We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Honeymoon Spot”
Review of Tentaciones Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tentaciones Hotel
Ranked #18 of 81 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
“Best Honeymoon Spot”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

It's taken me forever to get around to writing this review but I wanted to remember it all over again so now I'm ready. Tentaciones was the perfect honeymoon spot. It was being in your very own vacation rental but with a cook and a butler. What I loved most about it though was that it was not pretentious at all. I have been to some amazing resorts in Mexico like One and Only Palmilla and Las Ventanas but they were "over-the-top". Tentaciones has the luxury of those resorts but an awesome laid back vibe. The service was outstanding and the crew at Tentaciones was ready to please or to give you your space and privacy when you needed it. The view was the best in the whole area and the food was by far the best food we had during our stay in Zihua and we were sure to hit up all the good spots.
I was most impressed with the value of Tentaciones - they don't pretend to be the Ritz and they don't totally overprice themselves like La Casa Que Canta. I would hope they would need themselves priced accordingly b/c that's what makes this place so great. Amazing service, food, staff, rooms, view and at a reasonable cost.
Thanks to all the staff who made our honeymoon so special!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetdebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
114
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

When you hear the term full-service hotel, people are referring to to Tentaciones. Everyone at this hotel caters to you and ensures that your stay is beyond fantastic. The blind tasting menu is wonderful and the service outstanding. Prior to dinner I made a small comment about wanting a seat that faced the other side of the harbor. One of the servers came by and at once relocated the whole seat setting to the other side of the grounds. That was just the beginning of our stay.

All the rooms have great views and each room is one-of-a-kind. Only few things to look-out for... During rainy season the bugs can get to be a bit overwhelming, so just be prepared and keep the sliding doors/windows closed in the evening. Zihuatanejo is not the MOST luxurious and indulgent of Mexico towns, but it definitely has character and authenticity - both which were much appreciated on our trip.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MBOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

On our sixth visit to Zihuatanejo, we decided to try Tentaciones after enjoying dinner there our previous trip. Our entire visit was perfect. From the gorgeous views (the best in La Ropa) while we enjoyed breakfast on the terrace, to a refreshing dip in the pool and cold drink after a day of exploring, to our final dinner cooked to perfection by Chef Mario, we could not have asked for anything more. The rooms are all beautiful and we enjoyed our private verandah. But the true highlight of the hotel, is the impeccable service offered by Salvador and his staff - always friendly and eager to help, yet never intrusive. We can't wait to return to our friends at Tentaciones!

Room Tip: All four rooms are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgalpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta,GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Have been to Ixtapa/Zihua area 5 times over the last 10 yrs. Prefer the Zihua areas low key nature and real town that can be experienced. The local people are wonderful. Zihua also has the smaller boutique hotels that we prefer. What sets Tentaciones apart from other upscale hotels is the personal attention the manager, Salvadore, and staff give you. Salvadore makes you feel as if this is your house and with only 4 rooms it seems that way. We had the place to ourselves for half the week. I prefer views over being on the beach which is a steep walk down the road so make sure you are somewhat fit. The hotel is up the hill and left of Casa Que Canta. The Thalia room was perfect since the pool is just outside the french doors. They arranged french pressed coffee/rolls on our private balcony each morning which was a nice touch. Some noise could be heard at night from downtown since it was a holiday weekend, but with room shut up/air on (which worked well) you don't hear a thing. Breakfast is coffee, fruit, granola, juice included in price of room, but they will make whatever you like. Dinner is a set but changing menu of 5 courses and highly recommended and worth the splurge.
Overall, you can't beat the location, view, intimacy and personal attention you will receive here. Any place that tries to save me money by suggesting we go to the local supermarket for water, alcohol, snacks and then provides cooler with ice each is a place I will be returning to in the future.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poofer1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

We just got back from Tentaciones for 5 days...I just can't begin to say ENOUGH about the service. There isn't anything these guys wouldn't do for you. It makes all the difference in the world when the little things are taken care of (and the big) and you're treated with genuine care and kindness. Salvador couldn't have done more for us. We really felt like everything he did was for our benefit. He made excellent suggestions on many fronts and given that he's been in Zihua for so long we knew that upon leaving the hotel should anything come up, he'd know what to do. That's such a good thing when you're in a different country. THe rest of the team - Pablo, Oscar, etc. were all as helpful as you can imagine. Thank you gentlemen. Speaking of different country, we felt safe the entire time. People generally seemed friendly everywhere we went too. For us, it was veery easy getting to Zihua - a 3 hour flight and a simple 20 minute cab ride to the hotel. For my bf and I, just looking for a simple long weekend (4 night) getaway - this was perfect.

The location of the hotel is really ideal - a 5 minute cab ride to town and a 10 minute walk to the beach. The beach does have a steep hill upon immediately leaving the sand, but we did it everyday without a problem. I will say that we did come at a very busy time of the year - Easter - so the city had a bit of frenetic energy to it that made it harder to relax. The different between the Monday after Easter and the 4 days leading up was very apparent. So much more chill that Monday!

Our room was lovely - Alejandro. We loved having a decent size deck that looked at the Pacific. We only wished it was bigger! Our bed was pretty firm but funny enough not uncomfortable. The absolute BEST part of the room was the bathroom - it was light, bright, and airy. We LOVED all of the fixtures - they felt rustic and indigenious to the area - but still modern. But the outside SHOWER!! OMG!!!! It was HEAVEN. I mean pure heaven. It looked out to the Pacific but still felt completely private. It's huge - big enough for both of us for sure! We used it everyday, multiple times and never once touched the beautiful indoor shower! I will say that part of the room had this indoor fountain that was such a relaxing sound but made that entire side of the room pretty unuseable. The deck and pool were beautiful too. Overall the hotel was intimate but still felt spacious and private.

Can I just speak about the food for a moment?? WOW...it was so wonderful. The imagination and creativity was as lovely as the finished dishes. We ate at the Amuleto, Case Que Canta, and then Bandidos in town one night. The food at Tentaciones was BY FAR the best. I mean you couldn't compare. We're foodies back here in LA and we were impressed. The lunches were light and fresh - perfect for the weather and the balance against big dinners and again, smart and inventive. Salvador, you are a monster with those margarita's! thank you!!!

Casa Que Canta had the next loveliest meal...and Amuleto was 3rd, but not too distant. Bandido was super good - this stuffed pepper with a creamy strawberry sauce - OMG. Insanely good.

One day we took at little chartered boat to some deserted beach outside of the Zihua cove. We went snorkling and just chilled. It was super great. Not great snorkling but fun all the same. They got the gear for us and everything. We just set it up with Marco Polo on the beach.

All is all it was a great trip!! We loved Tentaciones!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trosubkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2011

Superlatives suffer to describe Tentaciones. Everything you read in all the reviews is true without embellishment. We came here for our honeymoon and I must say we could not have found a better spot. Away from the bustle of everything else but close enough to walk anywhere. The rooms, the pool, the grounds, the view and especially the staff are excellent. The pictures on the website and reviewers pics can't really do the place justice, it really needs to be experienced. Do not hesitate to stay here and if you don't then at least come for dinner so you can experience the place and the fabulous food.

I could go on and on about every detail of the place and how great the staff is but much of it has already been said and it is all true.

Room Tip: Thalia suite is the nicest but all are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank threedogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

My wife and I just returned from our 4 day stay at Hotel Tentaciones. We spent 3 nights and 4 full days here for our honeymoon and enjoyed every minute of it. It is worth noting that my wife and I are avid travelers and have been lucky enough to stay at some pretty incredible places around the world. This is the first time we have felt that a hotel (good or bad) was deserving of a review on TripAdvisor. Hotel Tentaciones is the best place we have ever stayed at, hands down! Every good review for this property is 100% legit. The scenery is incredible, the rooms are beautiful and the views are amazing. It is the staff at this resort which makes the stay unforgettable. Salvador, the general manager, and his team understand service and do a tremendous job of working seamlessly to provide excellent customer service and make their guests feel welcome and comfortable.

My wife and I were looking for a place to relax and unwind after our wedding. Hotel Tentaciones is a luxury boutique hotel with just 4 rooms. It has a breathtaking pool that overlooks the entire bay and surrounding town. The rooms, really suites, are very spacious and all have amazing views with lots of light and access to fresh air. The attention to detail is incredible both in the architecture and the way they maintain their rooms. The cocktails are delicious and so is the guacamole. We ordered fresh mojitos and tamarin margaritas that were unreal!

The restaurant at Tentaciones is absolutely incredible. They carry over all of the amazing features about the Hotel into dinner each night, including; outstanding service, incredible attention to detail and amazing views of the sunset. The food is oustanding. Each course has unique ingredients and flavors that are all very fresh. The fixed menu is expensive but worth every penny. We dined at the hotel every night we were there and we were never disappointed.

* A couple of tips about the surrounding area. The beach at La Ropa is about a 10-15 minute walk. We stayed at the pool at the hotel each day as we felt there was no need to leave. However, we spent 4 nights at the Tides Hotel which is on La Ropa and the beach is quite nice with good swimming and various restaurants and bars. Other good restaurants nearby include: Amuleto Hotel (similar to Hotel Tentaciones but not quite expensive) La Perla Restaurant at La Ropa beach is good. Coconuts in downtown Zihuat has great dinner and a very nice outdoor terrace for dining. Lety's is VERY overrated and the coconut shrimp are average. We heard great things about Tangos, just down the street from Tentaciones but did not go. Casa Que Canta Hotel, about a five minute walk from Tentaciones, is beautiful but very very expensive. Better to go for drinks and an appetizer than dinner. The town of Zihuat is very charming and make sure to check out the Sunday evening market as all of the locals get together.

We are already looking forward to our next trip to Tentaciones. We cannot thank Salvador and his staff enough for all of their incredible service. The Hotel truly is paradise and we will be back again!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BornToTravel36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.1 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#1 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
5.8 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 22 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
#12 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Embarc Zihuatanejo
#11 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#13 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tentaciones Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tentaciones Hotel

Property: Tentaciones Hotel
Address: Camino Escenico a Playa La Ropa | Lote, 97-C, Col. La Madera, Zihuatanejo 40894, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tentaciones Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Temptations Hotel" is a luxurious four suite boutique hotel overlooking Zihuatanejo's bay. Architecturally designed with elegant thatched palapa roof, thick tropical wood, sweet water infinity pool and three spectacular ponds adorned with the legendary Egyptian blu water lilies where one can be in touch with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tentaciones Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tentaciones Hotel And Lounge Pool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing