we were leaving family. How much better does it get?

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite is the best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WItraveler331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent four nights at Tentaciones for a long weekend getaway (from the Kansas City cold). I booked the hotel because I was looking for something quiet, peaceful, and romantic. Tentaciones was the perfect choice.

It is a four-suite boutique property designed by a local architect who designed several properties in the area. The hotel is set on the hill between Playa Madera and Playa la Ropa. It is walking distance to both beaches and to downtown (but a cab is only 30 pesos - about $2.80). The setting and the view from the pool and restaurant area are just stunning. It affords a 200 degree view of the Zihu Bay and town. The same area includes an infinity pool interwoven with a coy pond complete with lilies. Bordering the pool and pond is the outdoor restaurant area that is opened to non-hotel guests only for dinner (at which time the area is transformed into an outdoor lounge). (We ate at the restaurant. It was wonderful, and I will review it separately on T.A.)

The rooms are quite large and comfortable. They are sparsely furnished, but appropriately so for the setting. There are nice touches such as flower petals on the bed and candles lit in the room each night. The rooms are quiet and very private. Only one of the suites (Thalia) takes full advantage of the view of the Bay, but the building was clearly designed for guests to enjoy the exterior from the pool area rather than the rooms. All of the rooms are air conditioned. Breakfast comes with every room and consists of granola, yogurt, and fresh fruit. If you want something else, they will make it for you.

There is no charge for internet access. Bottled water is free. We weren't "nickeled and dimed" by the hotel. It's a nice change from most of my recent hotel experiences.

The manager of the hotel, Daniel, went out of his way whenever he had the opportunity to improve our stay. Everyone we interacted with at the hotel as well as its sister property, Villa Guadelupe, were great. We didn't have a single request that wasn't addressed right away. (I like lime with my papaya. I asked for it during breakfast once and it was there the next three days without having to ask.) If I owned a hotel, I'd hire these guys.

Because the Tentaciones restaurant is not open for lunch, frequently during the afternoon there was no one other than guests at the hotel. And we were the only guest two of the four nights we were there. It wasn't a problem for us, but if you expect someone to constantly man a blender pumping out frozen margaritas, you will be disappointed. From about 11:00 a.m. until about 6:00 p.m., we were on our own. To address it, we asked for a fridge for our room. We got one, filled it with beer, and problem solved.

The property was very safe and secure. The entire city felt safe. Not once did we even feel uncomfortable. I highly recommend both Tentaciones the hotel and Zihua generally.

Room Tip: Thalia is clearly the best option of the four suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravlinDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Clearly, there are 65 reviews ahead of mine that are all 5 star. All I'm going to say, is this was hands down, the most amazing service and hotel experience I have ever had. It is worth every single penny spent. If you go, I highly recommend you have dinner at their restaurant. The view and ambiance is superior.

Room Tip: Ana Catalina was a wonderful room with great view and private balcony. Plus a double shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chryssi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

This review is LONG overdue – My husband and I stayed for 10 nights in the Thalia suite for our honeymoon in Dec 2010. I did a lot of research before booking our trip and I really felt like Tentaciones was the best value for a luxurious vacation.

We had an amazing time. It is truly one of the most unique, relaxing, and beautiful vacation spots. The staff was wonderful - Salvador, Pedro and Pablo are the friendliest, most welcoming people and made us feel very special throughout our stay. It actually felt like we were staying in someone’s house- not a hotel.

The food was amazing. The breakfast in the morning was very healthy and just enough. We wound up eating the full course dinner there about 4 or 5 of the nights. The other nights we ventured into town. In the afternoons we would snack on homemade guacamole poolside and the tamarind margaritas are to-die-for!

I will mention that a few of the nights there was an election or something going on in town and the music/noise really traveled up to our room and was going on into the early hours of the AM. The guest in the room below is said they didn’t hear anything so I just think it was where the Thalia room was situated on the hill. However it was only 2 nights where we were disturbed and all of the other wonderful things made up for it!

We would go back to stay there in heartbeat and hope to do so for an anniversary at some point in the future. Thank you Tentaciones for an unforgettable honeymoon and sorry for the delayed review!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mk81978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.4 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#1 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Don Francisco
Hotel Casa Don Francisco
#38 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
#31 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villas San Sebastian
Villas San Sebastian
#36 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
#35 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tentaciones Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tentaciones Hotel

Property: Tentaciones Hotel
Address: Camino Escenico a Playa La Ropa | Lote, 97-C, Col. La Madera, Zihuatanejo 40894, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tentaciones Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Temptations Hotel" is a luxurious four suite boutique hotel overlooking Zihuatanejo's bay. Architecturally designed with elegant thatched palapa roof, thick tropical wood, sweet water infinity pool and three spectacular ponds adorned with the legendary Egyptian blu water lilies where one can be in touch with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Tentaciones Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tentaciones Hotel And Lounge Pool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing