We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bungalows Madera....excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bungalows La Madera
Ranked #3 of 57 Zihuatanejo B&B and Inns
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bungalows Madera....excellent”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We just returned from a great trip to Zihuatanejo.Only 5 days but we enjoyed the beach break.We hadn't been in the area for 10 years. Many great improvements on the beach and in town. Someone recommended Bungalows Madera when I asked in San Miguel....couldn't have been a better choice for us. We had suite #12 -first up from the beach. Very good with a well appointed kitchen. and a nice terrace in front with furniture and a hamac .A bit of a climb up to street level but we were used to the hills living in San Miguel.

Room Tip: Higher the suite, the better the view, but they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dleeartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    28
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
25
65
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed Feb 20-Mar 2, 2013 for the first time and had a fabulous experience. We stayed in Suite 17, widely touted as the best room. We could tell others were similar, but perhaps we had the most uninterupted view. It was glorious. The whole property, which is relatively small is extremely well cared for. The layout of the buildings give you options for joining into a communal area around the pool and group kitchen, quick access to the beach right out front or across the street on the rooftop with a 360 degree view there is a bbq and pool table and sitting area.

For value they even offer the long stay folks a % off the room which ranges in amount depending how long you stay. The folks who stay there hate it when a newbie comes because they don't want the word out, but for Mark and family, if there are any rooms that aren't rented...they should be, as this place is really well priced (a bargain), well placed and really beautifully done up. Check them out if you are looking for a place to stay.

The other great thing about where BLM is located is that there are some great little restaurants nearby for a 4$ breakfast or 10-15$ dinner pp, plus drinks. Generally it was about another 4$ for a large Margarita. Nardo's, Rufo's and Salvadores are all places we went and were not disappointed. No high end fare, but good honest eats.

Also the downtown market is not to be missed. If you have a kitchenette, you will want to gather some fresh food. We ate alot of greek salads, and if not cooking your food, it's a good idea to soak it in a solution called Microdyn, which you can buy in and around town and in several isles of the big grocery store. Pronounced Micro-dine. There was some left in our room. A few drops in a sink of water and wait for 10/20/30 depending on how many drops you use in the stated amount of water. The label is fairly language proof. Cost 18p, well worth your gastrological happiness !

One downside, and this has nothing to do with the hotel, but the beach out front wasn't the cleanest. I mean the floaties etc IN the water, not that the beach sand is dirty. If you are a die hard swimmer...and want to swim right in front of your hotel, La Ropa is Much cleaner, as is Los Gatos. Playa Principal and La Madera have the same murky water, although a long time traveller to the area said they had never seen it this bad. Reports were of the remnants of a dying red tide. I hope this is helpful!

Room Tip: Really decide what is important for your stay. Are you only in your room to sleep? Do you want to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank callagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have stayed here for several years and have witnessed the additions which have definitely added to the attraction and choice of rooms. The named rooms (Coconut etc) are still our favorites being close to the pool and with lots of privacy. On the other hand, the upper rooms across the street are attractive for their breezy ambience and spectacular views. As with most of Zihua-Madeira area, get used to hiking up and down hills and stairs to get to where you are going as it is worth it and likely good for you. The rooms with kitchens are well appointed with necessary goods and the new bbq in the recently added social area make a difficult choice to cook or go to the excellent nearby restaurants.
Mark manages this place professionally very well and never hesitates to take time to genuinely assist with your concerns. (By the way, bring US$ to pay for the rooms and save).
As for security, the compound is secure with cardlocks. Get to know others in the place and make sure you close gates and watch out for everyone. After all, it is Mexico.
Additionally, this is a social complex where guests seem to get together around the pool and social areas and Mark promotes that by a variety of events such as movie nights etc. Thanks for the fun Super Bowl party.
See you again next year.

Room Tip: There are no concerns about traffic noise in this complex as it is not near a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DJP16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sask
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at Bungalows La Madera Nov. 21-Dec 6. This is our third time here and my second review. I wanted to send in another review as Mark and staff have made some improvements since last year. This year they added a new kitchen/sitting area with a grill just off the pool area in the opposite direction of the other kitchen/sitting area. This is where Mark hosted a Thanksgiving Day turkey with all the fixins meal. Thank you! it was great.
Something else that was new this year, was the addition of "Masajes La Madera" which Elvia gives wonderful massages. Both I and my husband had one for $250 pesos each which you can have in the comfort of your own room. I highly recommend.
We missed Carmina, which brings me to a concern I have about the new receptionist. I know she trys, but I hope in the near future she learns some English as communication is nil. I know this is Mexico, but as far as I can see, the vast majority of the clientel is English speaking.
Another concern I have is about dogs. I dont know if this is a new thing here, allowing pets, as I have never seen dogs on site before but if people want pets, PLEASE pick up after them.
It is so unfair to the maintenance people that have to pick up their dogs s**t. With the hot weather it becomes ripe in a very short time so please be considerate of others.
We truly did have a wonderful time here, and was nice to visit with 2 other repeat couples, so as you can see, once you have been here, you will likely never look elsewhere for accomodations. Bungalows La Madera is so central to everything.
As for anything else, I have pretty much said it before in a previous review.
We definately will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lmanze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pátzcuaro, Michoacán
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed at Bungalows Madera, December 1 through 6, on the recommendation of friends and from reading previous TA reviews. We chose a room in the "Original" (older) section called "Coconut". This review is *specific to that room only*. It is located about midway between the street and the beach, The stairs were many but manageable. I would note that they could be hazardous and we did pay careful attention when we walked them. We used small LED headlamps when walking up and down at night, as well as on the streets. There *was* reasonably good lighting, but we are extra cautious.

The room itself was modest, nothing fancy, but nicely outfitted with nearly everything we night need for our stay. The beds were middling comfortable, the dining nook was small, even a bit cramped. We slept quite well. There was little if any street noise, and we liked the surge of the surf that lulled us to sleep.

Kitchen has plenty of counter space and under shelves, the refrigerator was surprisingly large. The 4 burner gas stove worked fine and even had a small oven, which we did not use.

The bathroom was small, but was in good order, and we thought the bathroom ceiling fan, one of three in the room, was a very good touch. Hot water was plentiful and took only a few moments to arrive.

The in-bathroom closet was capacious, lots of shelves and had plenty of real hangers.

The desk was large, but slightly awkward as my knees wouldn't quite fit under the low desktop. However, it was not a big deal.

We made good use of the AC during the very hot afternoons and used at least one and often two of the three ceiling fans, night and day.

The wifi worked very well most of the time. That was a really big plus for me.

The staff and Mark, the manager, were congenial and outstandingly helpful. Security was a bit weak within the compound, as the room door locked with only a push button, and not all the windows *in Coconut* were lockable.Yet we experienced no problems in regard to security. The compound itself was reasonably secure with magnetic card door locks, both at the street and beach entrances.

The pool and the pool area were very nice and very well kept. Mark made special efforts to set up the cold water jacuzzi for my benefit, but I only used it once.

The window blinds and curtains were just adequate for privacy, but the location itself, set back 30 feet from the access path gave adequate privacy.

The terrace was narrow, with a day bed and a hammock as well as a clothes drying rack. The latter got quite a lot of use. Note that this specific terrace had no guard rail and we did not use it at night.

Overall, our stay at Bungalows Madera was very pleasant. We would definitely return but would be willing to pay more for a more modern and more spacious room, with more luxurious features, as are available closer to the pool deck. There are many types of rooms offered, with may options for most visitor's needs and tastes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We are presently staying at Bungalows La Madera. The room is clean and large, and includes a refrigerator, coffee maker, toaster, etc. Mark has been readily available to answer questions, give directions, etc. And, very important to us, there was no problem with bringing our two small dogs! Secure, lovely pool, and direct beach access.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was our 6th visit to Zihuatanejo.We booked for the first two weeks in November. We have stayed at Hotel Irma and Casa Sun And Moon in the past and we wanted something that neither of the two could offer, a large clean nice room with a full kitchen and a swimming pool overlooking the bay. We got both at Bungalows La Madera.

We booked suite 17 and I think it's the best room in the place. Great view, large terrace, nice pool, flat screen cable TV and a very well equiped kitchen. We couldn,t have picked a better place to stay. We will return on our next trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sannman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#13 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa de la Palma
Hotel Casa de la Palma
#27 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
0.1 mi away
Villas Miramar
Villas Miramar
#41 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#1 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalows La Madera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows La Madera

Property: Bungalows La Madera
Address: Calle Eva Samano de Lopez Mateos # 25 | Colonia Playa La Madera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bungalows La Madera 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bungalows La Madera is set on a hillside, surrounded by nature and overlooking the bay of Zihuatanejo. We specialize in offering a truly relaxed lodging experience. Hang out in a hammock, cool off in the pool, take in some sun or watch the sunset from the comfort of your bungalow, Bungalows La Madera will be is sure to satisfy your needs. Located just steps from the La Madera beach and only a couple minutes walk from downtown, its the perfect vacation destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Bungalows La Madera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalows La Madera Hotel Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing